We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pacific Perfection”
Review of Ika Lahi Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vava'u Islands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ika Lahi Lodge
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Vava'u Islands
Reviewed 10 October 2013

After 4 trips to Ika Lahi, could it get better, you bet, the fishing is great and the food is always superb. Whether you want to relax and read a book, Kayak in the sheltered lagoon, fish with the ever fresh Steve, snorkel around the lagoon and entrance, or dine on Caroline's superb cuisine, this lodge has to be the most amazing South Pacific Lodge you could find. The mix of location and excellent hosts makes this a place we will always return to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fishoNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We visited the restaurant on two occasions while we were exploring Tonga on our yacht. The food was some of the tastiest we ate in Tonga. We had gourmet pizzas for lunch one day and fish for dinner one evening with super fresh sashimi and smoked mahimahi.The resort has moorings available for rent to cruisers. if you want an intimate meal in a stunning location and are travelling via yacht check this out. The pass into the lagoon is narrow but rocks are visible transit at high tide
Accommodation is also available but we did not use

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We booked Ika Lahi on the recommendation of our fisho travel agent and we weren't disappointed. If you want the best chance of catching and releasing blue marlin, Steve and Caroline's Ika Lahi Lodge is perfect. Steve is very knowledgeable and a great guy, Reel Addiction is well set up and we had 3 memorable days with 5 blue tagged and released and 2 mahimahi for the table. And a few great moments along the way.
Ika Laki is perfectly situated on the edge of the fishing grounds - no need to motor for hours to find the fish - and is located within a picture-perfect lagoon with good swimming and snorkeling right off the white sandy beach.
Accommodations, while simple, were very clean and all we needed for our tropical island fishing adventure. The bed was comfortable and we slept with the sound of the waves just outside our screen door.
Caroline and Steve are great hosts; Caroline's meals were delicious and she took great care in asking what we liked and disliked before preparing each meal. We were sent off on the boat each day with tasty packed lunches and plenty of filtered water - perfect.
We love the lodge setting and the gardens which provide many of the herbs and vegetables that we ate. They also have free ranging chickens providing fresh eggs, and fruit trees, coconuts, etc etc. Caroline's coffee is the perfect kick-start to each day, with homemade muesli and yogurt and fresh fruit we feel very lucky to have come across this little piece of semi-self-sufficient paradise. The domestic cats and dogs added to our stay and made us feel like part of the family.
We miss Ika Lahi and hope to return at some stage in the future. Ika Lahi is not just a place to stay; it's an opportunity to experience a location and adventure we have dreamed about every night since.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

After a near trip postponement due to sick children, we finally left for our holiday as planned. The kids came right as soon as we arrived, however the weather didn't shine for us, however there was still plenty to do to keep ourselves occupied until the wind disappeared and we could finally get 2 days fishing in with Steve. Christine and Steve were amazing hosts!! Christine is a trained Chef and you can expect to pile on the kilos from her amazing cooking. Steve's knowledge of the area and game fishing in general is A+++. Ika Lahi is a paradise that is so untouched, unique, beautiful. An hour by boat from Vava'u gives you the private beach and fishing on your doorstep. Village is close by to experience the real authenticity of Tongan way of life. We will be back again when the sun is shining for us!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

After arriving in Vava'u we were met by Caroline and whisked away on her catamaran Reel Connection to the secluded splendor that is Ika Lahi Lodge. Set away from the main tourist locales, Ika Lahi is located on nearly secluded Hunga Lagoon - but is still close enough to snorkel at Swallows Cave or the amazing Coral Gardens, go swimming with the whales, or take in a traditional Tongan Feast on a nearby island

Steve and Caroline are warm, welcoming, gracious hosts who work very hard to ensure that your stay is exactly what you've been dreaming about. From Caroline's fantastic cooking (tailored to your tastes), t well thought out rooms,lovely manicured grounds, fresh papaya, pineapple & passionfruit, the (extremely) private beach, snorkeling and awesome sunset lookout to hanging out in the main lodge with other guests or spending the day game fishing with Steve we enjoyed every moment of our stay.

We miss you Ika Lahi and can't wait to come back... We'd highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a fantastic, unique experience in the Vava'u Islands.... you won't regret it!

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms... all pretty much identical... all fantastic - we loved the tiny touches, li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeftOurSocksInNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vava'u Islands
0.0 km away
Vava'u Villa
Vava'u Villa
#5 of 10 in Neiafu
63 reviews
0.0 km away
Mandala Resort
Mandala Resort
#2 of 10 in Neiafu
111 reviews
0.0 km away
Matafonua Lodge
Matafonua Lodge
#1 of 2 in Foa Island
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
0.0 km away
Mystic Sands
Mystic Sands
#1 of 10 in Neiafu
248 reviews
0.0 km away
Tongan Beach Resort
Tongan Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Neiafu
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ika Lahi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ika Lahi Lodge

Address: Hunga lagoon | Neiafu, Tonga
Region: Tonga > Vava'u Islands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Vava'u Islands
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vava'u Islands
Price Range: ₹ 12,805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, private boutique lodge situated within the only lagoon in Vava'u - its protected sandy beach and crystal blue waters perfect for swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, exploring or just relaxing. The lodge is home to Tonga's leading big game fishing specialist and you won't find anyone more passionate or knowledgeable than Captain Steve Campbell. The lodge serves freshly caught fish every day with an amazing menu using their own home grown organic produce - fine dining island style!Whale watching, fishing, diving, snorkeling, local land and sea village tours, sunset drinks at the lookout, massages and chilling in hammocks are just a few of the things that you can do.You will not be disappointed with our special piece of paradise! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ika Lahi Hotel
Ika Lahi Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing