We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$88
View deal
Booking.com
$62
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Priceline$62
Travelocity$88
Lol.travel
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
18
14
5
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
14
5
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2020

We had a great time with our 3 chidren who loved the place. Great gardens and food. The pool has a fabulous view of the city. We stayed in a modern city style apartment which was very nice. It's a bit weird that the place does not have a bar and I am sure would be busier if it did. Luckily the room had a fridge so no worries. Staff helpful and friendly. Very relaxing.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank simongoveyausuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
phelix, General Manager at Wigot Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Hi Simon,
Happy New Year 2020. Thanks for the great review and staying with us at the close of the year and decade. Great to know you had a fabulous stay. Welcome again or 'Machiegni' as we say in the local dialect.

Wigot Gardens
Twitter: @WigotGardensKE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2019

It's in a nifty location away from the hustle and bustle of Kisumu. Great night view of the kisumu skyline.
The manager Phelix is a great manager.
The rooms were clean with good housekeeping.
Only complaint was that the 5th floor wi-fi wasn't strong...and plenty of stairs to climb to burn those calories :-) The heating of the water was also unpredicatable in the morning and that was disappointing.
I would return to stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
phelix, General Manager at Wigot Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2019

Hi Nic,
Thanks for staying with us during this year's medical camp. Your team is doing a great job for a great cause.

Great to know you enjoyed your stay; thanks for the rave reviews. We have sure taken note of the areas of improvement and will work on them.

You are always welcome @WigotGardensKE. Do stay with us whenever in Kisumu...........may make it sooner for a working holiday.

Regards,

Phelix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2019 via mobile

This hotel is set in one of the cooler areas of Kisumu which was a plus because we didn't need to use the air conditioning at night. We stayed in one of the tented rooms and really enjoyed the view from our balcony. The staff are very friendly and super helpful. There is no bar at the hotel so be sure to purchase your alcohol before heading to the hotel. Overall, this was a night well spent.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lodenyi2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
phelix, General Manager at Wigot Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2019

Hi Lodenyi!
Thank you for staying with us and finding time to make this review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We do not serve nor allow alcohol in the hotel. This should however not impede your fun as our front desk will be happy to recommend the many entertainment spots close by. Do stay with us again to enjoy the great views and cool environs when visiting the beautiful city of Kisumu.

Phelix Owiti
manager@wigotgardens.co.ke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2019

I took a team building group there for my work. It was generally pleasant until checkout when they counted the size of our group wrongly, haggled and delayed a lot. Our group left 50 minutes later than we tried to due to office staff's inability to provide a bill or invoice, even though no one else was present to use their time. Overall embarrassing to my team and an indicator of management's poor customer orientation.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Kenya57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
phelix, General Manager at Wigot Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2019

Dear John,
Thank you for patronizing our facility and for the prompt feedback. Our goal is to always make the guest experience memorable. The hitch with your bill, after a pleasant team building session, is therefore unjustifiable.
Whereas we prepared for 30 participants as per your booking and the hotel policy is to bill the guaranteed number, in case the actual attendance is less, this information was perhaps not brought out clearly to you at the point of booking. This is likely the reason you insisted to be charged as per actual, which we did, after some discussion causing delay. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused you. We will make terms clearer at the point of booking to avoid such misunderstanding. Otherwise, thank you once again and feel most welcome to visit your home of luxury and comfort again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2019

We had unforgettable experience from the natural environment of the hotel. Its location on the hill top will give you a beautiful views of Nandi hills and to add to the list is the amazing hospitality we receive right from the front office personel. Are you in western Kenya? looking for a home far from home? visit wigot gardens hotel! have your share of luxury!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Priscah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
phelix, General Manager at Wigot Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2019

Dear Priscar,
Thank you very much for staying with us and finding time to review us. We are excited to know that you enjoyed the hospitality, the environment and the views Wigot Gardens has to offer. Feel very welcome to stay with us again for an opportunity to explore the larger Kisumu and Western Kenya - Truly Amazing!

Phelix Owiti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews