We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but pretty good”

Hospedaje El Salvador
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uyuni
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hospedaje El Salvador
Ranked #16 of 18 Uyuni B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I would not give this a Very Good, but would give it a 3 and a half stars as pretty good. This hospedaje is right next to the bus station, but the double rooms on the ground floor were quiet enough (except the radio sometime blaring out of the car garage next door). The room was fairly clean - you can ask for toiletries and they will give it to you (towels, toilet paper, etc). It was pretty cheap (haggle) - and was close enough to some local eateries. Test the shower for cleanliness and that hot water works before settling on a room. Nice enough staff, but pay attention to other reviews of robberies which apparently have occurred. We had no such problems, and we were there for several days (recovering from altitude sickness).

Room Tip: Room 9 seemed a good fit, an it is on the ground floor so is good for disabled access
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colincclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Hospedaje El Salvador
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had a bad experience here: It is really easy to break into your room - which someone did and stole all our electronic stuff. The worst is that the owners didn´t want to help us at all, claiming that is was our fault. Apart from that, the beds were uncomfortable and windowless.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This large hospedaje right in the middle of the bus companies has it all:

Mouldy dank rooms
Peeling paint
Bathrooms with mould
Electric showerheads that don't work
Surly staff that take three hours to find the key to get toilet paper (lworse than Faulty Towers)
Large dog turd in the common area that smelled up the first floor and was still there after 15 hiours even when staff told.

Yes, it is cheap... deservidly so..... Look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoxcarSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Although it is cheap and in good location, I wouldn't recommend it. We stayed 1 night in a double with bathroom. The room had a hole above the doors which means there was no privacy and we could hear everything going on in the corridor, which is part of public toilets...room was dirty and bathroom smelled very bad. It was also very cold, but we expected that. Shower use is for some reason limited to 6 minutes. Our friends took a twin room, which was even worse than our room, because the walls were black of mould, hairs in bedding, etc. we are used to cheap hostels, but require two basic things: it is clean and does not smell like sewage. El salvador failed in both, plus there was a chewing gum on the ceiling, among other things...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Except not a daily train to Oruro and Villazón and small airport, cars and buses are the main means of communication with the outside world for Uyuni. Buses bring here, to the gates of the famous Salar, backpackers from all over the world. "Hospedaje El Salvador" is on Arce Avenue, which serves simultaneously as Uyuni bus terminal. Therefore "Hospedaje El Salvador" is almost always fully booked. It offers a standard hotel rooms (however, with the very minimum of facilities) and hostel-like type ones.
We stayed in a private room. There were no soap, shampoo and towels in the bathroom. Also as promised hot water - to be fair, only in the morning.
However, thanks to a good location and a general lack of an acceptable quality of housing in Uyuni "Hospedaje El Salvador" is still exists and even flourishes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gentbrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uyuni hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Jardines de Uyuni
0.4 km away
Los Girasoles Hotel
Los Girasoles Hotel
#8 of 11 in Uyuni
118 reviews
0.6 km away
Reina del Salar
Reina del Salar
#4 of 18 in Uyuni
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Tonito Hotel
Tonito Hotel
#3 of 18 in Uyuni
184 reviews
0.4 km away
Tambo Aymara
Tambo Aymara
#5 of 18 in Uyuni
170 reviews
0.5 km away
Salcay Hotel
Salcay Hotel
#8 of 18 in Uyuni
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje El Salvador? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje El Salvador

Address: Av. Arce 346, Uyuni, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Uyuni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Uyuni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing