We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ukunda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Ukunda
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

Stayed in the Kole Kole wing at the Baobab from the beggining of Sept for two weeks, we had the end room on the first floor & from what we saw it was slightly more spacious than the others on our block. Transfers were fine the ferry took 10 minutes in total but the airport experience is not something I would wish to repeat. As soon as you get off the plane you have to scrabble round for your visa & then we waited in line for about 2hrs total, they certainly take their time. Anyway besides that minor inconvenience if was all good when we finally got on the bus & on our way.
Everyone you meet is really happy & friendly & go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
The resort is a lot bigger than we first thought but each area feels quite intimate, the quietest bit is the Mariadadi (not sure if that's spelt right) this is where we went quite a lot to relax in the morning & have lunch there. The Kole Kole is very busy & there seems to be something going on all the time which is great if you want to be really sociable & play games.
We had our aniversary in the first week & booked a meal at the Kole Kole al a carte restaurant which specialised in seafood. The meal was smashing & we had it all to ourselves which was quite nice.
All in all it was a fantastic holiday didn't get one mosquito bite but then we used expedition strength 100% DEET so I don't think anything would've touched us & we did stop taking the Malarone after the first few days as we starting feeling very anxious & a bit depressed, not what you want on a holiday.
Food was excellent I would say it was the best out of all the all inclusive places we have been so far even the Maldives.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDimples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    135
    29
    6
    9
See reviews for
153
205
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
252 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

this is an excellent hotel located right on the beach which amazing views of the indian ocean. we stayed for 10 days and tried all the restaurants and bars, good quality of food with great varity ranging for italian food, kenyan food, english to indian and thai food. very clean rooms, restaurants and facilities, excellent bars with good drinks selection and snacks. there is plenty to do in the hotel apart from sun bathing such as volley ball, diving, tennis, table tennis, boating, surfing and just walking on the beach. you have to get used to the guys on the beach trying to sell you things, however, they are friendly so dont worry - best guy for arranging boat trips is emmanuel, very trust worthy. must be the best all inclusive hotel in eastern africa, only downside is that it is more than one hours drive from mobasa so you are more or less stuck on the south coast, but hey - who cares when it is that good. kole kole is the best are of the hotel followed by maridadi and then baobab wing.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timetraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Spent 4 days chilling at Baobab after 6 day safari. Flew Nairobi to Mombassa and onto resort by car - takes 90 minutes due to congstion at ferry. Mombassa airport clean and friendly; Nairobi similar.

Resort is really 2 in 1 as Kole Kole and Baobab combine for restaurants ( 2 buffet and 2 pay extra), pools (3) and bars (4). Night time entertainment at outdoor ampitheatre - not bad.

We stayed in sea facing bungalow which was a good size and well maintained. Staff friendly and helpful. Buffets have a fair selection which suits all tastes - desserts are poor. Pay restaurants are far better and not that expensive. Lots of beds around pool and bar staff attentive.

Beach can be a pain due to hawkers and most people seem to avoid it. Lots of monkeys around, but they don't seem to cause much bother.

There are shops at the resort which are pricey, but sell good quality merchandise.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas041152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

Stayed in Baobab 11.06.10 to 25.06.10. Staff excellent, very helpful and obliging. Weather perfect, rooms although not technically 5 star to UK standard, very clean , linen changed daily and towels changed each evening, we booked the beach bungalow which overlooked the sea. Requested a mossie net on arrival which appeared over the bed within twenty minutes. All inclusive , although brochure says two restaurants both served the same buffet food just at different ends of the resort, both excellent. Beach although beautiful , no-one appeared to walk along, shame as this is normally part of our enjoyment of a holiday , as the 'beach boys' are little bit of a pain. The staff (mainly male) are mad on football, so any football shirts they love a freebie shirt if you have any to give away, and also ask for anything you may wish to leave on your departure, for their children, books pens etc in fact anything. SAFARI - must be taken by JTSafaris contact number 254 721 769771 email jtsafaris@yahoo.cm wwwjulius-safaris.com, superb guy who you will be taken to meet outside the resort in his office, negotiate with him especially if there is more than 2 people going, we did the Tsavo East and Tsavo West over 3 days. Remember if you book safari in the UK you will be expected to vacate your room, we booked when we got to hotel and obviously didnt have to. Would definately go back to Kenya but would do the Masai Mara safari as everyone said this was the best, more expensive and a flight but definately worth it. Couldnt believe the monkeys walking around the resort so freely, great to see. One thing to remember all inclusive drinks etc finish at 11pm so for you late night drinkers get your orders in before 11. Happy holiday

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasperwoosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

My partner and I booked this hotel hoping it would be a trip of a lifetime, as we were also getting married whilst we were there - we were not disappointed.

The hotel is situated in beautiful grounds on the edge of the Indian Ocean. The grounds and the rooms are kept beautifully. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the food is really good.

As a wedding venue the staff made our day the perfect one that it should be. from the moment we arrived they took care of everything, the planner was out of this world knowing what would make the day, even if I didn't.

The girls who work at the spa deserve a special mention, they made our honeymoon a wonderful, relaxing time, knowing what we needed in order to make our trips to the spa the best I have ever had.

We spent three days on safari traveling between Tsavo east and west, three days well spent, we saw 3 of the big 5 and watched lions hunting, saw elephants, hippos and many many more. The lodges we stayed at were amazing in all areas.

There is nothing negative to say about our stay, even the beach venders aren't as bad as you expect.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nudibrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ukunda hotels
3.6 km away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.1 km away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
8.1 km away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.4 km away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.2 km away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani

Property: Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani
Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
#8 Family Hotel in Ukunda
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,877 - ₹ 16,269
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani Hotel Ukunda
Kole Baobab Hotel Diani
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani Kenya/Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing