We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Jerry Tanzania Tours
from US$ 2,430.77
More Info
from US$ 1,309.00
More Info
from US$ 660.00
More Info
from US$ 1,800.00
More Info
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
47
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
47
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews climbing mount kilimanjaro tanzania support company equipment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

We climbed Kili last month, went by the Lemosho route (8 days) which was breathtakingly beautiful and scenic and we chose Jerry Tanzania Tours over a few other outfit (local and international). I'm so glad we did. The whole experience was great and I would definitely recommend Jeremia and his team. He answered all the many questions I had over email and all his answers instilled faith they were professional- from the camping and food arrangements, to the way they treat the environment and the medical experience of the team.
Definitely check the guides are medically trained- we had check ups every morning and a lung test every night.
We also took Diamox from day one and it saved us from serious altitude sickness and made the climb far more pleasant.
The guides on the climb were excellent- they knew the mountain inside out and really looked after us and made sure we managed the climb - I genuinely couldn't have done it without their support (literally!)
It was the toughest and most rewarding thing I have done and I am glad we chose Jerry to get us to the top!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

After much research into companies, my fiance and I decided on Jerry Tanzania Tours. It was the best experience of our lives and we are so grateful to Regan, Brighton (our two guides), our cook, and our many porters who helped us to achieve one of our dreams. 
From the time that we were met at the airport, until the time we left Tanzania, we were well cared for. Transfers were easy, payment was easy. It was a great experience. We even decided last minute on a safari which was easily set up for us on less than a 12 hour notice!
We hiked the Rongai route in 7 days. It was amazing. Although was raining, it was really enjoyable. The Rongai route is great because, although you climb a less traveled side of the mountain, you also climb down the busier side. Every day of our trip started out with a fabulous HOT-yes hot breakfast, included a hot lunch, and yes a hot dinner. And I can’t tell you how excited we were to have hot chocolate to drink every night. It really hit the spot. The food was different for every meal, and felt more like we were out to eat. It was really good. They treated all of our water every day, so we did not even have to use our iodine tabs. Every night when we arrived at camp, our tents were set up, as well as a snack of tea and popcorn awaited us. Our guides paid close attention to us, making sure we were eating and drinking enough, as well as watched us closely for signs of altitude sickness. We all took Diamox, which was helpful.
The climb itself was pretty easy, except for the summit night, which is doable, but tough. Our guides did a great job of watch out for us, assuring we were safe, and getting us to the top. The night of the summit, we brought along a couple extra porters to carry our day packs and extra water. We felt as though these guys were always well prepared and thinking a few steps ahead, which is the reason we made it to the summit.
Overall, we were thrilled with our choice of Jerry Tanzania Tours for the climb. Although we decided on last minute for safari and it was great as well (saw all of the major animals, almost no rain, and car never broke down). We can't say well enough about this outfit and program. If you're looking to trek Kili, go with these guys.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Albina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I chose to climb Mt Kili in August 2018 with the operator Jerry Tanzania Tours. Based on their reviews they were safe, had a great success rate, and very knowledgeable of the mountain, terrain etc.! We chose the 7 day Machame route. We were beyond pleased with our guide (Pascal) and assistant guide (Regan) along with our chef and porters. We had amazing meals, never felt unsafe or too tired, and always knew the planned routes, timetables etc. We successfully made it to the summit, which was the most amazing accomplishment! (We do advise getting Diamox, acclimatization pills - they helped greatly)! We'd highly recommend this operator to others who'd like to take on the mountain!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank aya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

I hiked the 7 day Machame Route with Jerry in August 2018. The team took such good care of us. The guides were knowledgeable about mountain conditions, altitude sickness, and everything relating to the hike. On top of that, they were observant of us and kept track of our health and how we were feeling the entire hike, which allowed them to help us take action to treat our symptoms in the right way as quickly as possible. The chefs were amazing, and we always had more food and drink than we could finish. The team took my group of 7 to the summit, and I really don't think we would've been able to get all 7 of us up there without this team.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Owen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah K, Owner at Jerry Tanzania Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Dear Owen,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of climbing Kilimanjaro with the Jerry Tanzania Tours team. We appreciate your comments about the service you received from the guides and the crew who go out of their way to help guests like yourself to push themselves to the summit and offer them the assistance and support needed.

It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the food and service offered. Congratulations for achieving the climb to the summit.

Hope to see you again in Tanzania.

Kind regards,
Jeremiah and the Jerry Tanzania Tours team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

We are a couple from Latvia and it was my boyfriend´s dream to climb Kili. After about 6 years of dreaming he spoke me to do it. We decided to climb through 7 Day Lemosho Route and booked our hike with Jerry Tanzania Tours. Jeremiah with his senior guide Robert and their colleagues did unbelievable job. Everything during our hike was perfect and if it wasn´t they tried to do their best. From very beginning we fell like a part of team. We were 5 climbers and the team was formed by the senior guide, 2 assistants, chef and 18 porters. The guides are experienced and they really know how to do their job. Everyone in our team were so supportive and you feel how they are pushing you mentally up... because it is known that success largely depends on the psychological well-being. In price for our hike we have everything we need - the tents were in good condition, every meal served by our cook was tasty. We are happy we choose local agency which don´t divide their service by price and really believe us you won´t need dry toilet during your climb or anything luxury. The important thing for us was that during summit night for every climber was one guide or porters which were here to help you with your daypack and take care of you all the way up and down. We can all climb up in our pace without feeling that other climbers had to adapt to us and we limit them. We really recommended Jerry Tanzania Tours and us looking forward to go to safari with them in near future.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank viktorija k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews