We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Kilisa Tours & Safaris
from $2,250.00
More Info
from $2,500.00
More Info
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
168
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
168
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kilimanjaro climb guide chris his team bakari cooks gear route airport mt safari company tanzania itinerary terrain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2021

Klimbing Kilimanjaro with Kilisa hasn't been anything but a pure blast. And oh boy, it's incredibly how strong and lovely these guys are. Next to the marvelous scenery (and the suffering up there, lol), I was rewarded with a feast every night at camp. I don't know how the cook managed to pull it off, but from day one until getting back down safely, every day he worked his magic to serve something special. Heck, on the last day he even managed to bake a frigging cake. If you're looking for a very professional team, great food, and an overall astonishing experience, go with Kilisa.

P.s: book the poop tent, you can thank me later.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank markusN6541HQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilisa2016, Guest Relations Manager at Kilisa Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Hello

Markus, Thank you so much for your well detailed feedback and for taking the time to post this review. It's our customers that allow us to constantly improve the way we do business, one of which we're really proud of, the quick response time you've been experiencing. I'm so glad you were happy and all satisfied with the services provided with the kilisa crew.
Regards
Juliana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2021

Amazing bucket list vacation with an amazing company. We went on an 6 day safari with guide Chris. Saw every animal, stayed in great accommodations, ate wonderful food and had the time of our lives. Could not recommend Kilisa's safari more.

Following our safari, we embarked upon a Kilimanjaro trek along the 7 day Lemosho route with guides Rama and Bacari and crew. Everyone was so FRIENDLY and catered to our every need (lots of needs at 15k+ feet). We successfully summited and don't think we would have without the Kilisa team looking after us.

Unforgettable trip that really lifted our spirits after no traveling due to global pandemic. Everyone in Tanzania is kind, warm and welcoming. The team at Kilisa is no exception. Please consider Kilisa and guides Chris, Rama and Bacari on your safari and trek!

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank aschollmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilisa2016, Guest Relations Manager at Kilisa Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Hello

Your opinion is of great value to us as we constantly strive to improve our services
Yet, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for being such a valued guest and it is always a great source of motivation for our team to hear that our guests appreciated their service
Thank you for noticing and we appreciate your appreciation

Kind regards
Juliana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2021 via mobile

Let’s be honest not too many have been to Africa before. For most it’s the first time. Therefore it is important to make that first experience a good experience. I personally did lots of research before I came to Tanzania and ended up choosing Kilisa tours. I could not have made a better choice!
When I came to the airport I got picked up by Nick. He took me to the hotel which was surprisingly nice and had great WiFi connection.
At first I did the Kilimanjaro 5 day Marangu route with an incredible team of 5. Tammy my guide (make sure you request him!), Jonas, August, Anthony and single. If it wasn’t for them I wouldn’t have completed my goal. To reach Uhuru peak. I did my climb solo so my only companion up to the summit was Tammy. By walking together for a few days you really get to know each other and I’ve found a friend for life. He knows the mountain like the back of his palm. Every single animal, flower, person, nature the list is long. To my surprise almost every single meal was a three course meal and the portions of food were enormous. Trust me you will never walk with a empty stomach the way theses gentlemen take care of you. Easy to say I couldn’t have been happier with my team!
When I had reached my goal it was time for me to check of another bullet point on my bucket list Safari.
As soon as I got back to the hotel from the climb I met with Chris my Safari guide. He did a briefing with me and the day after we left for Tarangire National Park. It didn’t take me long to realize Chris is like a encyclopedia of Safari he knew everything. Ever since he was 8 years old his dream was to become a Safari guide and he sure was good at it! He even had a Safari college degree. I read before that the chances of seeing a lion in Tarangire are pretty bad. I told Chris I’m a cat person and that I’d love to see one. So he went out of his way and called the park ranger that located the lions by gps tracker and took me right to them. It was a unforgettable experience and memories I will have for a lifetime.

Thank you to all of the Kilisa tour management for making this experience a great experience.

By Valiant Hed Taqi.

Date of experience: February 2021
1  Thank Valiant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2021

We had an amazing safari and Kilimanjaro summit all thanks to Kilisa! Their service was top notch and value was fantastic. The service provided by our guides and supporting staff were top notch!

We started with a 6 day safari that was absolutely epic. Our Safari Guide, Chris, was incredible! You should definitely request him. He was super nice and very accommodating. He found us every animal we could ever have wanted to see! Despite some challenging off-road driving conditions, he never got stuck and always got us to see the best animals around. We saw lions and elephants that were so close, we would nearly reach out and touch them from the landcruiser. He found us two leopards, two cheetahs, tons of lions, two rhinos and more zebras, giraffes, cape buffalos, and wildabeasts than we could count, just to name a few. My favorite was seeing a male lion out in a rain storm who was seperated from his pride. He was calling out to them and you could see the worry in his eye as he walked right by our landcruiser in search of them.

We then did a Kilimanjaro hike to the summit via the Lemosho 7 day route. Our guides, Rama and Bakari, were fantastic and the chef, Kurwa, amazed us with the food he was able to make on the mountain. Our waiter, Arold was gracious and attentive in delivering all the food to our dining tent. I highly recommend requesting them. The team of porters (Salim, Frenk, Mohamed, Josephat, Mwingi, Sigi, David, Siriri, Msafiri, Idd, Abdina and Moyo) amazed us with their kindness, helpfulness and always positive attitudes. They were always smiling even when carrying a heavy load at high altitudes in chilling conditions. Their attitudes were truly inspiring.

Naick is the owner and the lead coordinator. He was very helpful over the course of more than a month of coordination via email to set up and schedule the trip. He was always responsive and able to answer all of our questions and take care of all of our needs. It was challenging to execute this trip during COVID because of our flights getting cancelled but Naick helped us adjust as necessary. Going during COVID turned out to be a huge bonus because the national parks are all virtually empty so you get the animals and Kilimanjaro virtually to yourself.

You can't go wrong with Kilisa! Their prices were the best we found and the experience we enjoyed was incredible. Their safari vehicle was a new Toyota landcruiser Safari conversion that I absolutely loved. It got us through mud and water crossings in style and comfort and never broke down despite many miles on some pretty tough roads. Their trek equipment was all in good shape. Our tents were nice and the gear we rented was also in good shape.

I highly recommend Kilisa!

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank 87bretw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilisa2016, Guest Relations Manager at Kilisa Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2021

Hey Bret

Thank you so much for your well detailed feedback and for taking the time to post this review. It's our customers that allow us to constantly improve the way we do business, one of which we're really proud of, the quick response time you've been experiencing. I'm so glad you were happy and all satisfied with the services provided with the kilisa crew. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff [they will be delighted to hear this compliments]
We strive to do better and the fact that you felt safe and enjoyed the entire trek and safari gives us Joy and happy we didn't miss the mark.
While, thanks for sharing your photos and recommendation

Thanks for your review
Regards
Juliana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2021

Our experience with Kilisa on Kilimanjaro was fantastic, we highly recommend them. We chose the Lemosho 9 day route and if you are in good shape we recommend going for the 8 day. We chose the 9 day route since it maximizes the acclimatization, but we actually ended up finishing it in 8. Kilisa was accommodating, taking care of the hotel night for that night.



Our porters, our guide Bacari, and assistant guide Tami were all tremendous! The pace of our hikes was great and they were helpful with carrying any extra gear, taking pictures, stopping for breaks, answering questions / having conversation when we wanted, and pointing out interesting plants & animals. The food was really good! You need to eat a ton to keep up your energy and the cook did not disappoint. Food was very important to help keep us full, but also to help lift spirits when we returned to camp. At first, the big trays of food were a little intimidating, but then we started looking forward to them! On the harder days, toward the end of our hike, porters would come out from camp to meet us on the trail to carry our packs the last bit. That was a welcome sight and a big boost!



Some packing tips: Bring a little less snacks than you think you’ll need. Some granola bars or trail mix is fine on the trail, but you won’t eat as much as you think. Focus more on quick sugary energy, like Snickers. A Camelbak and Nalgene are a good combo so you can drink from the bag while walking and do the Nalgene when stopped. Take Diamox and bring pee bottles!

Overall, we had a WONDERFUL experience and very much recommend doing the Lemosho route with Kilisa. The whole trip was great and we had no real issues, which is great especially considering the type of activity we were doing. A+

Date of experience: December 2020
1  Thank 132davec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilisa2016, Guest Relations Manager at Kilisa Tours & Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2021

Hello
Dave, I would just like to take the opportunity to thank you for being such a valued guest. I am so happy to see that you had enjoyed your experience with Kilisa tours Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff
It is always so nice to receive such feedback as we work hard to ensure that our guest have lovely experience with us

Thank you


Kind Regards
Juliana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews