We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mystic Sands(Neiafu)
US$ 190
US$ 176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vava'u Villa(Neiafu)(Great Value!)
US$ 102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reef Resort(Neiafu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Mala Island Resort(Vava'u Islands)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
29
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We visited the restaurant on two occasions while we were exploring Tonga on our yacht. The food was some of the tastiest we ate in Tonga. We had gourmet pizzas for lunch one day and fish for dinner one evening with super fresh sashimi and smoked mahimahi.The resort has moorings available for rent to cruisers. if you want an intimate meal in a stunning location and are travelling via yacht check this out. The pass into the lagoon is narrow but rocks are visible transit at high tide
Accommodation is also available but we did not use

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We booked Ika Lahi on the recommendation of our fisho travel agent and we weren't disappointed. If you want the best chance of catching and releasing blue marlin, Steve and Caroline's Ika Lahi Lodge is perfect. Steve is very knowledgeable and a great guy, Reel Addiction is well set up and we had 3 memorable days with 5 blue tagged and released and 2 mahimahi for the table. And a few great moments along the way.
Ika Laki is perfectly situated on the edge of the fishing grounds - no need to motor for hours to find the fish - and is located within a picture-perfect lagoon with good swimming and snorkeling right off the white sandy beach.
Accommodations, while simple, were very clean and all we needed for our tropical island fishing adventure. The bed was comfortable and we slept with the sound of the waves just outside our screen door.
Caroline and Steve are great hosts; Caroline's meals were delicious and she took great care in asking what we liked and disliked before preparing each meal. We were sent off on the boat each day with tasty packed lunches and plenty of filtered water - perfect.
We love the lodge setting and the gardens which provide many of the herbs and vegetables that we ate. They also have free ranging chickens providing fresh eggs, and fruit trees, coconuts, etc etc. Caroline's coffee is the perfect kick-start to each day, with homemade muesli and yogurt and fresh fruit we feel very lucky to have come across this little piece of semi-self-sufficient paradise. The domestic cats and dogs added to our stay and made us feel like part of the family.
We miss Ika Lahi and hope to return at some stage in the future. Ika Lahi is not just a place to stay; it's an opportunity to experience a location and adventure we have dreamed about every night since.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

After a near trip postponement due to sick children, we finally left for our holiday as planned. The kids came right as soon as we arrived, however the weather didn't shine for us, however there was still plenty to do to keep ourselves occupied until the wind disappeared and we could finally get 2 days fishing in with Steve. Christine and Steve were amazing hosts!! Christine is a trained Chef and you can expect to pile on the kilos from her amazing cooking. Steve's knowledge of the area and game fishing in general is A+++. Ika Lahi is a paradise that is so untouched, unique, beautiful. An hour by boat from Vava'u gives you the private beach and fishing on your doorstep. Village is close by to experience the real authenticity of Tongan way of life. We will be back again when the sun is shining for us!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

After arriving in Vava'u we were met by Caroline and whisked away on her catamaran Reel Connection to the secluded splendor that is Ika Lahi Lodge. Set away from the main tourist locales, Ika Lahi is located on nearly secluded Hunga Lagoon - but is still close enough to snorkel at Swallows Cave or the amazing Coral Gardens, go swimming with the whales, or take in a traditional Tongan Feast on a nearby island

Steve and Caroline are warm, welcoming, gracious hosts who work very hard to ensure that your stay is exactly what you've been dreaming about. From Caroline's fantastic cooking (tailored to your tastes), t well thought out rooms,lovely manicured grounds, fresh papaya, pineapple & passionfruit, the (extremely) private beach, snorkeling and awesome sunset lookout to hanging out in the main lodge with other guests or spending the day game fishing with Steve we enjoyed every moment of our stay.

We miss you Ika Lahi and can't wait to come back... We'd highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a fantastic, unique experience in the Vava'u Islands.... you won't regret it!

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms... all pretty much identical... all fantastic - we loved the tiny touches, like the fresh flowers and the fresh water bowl to dip your sandy feet in before entering your room!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeftOurSocksInNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This is a relaxed low key resort in super secluded Hunga Lagoon.  Caroline and Steve are great hosts; very welcoming, thoughtful and good company. They are also very knowledgeable about Tonga and about fishing, which made our visit that much more enjoyable.   Steve's knowledge about marlin fishing is incredible and he seemed to hook them every day.  Caroline is a wonderful cook, growing most of the vegetables and fruit in the garden.  The fish dishes were particularly good and the lemon & passion fruit dessert was just delicious.   The accommodation is fairly simple but perfectly comfortable and very clean and tidy.  The beach is beautiful and Hunga Lagoon an amazing natural wonder. Stewart / Roy Family Queenstown NZ

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews