We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Kilisa Tours & Safaris
from $2,250.00
More Info
from $2,500.00
More Info
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
168
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
168
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kilimanjaro climb guide chris his team bakari cooks gear route airport mt safari company tanzania itinerary terrain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

I don’t think this trip would have been so memorable if it weren’t for kilisa. They made this trip an incredible experience and one that I’ll never forget! They were the reason we made to the top of Kilimanjaro and the reason we saw a cheetah hunt in the Serengeti! They are experienced and incredibly kind and accommodating! I highly recommend you choose kilisa!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank mklumb2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilisa2016, Guest Relations Manager at Kilisa Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2021

Greetings

Thank you for taking your time to leave us such a great review
we always thrilled whenever we find out that our customers had great experiences with us
and we are glad that you enjoyed your time in Tanzania for that says that had wonderful experience

Needless say, It was pleasure serving you
Yet ..Many thanks for your Kind Review and Recommendation!

Regards
Juliana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2021

An amazing experience, a very professional company, starting from the planning stage, thinking about every detail. Close escort from the moment of landing until the end of the trip. Our guide was very professional, courteous, knowledgeable, answered any problem or request. We could not have asked for more

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank 149shalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilisa2016, Guest Relations Manager at Kilisa Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2021

Hello

Friend, Its really Nice to hear Kind words about our service and staff
We're so Happy you enjoyed the trip and Thank you again for your kind words

Sincerely
Juliana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2021 via mobile

This was great way to learn about the wonderful people of Africa and get to interact w them. I could not have been more pleased our guide a s experience. He took great care to make sure that they picked us up and dropped us off safely. The guide seemed to have an unlimited amount of knowledge and was so friendly. Definitely recommend taking this tour and experiencing something that you will never forget.

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank MCHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilisa2016, Guest Relations Manager at Kilisa Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2021

Hello

Friend, Its really Nice to hear Kind words about our service and staff
We're so Happy you enjoyed the trip and Thank you again for your kind words

Sincerely
Kilisa Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2021

A wonderful experience. The guide (Bakari) was amazing. Proffesional, kind, patient, cheerful, helping and sensitive. He made the climd easier with explanations and dedication. The team of Kalisa tours were excellent from the outset. Rapid reposne to our multiple questions prior to deprating from our country with clear instructions and patient explanation of teh anternatives. Ride waited at the airport and all that was promised was available and more with a smile and excellent guidance. Thank you Kalisa! highly recommended.

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank 499djt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilisa2016, Guest Relations Manager at Kilisa Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2021

Hello

A sincere Thank you for recommendation and taking time to put down detail from your experience here
Its really Nice to hear Kind words about our service and staff

We're so Happy you enjoyed the trip and Thank you again for your kind words

Sincerely
Juliana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2021

I was in Tanzania for almost a month and went through Kilisa to arrange my activities on the mainland. This was a last-minute trip, and I contacted several tour companies with basic questions. Naick at Kilisa was the most responsive addressing my questions in a prompt manner. Kilisa's rates are competitive and they use quality equipment. I spent several days based in Moshi during this time. Nickson picked me up from the airport, and was my guide for day trip to the Materuni Waterfalls. He was very knowledgeable about the plant life, and the area. He's very accommodating.
When I had a needed to buy a shaver and had a question about a flight to Zanzibar, he took me to a mall, and also to the airline's office in town. I also booked a 5-day safari with Kilisa. Chris was my guide and was great in finding animals and catered the trip to animals and attractions that I was interested. He answered all my questions about animals, history, & Tanzanian culture. It was just Chris & I for the safari, which involves a lot of driving, so glad that we got along well. The time went by really fast. Chris also made sure everything went smoothly with the hot air balloon ride company (add-on activity to the safari). The Land Cruisers they use are well-maintained, and very capable of handling rough terrain. The canopy lifts up giving you a panoramic view of the wildlife. The vehicle is equipped with USB chargers and Chris had a pair of binoculars. No AC, but you don't really need it as you are constantly opening the windows for photos anyways. The lodge selection for the safari was very good. I stayed at Marera Valley Lodge & Embalakai Authentic Camp. (also stayed at The Panama Garden & Parkview Inn in Moshi). Lunch on the safari was prepared by the lodges and fancier than I was expecting. We'd find a picnic table each day, lay out a tablecloth and enjoy rice/pasta with an entrée. Kilisa provides water, coffee & tea for the trip. Kilisa has a safari packing list and FAQ on their website. For camera gear, a telephoto lens (more than 300mm) gives the most flexibility for capturing wildlife, but I used my phone quite a bit as well. I wish I had brought a tripod or bean bag to rest the camera on. I was expecting the top of the vehicle to be flat when canopy is raised, but it's actually slightly curved. It also gets dusty inside the vehicle so bring something to wipe your lenses with. If you have luggage that you don't need for the safari, you can leave it at the hotel in Moshi.

I also booked a Kilimanjaro Trek though Kilisa with the intention of joining a group going the week I wanted to go, but one person got sick the day before, so they cancelled. Naick gave me the option of doing the trek on my own (supported by a full team), or joining a trek with another company (there weren't many tourists in Tanzania when I went due to COVID & climbing season just started). I went with the 2nd option and was glad Naick was able to find another high-quality company for me to complete the trek with.

In summary, Kilisa offers good value for the tours they offer (competitive rates, high-quality experience). Being able to make all your arrangements through one company simplifies trip planning. I really enjoyed my time in Tanzania and much of that can be attributed to working with Kilisa. I would recommend them to others.

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilisa2016, Guest Relations Manager at Kilisa Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2021

Hello
John, Thank you for taking your time to leave us such a great review
we always thrilled whenever we find out that our customers had great experiences with us
and we are glad that you enjoyed your time in Tanzania for that says that had wonderful experience

Needless say, It was pleasure serving you
Yet ..Many thanks for your Kind Review and Recommendation!

Regards
Juliana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews