We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect rustic cabins with million dollar views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ozark Mountain Cabins
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Perfect rustic cabins with million dollar views”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We have picked this spot several times for a late fall getaway with our dogs. The cabins are cozy and spotlessly clean. We love the stone wood burning fireplace and the covered porch with a beautiful view up the Buffalo River Valley. There is nothing fancy about this spot, but the location is perfect and the owner works hard to make sure guests are comfortable and the cabins are in perfect shape. The road heads down to lovely Ozark campground on the Buffalo River, making an easy hike right out the door. The Buffalo River trail crosses below the cabin for longer hikes. The cabins are tiny...we think it is just right for a couple with two dogs. It would be a bit close for more.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Webb City, Missouri
Level Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The view at all four of the cabins on this property was amazing. (we stayed in cabin #2) This was a family vacation so my wife, and two boys ages 8 and 9 were with me. The cabin was just like it was described on the Ozark Mountian Cabin Website. The kitchen was small but had everything that we needed to cook for an entire week (we provided the food of course!) Only one cabin has an oven, ours did not, but we knew that ahead of time and planned our menus accordingly. There was a toaster oven that worked perfectly for our "toasting" needs. The owner had farm fresh organic eggs in the fridge that can be purchased for $2 a dozen. They were delish! The kitchen already had coffee filters, salt and pepper, a crock pot, a microwave, a 4 bunner stove, and better pot and pan selection than I have at home! The website does make reference to a gas burning grill, but it was actually a very nice Weber charcoal grill with a propane ignitor. We knew that ahead of time and brought matchlight charcoal and enjoyed the grill very much. (the owners have bags of charcoal on the porch that can be purchased "on your honor" for a dollar a bag. There is also bags of wildlife feed in a tub on the front porch for 50 cents a bag, again "on your honor system". We bought two bags and watched three whitetail deer nibble on the corn that night from our front porch! Our front porch was not a porch swing but a stationary glider. It was awesome! From our porch we watched the most amazing sunsets, we watched deer every night, we watched the hummingbirds (about 10-15 at a time) swarm the feeders that the owners refill every day. We also saw a fox, a bobcat, and bats every night!
The cabin layout was great, open floorplan on the bottom floor (living room, kitchen, bathroom with a door, and bedroom with a door). The loft is very open too with a twin size bed and a double bed. The shower was large in size but the showerhead was very short. I am 5'6'' and I almost had to squat to rinse my hair...however we never ran out of hot water even after all 4 of us showered. The towels were VERY nice, the linens were nice. The beds in the loft had a nice overlay and were comfy. The queen size bed in the master was a little firm for my liking but it was not uncomfortable. My only complaint is that when the kids were playing upstairs it sounded like a herd of buffalo were up there! I guess that happens with a loft situation! The cabin is cooled with two AC window units. Our first day there one of the AC units went out and the owners (Kelly and Jeff) came right down after I called them and fixed the situation. They were super nice and easy to reach! The cabin also has a great fireplace for the winter months as well. We were very pleased with the cabin! Did I mention the view?!
Things to do: Drive to Boxley and see the wild elk. We watched a herd of 20 elk travel across the river bottom. You must eat at Ozark Cafe (in Jasper) and at the Cliff House Inn (about 8 miles south of Jasper on HWY 7). Both places were amazing!!! The swimming hole on the west side of Pruitt Landing is a great place to take the kids to swim. The swimming hole at Ozark one mile from this cabin is great too, but it has more sand to track back to the cabin! Be aware when you are booking at the Buffalo River that the upper river near Boxley and Ponca are completely dry during July and August. We would have been VERY dissappointed had we not known that when we were booking a place. There is a small laundry mat in Jasper behind the car wash, always nice to wash swimwear and go home with a suitcase full of clean laundry. Mystic Caverns is a great place to visit, Branson is only about one hour away. This cabin is most ideal in location, in price, in hospitality and in places to make memories. You will not regret booking this cabin!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KristinalynRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

No detail was overlooked.... A rarity these days. The cabin was as clean as a cabin can be, the kitchen fully stocked, the rooms were spacious and the place was so quiet! (other than the birds, frogs, other nature sounds that were abundant!) We spend most of our time on the back porch enjoying the view. We just knew that at any minute a deer would meander by. Some of the 'extras' were the hummingbird feeder, the bird feeder, the grill (with $1 bags of charcoal available), the wildlife food (pre packaged for $2 if you felt so inclined) and the dollar game. There are dollars stashed all over the cabin, with clues to find them in the book. We had a blast finding them all and then writing our own clues. We didn't even notice until we were leaving that there was no T.V. It was not missed!! We had our own live nature show on 24/7. I can't say enough good things about this place. It was perfect.

As for location, it's within a mile of the Buffalo National River, 30 minutes from the Buffalo Outdoor Center and 1 mile from the Grand Canyon of Arkansas. Beautiful area! We will definitely return.

Room Tip: All the cabins are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LostOnLandAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Our family of 4 (with 15- and 12-year-old) ended our N. Ark. vacation at O.M.C. and could not have been more pleased! The cabin (#4) was clean and so comfortable! And quiet! We were smack in the middle of the mountain forest with just the sound of the wind and creatures around us! We so enjoyed this cabin and the serenity it gave us at the end of the day (of hiking, etc.) And such beautiful sunsets! A real gem!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TexasTraveler707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

I can't wait for an opportunity to go back! My husband and I were looking for a place to relax and escape the world - this place is perfect!! The cabins are a good distance off the "paved" road and we experienced NO highway noise....in fact, no noise at all! We stayed in Cabin 2 and found it to be roomy and VERY clean. I'm not sure how the owners got the sheets to smell so good - I haven't been able to duplicate it @ home. The view was absolutely SPECTACULAR! There is a clearing in front of each cabin (4 cabins in all, I think). The cabins overlook the Buffalo National Forest, so you see nothing but nature. The cabins are spaced far enough apart for complete privacy, unless you want to run around outside naked! We got up early one morning and saw an entire flock of wild turkeys in the clearing. We also hiked down the nearby road and had a beautiful view of the Buffalo River (wish I had brought a picnic lunch!). While driving around nearby, we witnessed to bull Elk fighting in a field. The owners live up the hill on the same property, so if you have a problem, they are right there. In cooler months, you can have a REAL fire in the fireplace....so romantic! The owner put firewood on our porch every morning. There was a porch swing on the front porch - perfect for reading a book and watching the humming birds fly by. The only thing I would add would be to add a hot tub! We will be going back as soon as we can!!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank houstongal43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jasper
15.3 km away
Hotel Seville
Hotel Seville
#2 of 7 in Harrison
209 reviews
15.8 km away
Hampton Inn Harrison
Hampton Inn Harrison
#1 of 7 in Harrison
302 reviews
15.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Harrison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Family Budget Inn Harrison
Show Prices

Been to Ozark Mountain Cabins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ozark Mountain Cabins

Property: Ozark Mountain Cabins
Address: P. O. Box 509, Jasper, AR 72641
Region: United States > Arkansas > Jasper
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing