We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$100
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Expedia.com
$88
View deal
Hotels.com
$88
View deal
Priceline$100
Travelocity$88
Orbitz.com$88
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
18
14
5
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
14
5
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2019 via mobile

This hotel is set in one of the cooler areas of Kisumu which was a plus because we didn't need to use the air conditioning at night. We stayed in one of the tented rooms and really enjoyed the view from our balcony. The staff are very friendly and super helpful. There is no bar at the hotel so be sure to purchase your alcohol before heading to the hotel. Overall, this was a night well spent.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lodenyi2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
phelix, General Manager at Wigot Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2019

Hi Lodenyi!
Thank you for staying with us and finding time to make this review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We do not serve nor allow alcohol in the hotel. This should however not impede your fun as our front desk will be happy to recommend the many entertainment spots close by. Do stay with us again to enjoy the great views and cool environs when visiting the beautiful city of Kisumu.

Phelix Owiti
manager@wigotgardens.co.ke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2019

I took a team building group there for my work. It was generally pleasant until checkout when they counted the size of our group wrongly, haggled and delayed a lot. Our group left 50 minutes later than we tried to due to office staff's inability to provide a bill or invoice, even though no one else was present to use their time. Overall embarrassing to my team and an indicator of management's poor customer orientation.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Kenya57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
phelix, General Manager at Wigot Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2019

Dear John,
Thank you for patronizing our facility and for the prompt feedback. Our goal is to always make the guest experience memorable. The hitch with your bill, after a pleasant team building session, is therefore unjustifiable.
Whereas we prepared for 30 participants as per your booking and the hotel policy is to bill the guaranteed number, in case the actual attendance is less, this information was perhaps not brought out clearly to you at the point of booking. This is likely the reason you insisted to be charged as per actual, which we did, after some discussion causing delay. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused you. We will make terms clearer at the point of booking to avoid such misunderstanding. Otherwise, thank you once again and feel most welcome to visit your home of luxury and comfort again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2019

We had unforgettable experience from the natural environment of the hotel. Its location on the hill top will give you a beautiful views of Nandi hills and to add to the list is the amazing hospitality we receive right from the front office personel. Are you in western Kenya? looking for a home far from home? visit wigot gardens hotel! have your share of luxury!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Priscah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
phelix, General Manager at Wigot Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2019

Dear Priscar,
Thank you very much for staying with us and finding time to review us. We are excited to know that you enjoyed the hospitality, the environment and the views Wigot Gardens has to offer. Feel very welcome to stay with us again for an opportunity to explore the larger Kisumu and Western Kenya - Truly Amazing!

Phelix Owiti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

Thanks so much guys.your services were above par for my guests.your excellence was adorable and above any other hotel in town.loved being there.expect more of "us".or was it the lady handling us that was so hospitable-racquel somebody.such employees will make me bring these foreign colleagues there every time.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Collins A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
phelix, General Manager at Wigot Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2019

Dear Collins,
Thanks a great deal for the review - very happy to know you enjoyed your stay at Wigot Gardens. Racquel Nekesa, our Front Desk Agent, appreciates the compliment. Feel highly welcome to stay with us always.

Best regards,

Phelix Owiti
Tel: +254 (0) 708112222/ 726440978
Email: manager@wigotgardens.co.ke
Twitter: @TheWigotGardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

Wigot Gardens is a very pleasant hotel above Kisumu. The building with the rooms is modern, functional and a bit charmless. The other part of the hotel, where the bar, bungalows and pool are, has the most fantastic view of Kisumu and Lake Victoria. Also, the hotel has high ambitions with regards to sustainability.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank alexanderc982
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
phelix, General Manager at Wigot Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Hi Alexander,
Thank you for finding time to review our Hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay. Welcome, once again, in the very near future. At Wigot (which means 'top of the hill'), be sure to bask in the quite, freshness of nature. Enjoy great views of the City, Winam Gulf of Lake Victoria and the Nandi Escarpment in the Great Rift Valley. While with us, try birding from the convenience of your balcony or venture out to a cruise on the world's 2nd largest fresh water Lake.

See you soon!

Phelix Owiti
Tel: +254 (0) 708112222/ 726440978
Email: manager@wigotgardens.co.ke
Twitter: @TheWigotGardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews