We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to unwind not far from Nairobi”
Review of Chui Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chui Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind not far from Nairobi”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We were looking for some place not far from Nairobi, to spend a couple of nights, and that provided a chance to see leopards. We didn’t see any leopards, but had a wonderful time. It is about an hour and a half to two hours’ drive from Nairobi, depending on traffic, or they have their own airstrip if you prefer to fly, although I do not know the cost or timings. It is located near Lake Naivasha in the Osterian Wildlife preserve. Our hut was nice size, with a fireplace, chairs, queen bed, desk, closet, bathroom with a tub and separate shower, two sinks. They kept the fire in the fireplace going the entire time we were there. It is a bit chillier, especially in the mornings and evenings, as it’s in the mountains. They have a pool on the grounds which looks out over the wildlife area. The lodge itself has a fence around it to keep the wildlife out, a baboon and female water buck didn’t get the memo though. We sat on the veranda of our hut and watched wilder beast, gazelles, warthogs, zebra and a giraffe come drink close to the fence. They do game drives in the morning and evenings (and if you are there more than one night, a boat ride on the lake), where you have a chance to see white rhino and Gravey’s zebra. Our guide also said there is one male lion that roams the reserve and they have 22 leopards. There are many more animals to view, it’s a good alternative if you are pressed for time and can’t make it to the Masai Mara. You can also take a morning game drive to the lake, and get out of the jeep and walk among the thousands of flamingo’s, giraffe, zebra and gazelle’s. The highlight was having breakfast by the lake our last morning. The monkeys would come just close enough to see what was going on, but not too close to be a bother. We pretty much had the place to ourselves the two nights (only one other person the first night) and it was lovely. The evening game drive ended on top of the hill with a fire, sun downers and snacks. Our guide Albert was good and went out of his way to find the leopards for us. Unfortunately, they decided to not cooperate. The staff was very friendly and attentive, and the food was very good and plentiful. The restaurant is one of a kind and I swear every time I entered I found a new carving somewhere.

I really enjoyed the two days of relaxation here and would definitely return for a visit next time in Kenya.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pj510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
65
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The ride is very scenic and the lodge is small but tastefully decorated. The food was exceptional and as one sits on the veranda, the animals pass by to have some salt from the salt lick. We saw antelopes, warthog, rhino, bushbucks, guinea fowls and many baboons.
The staff were very welcoming and check in and checkout was efficient.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roadwarrior0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nairobi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We loved our weekend side trip to Chiui Lodge. Near Naivasha Lake on a beautiful private conservancy. Loved tieir food selections. Enjoyed thgeir game drive, especially the rhinos they protect

Room Tip: Make sure to take a walk lake side. Also visit the nearby Joy Adamson Museum
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njenga n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worongary, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We enjoyed everything about our stay at Chui Lodge. It was well run, and as already noted by other reviewers, David, Julius and Bernard were very professional and most helpful. The restaurant is definitely a work of African art and all meals were great. The game drives worthy (seven terrific white rhino, two with babies) and of course, the sundowners by the fire. This is the best of Africa.

We had a large and most comfortable cottage with sitting room, and loved the unique locally made timber furnishings including a suitcase bench that held two suitcases! (You know, one case always has to live on the floor usually!!). The bathroom was a bit dated but ours was expansive.

Bernard took us to see the flamingoes at what appeared to be their private lake area so no hoards of tourists - just us - we were amazed after being disappointed at not seeing them in Nakuru National Park. I liked the way he treated it as a little secret!

Chui is close to Hell's Gate National Park, Elsamere & other attractions but secure and removed from the hubub of the Naivasha region in general. A great choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelsQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

What a perfect destination to start our first ever safari. We have just spent 2 nights at Chui followed by three nights at the Royal Mara which we booked in the Uk through Zambezi.com and I would thoroughly recommend both lodges.
Chui has it's own fenced reserve of around 20,000 acres so there is no issue with over crowding or sharing a sighting with 50 other vehicles. Highlights of the safari include spotting a leopard, seven rhino in one place and walking with giraffe, flamingo, hippo and zebra by the lake.
The staff at Chui really go the extra mile to make your stay as relaxing as possible and to make it a break you will never forget. On the evening game drives you finish off around a roaring camp fire with an amazing view overlooking the plains and a member of staff on hand with cold beers, wines and nibbles. There aren't many drinks I have had in my life more memorable than that glass of red overlooking the fantastic scenery and hearing a lion roar in the background.
The 8 rooms or lodges are nicely spaced out throughout the camp and are so comfortable and cute you feel at home straight away.
Our driver/guide Bernard was knowledgeable and really went out of his way to accommodate us. We went on two walks around the lake which I would thoroughly recommend, he follows you at a distance behind in the 4x4 just for your safety but nothing beats strolling along with inquisitive giraffe, zebra, hippos, flamingo, wart hogs all around you.
We rounded off our second walk by having a champagne breakfast next to the lake. What an idyllic location and we felt truly spoilt by the effort all the staff had made to make it possible.
Special mention should go to Julius and David who look after you in the camp, such nice people and again I would stress they would go to any lengths to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.
The food is great with lunch served outside with amazing views and dinner set in the comfortable dining room. The meals were so large the staff warned my wife they expect her to put on 4lbs during our two night stay!
The general feel from the lodge is of relaxation, if you want to chill out and get away from it all, with some amazing game drives and walks thrown in then Chui really is the perfect choice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naivasha
0.0 km away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
0.0 km away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
0.0 km away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 40 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 km away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.0 km away
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
#1 of 40 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chui Lodge

Property: Chui Lodge
Address: Moi South Lake Rd | Oserengoni Wildlife Sanctuary, Naivasha, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Naivasha
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,707 - ₹ 27,572
Hotel Class:4 star — Chui Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 8 en suite individual and well-spaced luxurious cottages each with its own veranda and views of the Rift Valley escarpment and the Sanctuary. The bedrooms have magnificent four poster king size olive wood beds, roaring log fires, artistically decorated artwork and hand crafted furniture made in our onsite workshop. The dining room, lounge and bar area feature pillars and mural with intricate African carvings, African antiques and ochre colored walls creating the feel of an artist's gallery. A short walk from the main building and cottages is a swimming pool with views across the waterhole and the conservancy beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Chui Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chui Hotel Naivasha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing