We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$118
View deal
Expedia.com$121
Hotels.com$120
Travelocity$120
Priceline$121
Orbitz.com$120
eDreams$118
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
106
63
25
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
106
63
25
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are spacious jazz bar lake victoria sleep quality enjoyed my stay view of the lake bruce fixtures improvement security services facility nairobi clients cbd
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2022 via mobile

The hotel was really nice and the rooms are spacious! The people are very welcoming. Restaurant is good. I really enjoyed my stay. I want to leave an extra special review of Maria at the spa. I have had many many massages and she was the best I ever had. Her hands were magic and thank you for making my vacation extra special.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank tamaraswilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2022

Hello Tamara
It was our pleasure to host you in Sovereign and are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you very much for the lovely reviews, we sincerely hope to get the chance to host you again in the short future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2022 via mobile

This hotel was excellent and the images are exactly how the place looks

Staff were super friendly, the room was super clean and quiet
And the Jazz bar is

Only bit for improvement is that the porters could be a bit more proactive in helping with luggage.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ronald O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2022

Hi Ronald
Thank you for having chosen Sovereign Hotel as your place of during your recent visit to Kisumu. It was our utmost pleasure to serve you and ensure your stay with us was most enjoyable and memorable. We have a porter that is stationed in reception to help guests with their luggage and we will definitely look into ensuring this service is provided with much more expertise and with a timely manner. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2022

Loved the warm reception right from the security guards at the entrance. Bruce was very kind and professional, he ushered me and made sure I was well settled.
The roms are heavenly, very homely, you can't go wrong!
Gordon the waiter, was very warm as well. All the staff in general, they would smile at you on the corridors, with a warm greeting.
I liked the pool setting, very private not like usual hotels where most pools are located at the hearts of restaurant.
Hope to be back someday.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank justaskjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2022

The Sovereign family strives to ensure our guests have the most enjoyable and memorable experience during their stay. It was our utmost pleasure to host you and are delighted you enjoyed the services we have to offer. Thank you so much for the lovely reviews and 5* rating. We are very much looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2022

Elizabeth was so helpful before our arrival at the hotel. This was our first time to Kisumu and Elizabeth assisted us with local information and booking a car to take us to a local scenic attraction. She is a wonderful Ambassador for the hotel.

We stayed in the Annex, which is very private and had a spacious living area and kitchen.

The sunsets over Lake Victoria were magical. Thank you to Elizabeth and the staff at the Sovereign Hotel.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AustralianHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2022

Hi Hellen
Thank you so much for the lovely reviews!! we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the whole experience in Kisumu.
We hope to see you and Mr Williams again in the short future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2022

We went for a weekend from Nairobi. We were just thrilled with everything in the hotel - starting with the check in staff's warm welcome, the spacious room (very clean, with all amenities and a lovely view), the pool, spa, the lounge together with sumptious breakfast. The staff are exceptional and took good care of us throughout our stay. The newly introduced sushi bar was amazing. We hope to visit them again soon.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _shivona_tavares
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2022

Hi Shivona
Its been 2 months since we had the pleasure of hosting you in Sovereign. We are really glad you had a wonderful time with us and many thanks for the lovely reviews from your last visit. Looking forward to hosting you again during your visit in Kisumu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews