We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$40
Hotels.com$40
Travelocity$40
FindHotel
Orbitz.com$40
Trip.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
9
6
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
6
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2020

Service too slow. Not a good experience. Got delayed because of the slow service. Hot showers were not working. Breakfast took forever to prepare. The Attendant could either not understand english or kiswahili or kept forgetting. Not a good place if travelling with children.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Camper774019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 November 2019

Homestay Cottage has two branches. I stayed at Homestay on Kakamega road. Rooms are small but price is ok for that location. I was informed that the Homestay Cottage in town by the Lake has bigger and better rooms, but perhaps will try that next time. The food is decent and affordable. Breakfast is the normal toast, margarine, eggs, sausage- nothing out of the ordinary. Parking is very limited. I did not get an opportunity to use wifi since I had very short stay. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank Traveler4JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 May 2019

NOT pet friendly. Not responsive to electrical problems. LOTS of dodgy "short term" visitors throughout the night. Avoid at all costs. No address it is an alley. No where for pets to pee, tried sending to construction site behind the building, climbing through pipes and scaffolding to arrive upon broken glass and concrete. Does not register on Google, staff sends you a WhatsApp pin and you are led to a spot 3-4 kilometres away. Sleep in your car in a safe place and you will be much better off.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank JackieTreehorn1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 November 2018 via mobile

Check in staff were pretty quick and efficient. Room was surprisingly clean with fresh towels and soap. Linen was changed on a daily basis.
The breakfast was very good with a decent selection . The fish and food is to die for...a must try.
Overall great experience our team loved it and will definitely use it again.
Keep it up.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank lakew00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

I really loved this place. Workers here are very friendly and quick in response ones you request any kind of an assistance. Rooms are nice fitted with cooling fans and TV. WiFi connection here is very strong and gym is also available.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews