We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Jerry Tanzania Tours
from US$ 2,430.77
More Info
from US$ 1,309.00
More Info
from US$ 660.00
More Info
from US$ 1,800.00
More Info
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
43
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews climbing mount kilimanjaro tanzania support human company equipment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I chose to climb Mt Kili in August 2018 with the operator Jerry Tanzania Tours. Based on their reviews they were safe, had a great success rate, and very knowledgeable of the mountain, terrain etc.! We chose the 7 day Machame route. We were beyond pleased with our guide (Pascal) and assistant guide (Regan) along with our chef and porters. We had amazing meals, never felt unsafe or too tired, and always knew the planned routes, timetables etc. We successfully made it to the summit, which was the most amazing accomplishment! (We do advise getting Diamox, acclimatization pills - they helped greatly)! We'd highly recommend this operator to others who'd like to take on the mountain!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank aya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

I hiked the 7 day Machame Route with Jerry in August 2018. The team took such good care of us. The guides were knowledgeable about mountain conditions, altitude sickness, and everything relating to the hike. On top of that, they were observant of us and kept track of our health and how we were feeling the entire hike, which allowed them to help us take action to treat our symptoms in the right way as quickly as possible. The chefs were amazing, and we always had more food and drink than we could finish. The team took my group of 7 to the summit, and I really don't think we would've been able to get all 7 of us up there without this team.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Owen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah K, Owner at Jerry Tanzania Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Dear Owen,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of climbing Kilimanjaro with the Jerry Tanzania Tours team. We appreciate your comments about the service you received from the guides and the crew who go out of their way to help guests like yourself to push themselves to the summit and offer them the assistance and support needed.

It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the food and service offered. Congratulations for achieving the climb to the summit.

Hope to see you again in Tanzania.

Kind regards,
Jeremiah and the Jerry Tanzania Tours team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

We are a couple from Latvia and it was my boyfriend´s dream to climb Kili. After about 6 years of dreaming he spoke me to do it. We decided to climb through 7 Day Lemosho Route and booked our hike with Jerry Tanzania Tours. Jeremiah with his senior guide Robert and their colleagues did unbelievable job. Everything during our hike was perfect and if it wasn´t they tried to do their best. From very beginning we fell like a part of team. We were 5 climbers and the team was formed by the senior guide, 2 assistants, chef and 18 porters. The guides are experienced and they really know how to do their job. Everyone in our team were so supportive and you feel how they are pushing you mentally up... because it is known that success largely depends on the psychological well-being. In price for our hike we have everything we need - the tents were in good condition, every meal served by our cook was tasty. We are happy we choose local agency which don´t divide their service by price and really believe us you won´t need dry toilet during your climb or anything luxury. The important thing for us was that during summit night for every climber was one guide or porters which were here to help you with your daypack and take care of you all the way up and down. We can all climb up in our pace without feeling that other climbers had to adapt to us and we limit them. We really recommended Jerry Tanzania Tours and us looking forward to go to safari with them in near future.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank viktorija k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

Our experience with Jerry Tanzania on our Kilimanjaro climb was absolutely wonderful. From start to finish we knew the plan, what we needed to achieve each day, did some afternoon acclimatization hikes and made it to the top in one happy group! We took the Lemosho route, 8 day trip. Our trek was 6.5 days up and 1.5 days down. There wasn’t a moment where I was scared or felt overwhelmed or unprepared.

Before we started the expedition, we were put up in a very good hotel that had a nice bar, restaurant and swimming pool. The day before we left, one of our two guides - Brighton - came to the hotel to talk through the climb and answer any questions that we had about it. The next day we met our other guide, Mremi, as well as the rest of the crew - the cook, porters etc. What I hadn't appreciated beforehand was that as well as a physical challenge, climbing Kilimanjaro is also a wonderful cultural experience as you spend a lot of time with the guides and other members of the group. 

Those both guides were utterly brilliant - different characters but very experienced, easy to talk to and fun to spend time with. They were very conscientious about making sure everyone in the group was okay throughout the expedition. Every evening, they would check our oxygen levels and discuss how the day went as well as brief us about the next day. It was a genuine discussion and plans could be changed according to how we all felt. They have an unbelievably high success rate in getting people to the top of Kilimanjaro and we also came to be friends on the climb - great people to spend time with.

Every day, the porters would - somehow! - zoom ahead of us with heavy loads and camp would be set up by the time we reached it. Very impressive. All the porters were friendly and worked very hard. There were a couple of really nice moments on the trip when everyone sang and danced to some traditional songs and we were inevitably invited to join in. It was a great experience.

The summit day is obviously very challenging and this is where the guides come into their own, knowing exactly the right pace to keep and lifting spirits by singing along the way! I was fortunate not to experience any altitude sickness but the other two members of the group did and, again, the guides were fantastic in getting them to the top and supporting them afterwards so that they quickly recovered. Getting to the top of the mountain is obviously the highlight and there were tears, screams of joy and more singing at the top!!!

Overall, we are super glad we booked through Jerry Tanzania Tours and recommend our trip to all our friends and family. We couldn't have asked a better experience!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank chadwick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

 

We had a really amazing safari with Jerry Tanzania Tours.
Our guide and cook looked a bit nervous when we entered the land cruiser for a 6 days camping safari with our 3 kids (5, 8 & 10 years old), but they we're amazing with the kids and anyone recommending you not to travel with younger kids are simply wrong. 
We had a fantastic experience and our guide was so great in finding the best places for spotting wildlife and our cook provided the best meals on our whole journey and managed to adopt to what the kids liked.
Finally kudos to Jeremiah for always responding promptly in our correspondence.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank edmund r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah K, Owner at Jerry Tanzania Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Edmund,
We appreciate you writing about your safari experience with Jerry Tanzania Tours from finding the wildlife, to the food and guide and cook we try in all areas from the first response with Jeremiah and the sales team to the guides and staff to provide a professional service. It is lovely the children had such a wonderful time and I agree more kids should come on safari.

Hope to see you in the future

Greetings from Jeremiah & the Jerry Tanzania Tours team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews