We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Most highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ndarakwai Ranch Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ndarakwai Ranch Camp
Ranked #4 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Salinas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We started our 14 days in Tanzania with 2 and 1/2 days here. Perfect way to transition from traveling almost 1/2 way around the world. The uniqueness of getting to go out on walks with a guide and ranger and to go out on night game drives is possible due to this being private acreage is such a treat. The whole team there made us so comfortable, welcomed and spoiled us. Food was excellent. We loved our experience there in the tented camp.

Room Tip: Fatu tent has view from bed or the veranda of the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro-weather permitting of cours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    6
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
35
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

The Ndarakwai Ranch was a beautiful and relaxing setting and the service was very good. However - a word to the wise - do not depend on the the security of the "locked" trunks in your room. I had $900 stolen from the trunk while it was supposedly locked and secure. I found out later that several employees also had keys and one of them disappeared abruptly just before I discovered the theft. The remaining employees were very apologetic and helpful, and took me to the local police to make a report, but I never got any of my funds back.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank NLLITTLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ndarakwai, Owner at Ndarakwai Ranch Camp, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Nllittle,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to review us, and i deeply apologise for what happened. This incident happened quite a few years before you wrote this review, so i would like people to know this was about 6 years ago (not 2012). We have come a long way since then and there has been no incident like this since. I would like to clarify one point, we did in fact repay you all of the money that you said was stolen.

It would have been nice for you to review the rest of the amenities, value… location… sleep quality… rooms… cleanliness… and service. I do hope this isolated incident didn't affect your review in those other areas of our lodge.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

absolutely can't say a bad word about this place.
location is beautiful
tents are perfect
food is delicious
Elsa and the staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgable.
great to be able to walk and not be stuck in the safari jeep all day
treehouse overlooking the watering hole is amazing (having drinks there watching the sunset and the animals coming to drink is not to be missed)
night safari was also an amazing experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanandeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We spent on this lovely spot two nights before climbing the Kilimanjaro: for resting and preparing.
We got a very, very warm welcome from Steve & Lynn, the managers and a lot of attention, because we were at that time their only four guests.
The walking safari with Steve, the night drive, the so nice decorated ecolodge with the bush bucks grazing around, the visit with their guide Thomas, to an authentic Maasai Village, the lovely food, all was perfect and a good start fo a first meet & greet with African wildlife.
Falilie Steendam-Buys
Holland

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We lead a safari to Kenya and Tanzania every November and love to spend time at Ndarakwai. All of our guests have wonderful things to say. The tents are spacious, beds comfy, (hot water bottles greet you each evening), food is amazing. The staff is helpful and friendly. We choose to end our safari time at Nadarakwai. The safari walks are welcoming after viewing wildlife in vehicles the week prior. You can take night game drives and this year we found 2 lions under the starts- so exciting! The gathering area is inviting and cozy-fire places- couches- drinks- bush babies- very relaxing and the best possible place to begin or end a safari! Our repeat guests always request a stay at Ndarakwai.
Wendy @ cathaven.com

Room Tip: I have stayed in several of the tents, all are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyCatHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moshi
52.9 km away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 15 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
225.4 km away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
36.3 km away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#3 of 62 in Moshi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
58.5 km away
Honey Badger Lodge
Honey Badger Lodge
#2 of 62 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
14.1 km away
Africa Amini Maasai Lodge
Africa Amini Maasai Lodge
#1 of 1 in Engare Nanyuki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.0 km away
Stella Maris Lodge
Stella Maris Lodge
#1 of 62 in Moshi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndarakwai Ranch Camp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndarakwai Ranch Camp

Property: Ndarakwai Ranch Camp
Address: | On the slopes of West Kilimanjaro, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Started in 1994, Ndarakwai is a unique success story of land and wildlife rehabilitation, the first of its kind in Tanzania. With about 70 mammal species and over 350 bird species in a combination of high long grass plains, classic Acacia savannah, Commiphora thickets, and riparian habitats, a stay at Ndarakwai is a great addition to any safari itinerary. Ndarakwai Camp, with 14 large comfortable and individually decorated tents, is set at 4200 feet in the midst of an 11,000 acre privately-owned ranch in Siha District, West Kilimanjaro. Ndarakwai offers a high degree of personalized service, attention to detail, great food, as well as a wide variety of excellent wildlife related activities, cultural experiences, and excursions. What really sets us apart from National parks is our ability to offer half and full day walks with an experienced guide, as well as night game drives. These are two things you are not able to do in the parks. If it is birding on foot, or searching for nocturnal animals by spotlight, Ndarakwai is for you! Ndarakwai strives to be the best in luxury tented camping while maintaining the principles of responsible environmental stewardship. Extensive use of solar power (for electricity and hot water), the use of clay ovens for cooking, preference for local produce, combined with 11,000 protected acres of bush and woodland give confidence the camp is being established as carbon neutral. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ndarakwai Ranch Camp Hotel Moshi
Ndarakwai Ranch Camp Moshi, Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing