We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel. No mosquito nets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gorillas Volcanoes Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ruhengeri
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My room on the first floor was dark and cold but otherwise ok. Some in our party were concerned about the lack of mosquito nets - and this will surely deter others from staying at the hotel. Breakfast was fine and lunch was great. Dinner was slow - reserve a good 2.5 hours from ordering to payment. Food options were good.

Room Tip: Pick one of the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwexler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

I stayed for a week at the Gorilla volcanos hotel for a workshop in Musanze. I found the hotel not so clean, they advertise a fitness room and have never even bought equipment, and when checking out the credit card machine wasn't working and they did not offer a fair exchange rate and were difficult about taking our currency and made us go to the ATM to get Rwanda francs.

I don't recommend staying there at all..

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susanievans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed in Ruhengeri for 3 nights - so tried a few places for meals. This was a disappointment - I do not think they have the proper infrastructure to compete as a resturant. We had supper there and regreatted not being in one of the neighbouring resturants! Whilst the staff were friendly - the service was slow and the food totally uninspiring - much better meals around the corner!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 192RoseM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

While traveling recently in Rwanda, I was fortunate to be able to do a gorilla trek near Musanze. Previous to my two days in the area, I had traveled the countryside far and wide; by the time I got to Muzanze, I was tired, in need of hot water and power, decent food and a great mattress. When we pulled in to the Gorillas Hotel, my heart skipped a beat. With outside pool, a dining room with open doors and a cool breeze blowing throughout, attentive staff which served to please, and noted cleanliness throughout, I was happy to be in a hotel that offered all of these, as well as an abiding sense of safety and security. It sounds trite, but I very much appreciated the simple things there: night stand lamps for reading, well-appointed closets and drawers, a desk, great bed and plenty of hot water for a good shower. Indeed, traveling in Africa, which has its fair share of quaint bed and breakfast's and guest houses, where I had stayed the past several nights, one can find charm and quirkiness not found in chain hotels. However, with sore muscles and a pervading need for privacy and first world amenities, I was so happy to be in this updated hotel that employed all of the above. Highly recommended. Great bang for the buck.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool on the third floor are quiet and offer outdoor balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beautyhuggeranonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Having never been to Rwanda before, Viewbaron and his wife had no idea what to expect, but also stayed here with an open mind.

Pleasantly surprised- perhaps at sounds a little patronising, but I just assumed it would be third world time but was totally wrong.

The hotel itself is in a good location for the obvious primate activity. The rooms are clean and have plenty of hot water.

The food ( Viewbaron likes his fillet steak, so Opted for it ) was well made and pretty cheap in comparison to, say, nairobi hotels.

You can stay here and can expect just as pleasant a visit as one would from a 3 star uk hotel. The local guides also eat here ( we bought ours dinner ) when we caught his eye from across the dining room. Of course there are some shortfalls, but these are only evident if I tried to compare directly to a richer country, which would be slightly obscene.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viewbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruhengeri hotels
0 km away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
0 km away
The Garden Place Hotel
The Garden Place Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ruhengeri
39 reviews
0 km away
La Palme Hotel
La Palme Hotel
#3 of 23 in Ruhengeri
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse
0 km away
Virunga Hotel
Virunga Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ruhengeri
46 reviews
0 km away
Montana Vista Hotel
Montana Vista Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ruhengeri
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorillas Volcanoes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorillas Volcanoes Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 94, Ruhengeri, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Northern Province > Musanze District > Ruhengeri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ruhengeri
Price Range: ₹ 11,859 - ₹ 12,821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing