We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful Safari, sleep among the hippos and lions, terrific wildlife, super competent and kowledgeable guide!

We did a safari tour with a great guy named Kimondo. He was very friendly, chill, and flexible! He... read more

Reviewed yesterday
SwissImpala
A Polé Polé adventure

The hike was very well organized, the guides Erick and Yahyi very friendly, competent, and... read more

Reviewed yesterday
SwissImpala
Read all 743 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Moshi
from US$ 145.00
More Info
from US$ 2,564.11
More Info
from US$ 54.49
More Info
Moshi sunset bus
13 Reviews
from US$ 12.31
More Info
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
709
30
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
709
30
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day safari lemosho route rhino lodge assistant guide these guys private safari from start to finish mara river booking process whole team spotting animals his knowledge amazing safari experience amazing team uhuru peak whole group days nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2020

We did the 7 days Lemosho trek with Monkey Adventures und it was one of the greatest expierences we made so far. The guides and crew were all very nice and helpful. Especially with the guides Amos and Felix we had some very interesting conversations and got to know many things about the mountain as well as from their country.
Despite we couldn't reach the top, because of sickness, we are very happy for taking the opportunity for this adventure because the memories will stay unforgettable with us.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank sebastianh745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2019

We did the 8-day Lemosho route with Monkey Adventures and it was truly an unforgettable experience. We were a group of three, and had three additional "strangers" in our group (who became like family by the end of the week), along with our main guides Charles, Simon and Ola and 19 porters. Every single person from Monkey Adventures was fantastic and put so much care into what they do. They were knowledgeable about the wildlife, the trail and always kept us informed on what to expect the next day. They prepared hot meals for us three times a day, and Monkey Adventurer's tents were great and kept us very warm in even freezing temps.The guides also tested your oxygen levels and heart rate every morning and night to make sure everyone was healthy to continue, which I appreciated since I have an autoimmune and need to be conscious of that.

Another great thing about Charles is how he conducts the summit climb-- he takes special care to bring additional porters on the final climb to make sure there is one guide or porter per trekker in case you need help carrying your pack (or need to be carried down, but all of our group summited). Many of the other groups we saw only had 2-3 guides for their whole group. I ended up getting nauseous due to the altitude on the summit climb and Charles hung back with me the whole time and is the reason I was able to make it to the top.

If you're considering climbing Kili I hands-down recommend it! We chose the 8-day route to leave more time to acclimate to the altitude since we live at sea level typically, and everyone in our group agreed it was the best decision. A few of us got headaches or nausea on the final summit, so we were glad we had the extra day in case our altitude sickness had been even worse. To train, I did 1-2 hour hikes or stadium stair climbs 2-3 times a week with a weighted vest (started at 8 lbs and eventually got up to 22lbs) plus spin class 2 times a week, and I was more than prepared for Kili.

Last thing, don't forget to bring cash in USD (best to have small bills) to tip your porters and guides, they deserve it. Despite any negative reviews of people who are upset that they were not refunded for not summiting, these people take care of you all week-- cooking for you, setting up your tent, carrying your pack if you need help and keeping your safety a priority-- it would be wrong to ask that they are not paid for this work because altitude got the better of you.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank megannenicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2019 via mobile

My family and I just came back from an unforgettable safari experience that we booked with Monkey Adventures. Monkey Adventures made us feel welcomed, answered all our questions - as we had lots of questions leading up to our trip!

They are extremely knowledgeable and offer detailed explanations from itinerary to pickup arrangements. A big thank you to Nyani for her impeccable customer service. Kimondo, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable about the beautiful landscapes, the magnificent animals, and had an incredible eye in spotting animals that we had difficulty finding even with binoculars!

Monkey Adventures also assisted in coordinating our shuttle from our hotel in Arusha to the Arusha airport for our flight to Zanzibar. Everything worked out as planned, shuttle drivers were always there waiting for us with signs and we were never concerned for our safety.

Traveling to Africa can be a real challenge at the best of times. Doing it with kids can be downright frightening. But everything couldn’t have worked out better and we would certainly recommend contacting Monkey Adventures to plan your safari in Tanzania or any other of the African countries they offer safaris in.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank mariamn2019dec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2019 via mobile

Two friends and I did the Marangu 5 day trek. Kennedy met us and helped to ensure we had the correct equipment prior to beginning (tip-bring rain pants!). We were able to chat with our guide Charles as well and he gave us an overview of the five days. We each had three porters with a cook and two guides so our party had twelve total. Charles and Deo (guides) were absolutely amazing. They really cared that we made it to the summit and ensured we had everything we needed (to include Charles making sure we got the nice cabins every night)! The food was more than five stars (lots of carbs, rice, noodles and veggies)-Rashid was an amazing Cook. Summit morning was awesome (for me), my sister had a little trouble but Deo and Charles took such good care of her to make sure she reached the top. Lastly, Kennedy was able to hook us up with a few hours at a hotel to let us shower prior to our flight (we forgot about that). Overall. Monkey adventures is definitely the way to go!!!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank megc856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2019

We took the 7 days Lemosho Route, which has magnificent diverse scenery. We were a group of six people (BII) and had the best team - led by Dennis - the best guide - so professional and sensitive to everyone’s needs.
Dennis’ team was very supportive and attentive to everyone, always with a big smile. Nicolaus gave us the accurate pace rhythm - pole pole. Nasri (“Japany”) encouraged us with his good vibes. Baraka the most pleasant wake up call, even after a short sleep. Japhary the best cook, and all of the rest of the staff that worked soooo hard to help us accomplish our goal. We all reached the summit and the feeling was beyond words!
Thank you Monkey Adventures for an unforgettable experience.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank 424efraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews