We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
17
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

My brother and I loved staying at B&Bs during our stay in Newfoundland. However, there are good B&Bs and then there is Edna's! It is really like staying with a good friend - and one who can cook!

The Island itself is really gorgeous and Aunt Edna's is a great base for exploration. Sharlene, the owner, provides solid advice and resources about the Island . We spent three days and were never bored with the hiking trails, general meandering and chatting with locals.

The house itself is very old and in its original state with many of the features and belongings from Aunt Edna, the previous owner. The bedrooms were comfortable and well appointed and the common space was inviting and quite cozy. We loved sitting in the front porch or front step and having a beverage at the end of the day. The meals are gourmet style - with every meal there was something unforgettable - cranberry cake with a sauce , beer bread, perfectly cooked roast chicken, sautéed vegetables, salads, home smoked salmon and bacon. Be prepared to indulge.

Sharlene is delightful and friendly and creates a warm and social atmosphere. We had hours of great conversations with her and all the various guests around the dining room table. We learned a great deal about the history and politics of the Island and overall, it was our favourite B&B in Newfoundland.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank NovaScottiaLois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuntEdnasLBI, Owner at Aunt Edna's Boarding House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thank you for the great review but I can't take all the credit. You two were great guests who appreciated and were interested in our beautiful Little Bay Islands and her people. I'm on the road now till next year writing and researching islands in Canada. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Sharlene, owner and operator of this unique boarding house is an excellent host....you will not be disappointed, you will be welcomed with a sincere hello...given excellent breakfast and other meals if needed. (Which I say you will need as this is a retreat island so absolutely nothing can be bought here) I say this so that you can prepare for the trip properly! It's like going back in time...but in a good way....sadly your time may be running out to enjoy Aunt Edna's Boarding House, as Little Bay Islands are in talks of resettlement, so if given opportunity I would highly recommend this community and Aunt Edna's boarding house...beautiful Island with lots of walking trails for all hikers!
The reason I made this trip was because my aunt Hazel McIsaac was honoured to have the only ferry to this beautiful Island named after her....all I can say is thank you Aunt Hazel for showing us this place...I'm sure you were watching us enjoying it from heaven above :)

Stayed: August 2015
1  Thank Fran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

the owner is lovely and interesting and a great hostess. the setting was very pretty. we had a great dinner and breakfast with her. we enjoyed the ferry ride to get there. we met very interesting other guests there that made the trip very memorable.

Room Tip: not all the rooms have a private bathroom in it.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davidbe57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Our recent 2 night stay with Sharlene at Aunt Ednas turned into one of the highlights of our trip. The house is beautiful, nicely decorated with lovely period touches throughout, a very comfortable room, separate private bathroom with clawfoot bath and even a possible mischievous resident spirit who unfortunately ignored us! As there are no eateries on the island Sharlene provides gourmet meals on request, both lunches and dinner, she is an amazing cook and irrepressible raconteur!
A must place to visit before possible resettlement removes another page from the history of Newfoundlands outports.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank rick133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Our stay at Sharlene's B&B was one of the highlights of our trip. The house is charming and detailed decorations catch one's imagination back to olden times on the classic island. Sharlene is wonderful hostess and fantastic cook. We enjoyed a gourmet dinner in the evening and a substantial and delicious breakfast. When we expressed an interest in seeing some icebergs, Sharlene arranged a boat ride with a local gentleman and she joined us for the tour. We were introduced to some other local residents and given much information about the history and future of Little Bay Islands. Bring a camera and hiking boots. There are some great hiking trails on the island. We were so fortunate we were able to include this venue on our travels!

Room Tip: Watch the sunset from the front room. Ask the owner/hostess to help you pick a room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews