We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chui Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$ 260
US$ 241
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 265
US$ 247
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 284
US$ 268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge(Lake Elementaita)(Great Value!)
US$ 124
US$ 120
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge(Lake Nakuru National Park)
US$ 358
US$ 197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Ark(Aberdare National Park)(Great Value!)
US$ 150
US$ 136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
138
17
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
17
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush breakfastwatering holegame driveswildlife sanctuaryprivate conservancythe reserveincredible foodexcellent visitguide bernardbush walkoverseas visitorslake naivashabeautiful experiencenumerous animalsrose farmfabulous weekendthe main dining area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The ride is very scenic and the lodge is small but tastefully decorated. The food was exceptional and as one sits on the veranda, the animals pass by to have some salt from the salt lick. We saw antelopes, warthog, rhino, bushbucks, guinea fowls and many baboons.
The staff were very welcoming and check in and checkout was efficient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roadwarrior0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We loved our weekend side trip to Chiui Lodge. Near Naivasha Lake on a beautiful private conservancy. Loved tieir food selections. Enjoyed thgeir game drive, especially the rhinos they protect

Room Tip: Make sure to take a walk lake side. Also visit the nearby Joy Adamson Museum
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank njenga n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We enjoyed everything about our stay at Chui Lodge. It was well run, and as already noted by other reviewers, David, Julius and Bernard were very professional and most helpful. The restaurant is definitely a work of African art and all meals were great. The game drives worthy (seven terrific white rhino, two with babies) and of course, the sundowners by the fire. This is the best of Africa.

We had a large and most comfortable cottage with sitting room, and loved the unique locally made timber furnishings including a suitcase bench that held two suitcases! (You know, one case always has to live on the floor usually!!). The bathroom was a bit dated but ours was expansive.

Bernard took us to see the flamingoes at what appeared to be their private lake area so no hoards of tourists - just us - we were amazed after being disappointed at not seeing them in Nakuru National Park. I liked the way he treated it as a little secret!

Chui is close to Hell's Gate National Park, Elsamere & other attractions but secure and removed from the hubub of the Naivasha region in general. A great choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravelsQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

What a perfect destination to start our first ever safari. We have just spent 2 nights at Chui followed by three nights at the Royal Mara which we booked in the Uk through Zambezi.com and I would thoroughly recommend both lodges.
Chui has it's own fenced reserve of around 20,000 acres so there is no issue with over crowding or sharing a sighting with 50 other vehicles. Highlights of the safari include spotting a leopard, seven rhino in one place and walking with giraffe, flamingo, hippo and zebra by the lake.
The staff at Chui really go the extra mile to make your stay as relaxing as possible and to make it a break you will never forget. On the evening game drives you finish off around a roaring camp fire with an amazing view overlooking the plains and a member of staff on hand with cold beers, wines and nibbles. There aren't many drinks I have had in my life more memorable than that glass of red overlooking the fantastic scenery and hearing a lion roar in the background.
The 8 rooms or lodges are nicely spaced out throughout the camp and are so comfortable and cute you feel at home straight away.
Our driver/guide Bernard was knowledgeable and really went out of his way to accommodate us. We went on two walks around the lake which I would thoroughly recommend, he follows you at a distance behind in the 4x4 just for your safety but nothing beats strolling along with inquisitive giraffe, zebra, hippos, flamingo, wart hogs all around you.
We rounded off our second walk by having a champagne breakfast next to the lake. What an idyllic location and we felt truly spoilt by the effort all the staff had made to make it possible.
Special mention should go to Julius and David who look after you in the camp, such nice people and again I would stress they would go to any lengths to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.
The food is great with lunch served outside with amazing views and dinner set in the comfortable dining room. The meals were so large the staff warned my wife they expect her to put on 4lbs during our two night stay!
The general feel from the lodge is of relaxation, if you want to chill out and get away from it all, with some amazing game drives and walks thrown in then Chui really is the perfect choice.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobbieJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

First let me tell that it is nice to know the aim of this place is to be some kind of wildlife corridor and hence contribute to preservation of species. We stayed 4 nights here and really enjoyed our drives in the reserve with our guide Bernard (the place used to be a farm and has come-back to nature now). You can see a lot of wildlife except elephants. The true highlights of our stay were to see a serval cat, a leopard and the very endangered grevy's zebra. We also had wonderful nature walks along the shores of the lakes (very nearby) that were greeted with South African sparkling wine at the end.

The lodge itself is nice with an African style and modern facilities. The only issue I had with the room is that I found the mattress too hard (I eventually got used to it). The staff was also quite nice as was the service. The food was good.

In conclusion, a very good place to stay if you want to visit the Lake Naivasha area (apparently a well-known getaway for people living in Nairobi).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jboule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews