We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$ 104
View deal
Hotels.com
US$ 103
View deal
Agoda.com
US$ 112
US$ 83
View deal
SAVE US$ 29
Expedia.comUS$ 103
PricelineUS$ 112
eDreamsUS$ 104
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
87
118
67
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
87
118
67
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza wild frontiers the main hotel building kilimanjaro climb air conditioning friendly hotel nice bar tour company breakfast was included plenty of hot water base climbers safari emmanuel cottage marathon shillings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2020

This is a great hotel as a base for other activities. for example backpacking or a business trip.
My wife and I stayed one night on business and it was great.
We stayed in the main hotel building rather than the external circular cottages.
The room was a little spartan in terms of decoration, but everything was functional and very clean.
We had a lunch and a breakfast in the dining room, both good.
There is a pleasant veranda overlooking a smallish pool area, and a bar area.
And that is pretty much it.

The hotel is great for an overnight stay, but is not a resort style hotel by any means.
Perfect for our purposes and would effeminately stay again.

Room tip: Stayed in the main hotel (very good) rather than the separate cottages
Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Realtion Officer, Guest Services / Front Office at Keys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We can see that you have observed our facilities and enjoyed our service.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Please take care of yourself and your loved ones from the Pandemic COVID 19.

Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2020

My wife, Suzette, son James, and myself were on a 'family bonding trip' this past month, taking in the Kilimanjaro marathon (James 1st marathon) and the climb to the summit of Africa's highest peak, via the Lemosho route. The organizers were Wild Frontiers, and we stayed in the Keys Hotel, Moshi. Our guides, Emmanuel and Kirunga, obtain their work via the Keys Hotel. Our stay was very excellent, and we thoroughly commend not only our agents, Wild Frontiers for their prompt and efficient scheduling of our arrangements, (many thanks Susan in Head Office, and Editha in Moshi !), and the Keys Hotel staff, but an exceptional service from our guides and their team. We were so well looked after, and nothing was too much for our guides, who were very experienced, having summitted the mountain many times, setting a good steady pace, with good solid wholesome food on our 6 day hike and climb. Thoroughly recommended ! The stay in the hotel was most convenient and very pleasant: marathon registration in the hotel, walk to the start / finish - 10 / 15 mins; food always fresh and service very prompt. Thank you, all !

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
Thank scotthootsmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prabu Ramadoss, Marketing at Keys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2020

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback in this forum.

We appreciate your observation which you have mentioned here.

As you have mentioned Wild frontiers are our valuable agent whom we work with for last many years.

Edita in our team is our big asset and she has experienced with this Kilimanjaro for more than 30 years.

As you have mentioned about our Guides, they are our back bone. Without our guides, we cannot be whole.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your Stay, climb and Marathon completely.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Please take care if yourself and your lovely family during this tough time what the world is facing.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2020 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel before and after climbing Mount Kilimanjaro. Before the climb I stayed in the Bungalow which is very nice from outside, but not that good from inside. I think that it needs major renovation from inside. However after the climb, I stayed in the main building rooms where the rooms seems to be recently renovated and are very nice and spacious.
Check in process is very easy and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was not bad and very basic and the restaurant food was very good and within reasonable prices.
One comment to the management is that they can work a little bit better regarding flies and other flying insects.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Amin_JRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prabu Ramadoss, Marketing at Keys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We have noted your comments regarding the cottages which we will certainly look into that. The big plus of these cottages are their locations which gives more pleasant stay.

Yes, Our breakfast are not very vast, but we have very energetic breakfast which is very good for climbers. However, we consider your comment and we will plan with the chef how we can increase the menu without diluting the nutrition value.

With regards to the flies, we will discuss with our Pesticide Vendor and will the best possible options.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2020 via mobile

I decided to stay in Keys Hotel For the convenience & nearness to Kilimanjaro as opposed to staying in Arusha, Which is an extra hour Drive.
The hotel is just outside of downtown and about 15 minute walk It is not recommended to walk at night. I stayed in the cottage not the main hotel. I read other reviews which had complaints.
My room was very comfortable good air-conditioning, very roomy, plenty of hot water and the bed was very comfortable no complaints.
There’s a swimming pool on site and water was very refreshing and clean this is located just off the patio where you can eat lunch or dinner. Breakfast was included with my stay and it was adequate not a huge selection. I would give us an average breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner Menu selections a varied and I would also give this an average rating.
Staff and the waiters were very courteous and attentive and I was treated very well this was above average.
If you’re looking for luxury and high-end lodging you would choose to stay in Another lodge or hotel.

Would I stay here again, yes.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Mario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prabu Ramadoss, Marketing at Keys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback .

We really appreciate your feedback which is very much natural. We are not a High End Hotel but, we are a Mountaineer hotel which has all thing an adventure client required. We also adding some facilities that a corporate client can be used.

Hotel has the facilities like - Restaurant / Bar | Coffee Shop | WiFi | Two types of Rooms | Business Center | Spa | Bicycle rentals | Doctor on Call | Curio Shop | Library | Tour Packages | Garden Dining | and much more to come..

We wish to welcome you again as soon as possible..

Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2020

From start to finish Keys hotel and their staff were brilliant. We booked with them to climb Kilimanjaro via the Marangu Route. Everyone in the hotel is very friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable with WiFi and AC. We had a great meal the night before the climb started and were provided with all food and drink necessary throughout the climb. Our Guides were Denis, Emmanuel and Roman - they made the trip unforgettable and were absolutely amazing, I cannot praise them enough. If it weren’t for them we would not have made the summit! I would highly recommend this company if you are looking for someone to climb Kili with!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank indiaevans2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keyshotelsmoshi, Guest Relations Manager at Keys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on this potential forum which will really helps thousands and thousands of Hikers to select KEYS as their right choice.

Your feedback gives us more confidence to keep up the standard high at all times.

When you are climbing with KEYS, You are always at Safe hands( Guides).

We congratulate once again for making to the top of Africa and One of the Seven Summits in the world.

We look forward to welcome you / your friends / your referred Hikers again .

Thank you once again for Choosing KEYS for your climb.

Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews