We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel
eDreams$13
Priceline
Agoda.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
1
6
7
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1
6
7
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

A large group of us stayed in this hotel recently for a week and as we were on a budget we were all pleasantly surprised. The rooms are large and clean and there is a hot shower! Each room also has a widescreen TV and fan.
The food was basic and limited in choice but none of us went hungry. Our waiter jonathan went out of his way to get us whatever we needed each morning. The hotel also provided us with a conference room to meet in each day.
There was quite a lot of noise during the night at the weekend BUT, I have never stayed in a hotel in Kisumu that has been quiet on a Saturday night so we expected this.
Would definintely stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alis0n_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dicky K, Accounts & Finance at Hotel Palmers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

We really do appreciate you for making a choice to stay at Palmers, We just need to remind you that you are such an important person in our family, we value you so much and welcomes you back at any time, Thanks too for you compliments on our services, we are there to satisfy your needs as a client and beyond to give you amore comfortable stay as a visitor, all these we strive to do at the very affordable cost ever considering the hard economic times that sweeps a cross our country.Once I again on behalf of the management we say THANK YOU.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile

I always stay in palmers while in kisumu,reason being that i like the location ,cleanliness of the rooms and the breakfast,the staff at the front desk always recognize you and treat you like a vip each time you return,its just a small place but home away from home

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ricktanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MakoeroDickens, Accounts/Finance at Hotel Palmers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thanks so much for the compliment,feel always at home when you are in Palmers Hotel and bring in more of your friends to also feel the same comfort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015 via mobile

My colleague and I checked in at the hotel and on staying there for 2nights they had already monitored our movement, we stepped out for dinner 1 of the evenings on returning my room had been broken into and my workmates room the door was opened our laptops were missing.
On calling the management they were not willing to help at all the cctv comera at the corridor had been brokend. They refused to share the footage. To us this was an inside job and they were protecting someone for sure. Stay away from this hotel.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
7  Thank daviekings
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MakoeroDickens, Accountant/Finance at Hotel Palmers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

The management was really at hand to help, is only that you seemed to be so much in a hurry to label the staff as thieves, remember this matter was reported to the relevant investigating authorities, and at no point in time was any of our staff found culpable to have colluded in the said theft, funnily your people were mentioned as having sent the bodaboda operator who was held by the police as having been sent to drop some of your particulars,who else could have such very specific information regarding your stay in the hotel? we also became very much suspicious with how these things became a coincident, But believe you me, Palmers hotel always carry their client's with a lot of dignity never to side even with their staff incase of any mischievous behaviors, however we so much regret the incidence and have so far improved on the security apparatus,to this end

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

On entering the hotel lobby, you notice a empty aquarium, with no fish and no water inside ?
Is this a good omen ? The room was small and dingy, with a big noisy fan just above your head.
Made you very aware to take care whilst dressing or undressing, if you wanted to keep your hands ? The shower was hot and powerful.The house keeping staff not too friendly.
Downstairs in the restaurant the staff were very friendly, and efficent. The buffet breakfast was good, and the restaurant was spacious and had a good ambience.WiFi in the restaurant area.
The hotel was situated near to a roadside market, which was good for getting those little trinkets.
In the evening the hotel was calm, but you could say that for the whole of Kisumu.

Room tip: Ask for a large room, as there are lots different, but you pay the same price anyway.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank domicalais
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MakoeroDickens, Account/Finance at Hotel Palmers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thanks so much in lauding us where we are better and also prick us where you feel we could have done better,The aquaram was empty just for awhile because of the cleaning,the room though might appear dingy is just relevant to the cost,we have more better rooms for affordable prices,please next time,just pinch yourself alittle more to enjoy the comfort of a 2500/= room and am sure you will enjoy,Thanks and welcome to palmers always and always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I personally like palmer hotel, rooms, ready breakfast and fast serving receptionists, except for two major things.
1. Staying on third floor without lift is tedious. They should instal lift for the front wing that lead to rooms
2. the fron wing has some nearly kesha noise (on friday night(s)) coming from a church on the roadside that will leave you trying to catch-up with sleep only from 5a.m. Too bad.

Room tip: Actually i didn't spot any swimming pool or fitness center to comment about. May be rooms away from the fronside could be quieter.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joshua N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MakoeroDickens, Finance & Admin at Hotel Palmers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Very unfortunate though there are some situations which are totally out of our control, like the church issue, we can never do anything to remove them from the same place but am sure if you lock the windows well, there shall be very little effect on the same, we regret that disturbance, on the side of lift ,remember we are still doing the construction of the other wing, once this shall have been completed we shall also consider installing a lift,to cater even for the disabled persons, Thank you so much for your observations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews