We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely and relaxing”
other traveller has booked this property
Relax in the tropical breezeway overlooking natural bush gardens with birds, wallabies and more.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in the tropical breezeway overlooking natural bush gardens with birds, wallabies and more.
Air conditioned queen bedroom oozing quaintness. Bright and breezy bathroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Relax in the tropical breezeway overlooking natural bush gardens with birds, wallabies and more.
Air conditioned queen bedroom oozing quaintness.
Bright and breezy bathroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mandorah, Top End, Northern Territory

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KMS1323
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This place was wonderful. A peaceful little place perfect for a quick getaway.

Half of our group rode our bikes and caught the ferry across the harbour, and met the rest of our group there who had driven around from Darwin.

The property was well equipped for our group of five, with everything we needed from linen to kitchen utensils.It was also very good value for money when sharing with a group of friends.

The outdoor living area is perfect for the tropic, the pool was great for an afternoon dip, and the proximity to the beach meant it was ideal for an evening walk to catch the sunset.

Chris and Sue were very accommodating and friendly. So too was the local wildlife, with wallabies, blue-winged kookaburras and a few frogs also paying us a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Set up of the house
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C
Darwin, Australia
1 review
“A real hidden gem and the ultimate getaway!”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My husband and I recently got married on the beach in Mandorah and upon looking for accommadation found that the Wagait Beach Bush Retreat was our only option.
We booked it as a place for the bridal party to get ready in and didn't actually intend on staying there.

Upon arrival we were instantly in awe of the property and really had not expected something so beautiful and unique.

The layout of the house is so welcoming and homely that you don't feel like you are in a stuffy hotel, but it is also simple enough that you don't feel there is any clutter or stress. There is everything you need to have a relaxing getaway.

The kitchen has all the basic appliances and crockery needed which are in good clean condition. Something that would have turned me off in this kind of environment would have been dirty or used crockery and cutlery but everything was perfect :) There is a gas oven and stove top, microwave, a clean fridge/ freezer and a beautiful breeze and view of the natural bush gardens out of the louvered windows while you are cooking/ preparing :)
The only thing I would suggest is if you are staying for a period of time to bring some disposable chinese containers for leftovers as there is no tuppaware to store in the fridge. All this is available from the shop if you aren't prepared though :)

On from the kitchen is the open deck/breezeway which was my favourite part of the house and where we spent most of our time! It has a sturdy hammock overlooking bushland, a big beautiful solid dining table, a day bed that folds out, a stereo and a tv. We spent most of our days lounging in the hammock or bed, reading books, watching tv, listening to the radio or even just the sounds of the surrounding nature. We had green tree frogs visiting us daily and even a beautiful Kookaburra coming in for scraps in the evening. It was so great to be able to relax without being cooped up indoors.

The bedrooms are simple and tidy. Made for a comfortable nights sleep. The aircons work well or if you want a natural breeze the louvered windows are big enough to open up and still get a cool nights sleep. I can honestly say that the bed in the main room is far more comfortable than my bed at home!

The bathroom is clean and tidy. The bath/shower has a big louvered window overlooking the pool and bush. Lovely if you are by yourself but if you are with friends then perhaps don't shower while others are swimming ;)

Outside of the bathroom is a small laundry and clothes line. Again, great for if you are staying for longer periods. Be sure to bring some laundry powder.

Outside features a decent sized plunge pool, bigger than your average spa. Deck chairs and a large wind up umbrella. Also a clean new bbq and outdoor table under the shady trees. Again, i would have shied away from the bbq if it was used/ dirty but it was perfect and simple.

We stayed there the night before our wedding with our 3 year old who had an absolute ball. We couldn't get her out of the pool all night. On the wedding night we offered it to some of our guests who also loved it.

Besides staying at the house we found plenty of other activities to do around Mandorah. We went for walks along the beach and explored the rockpools. We visited the nearby war plane crashsite. We went fishing on the jetty (Didn't catch anything :( but all the local fishos down there did and were lovely for a chat) We wen't to the local club for a night out. The lady in the kitchen cooks beautiful home cooked meals at a great price and if you go on darts night (Thursday) you will get to meet all the locals who are very friendly and more than happy to have a chat with the newby's :)
Chris and Sue are also the perfect hosts and you can find them at the shop almost any time to answer any questions while you are there, whether it be about the house or just to gain some local knowledge on things to do and places to see.

Leading up to our wedding we hadn't really organised a honeymoon. We were planning on just waiting until we got home and perhaps jump on a flight to Bali for a few days.
Instead we went home, dumped everything in the house, packed a bag and went back to Mandorah :D We booked in for 2 nights and once that time was up we booked ANOTHER night as we just couldn't bring ouselves to leave! It was the best decision ever! We plan on returning every year for our anniversary.

I will admit the price is maybe a bit high and had it not been our wedding we maybe wouldn't have spoilt ourselves that much. But I'm glad we did as we gave ourselves the chance to fall in love with the place and will have no doubts coming back in the future.

Do yourself a favour and forgo your 13th annual trip to Bali. Have a look in your own backyard, this place is Australia at it's best! Even catching the ferry over will give you that feeling that you have really travelled somewhere away from Darwin.

Thanks again Wagait Beach Bush Retreat, we'll see you soon :D

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying at Wagait Beach Bush Retreat. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyDarw...
Darwin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“peaceful and divine bush retreat”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014

If you are looking for a getaway to sit back, relax and enjoy the lovely bush surroundings this is the place! A ferry ride from Darwin or you can drive there (about an hour from outer Darwin) once you arrive it's time to chill out. Located near Mandorah, Wagait Beach is essentially a country town. If you drive over there are lovely beaches and scenery to enjoy. If you ferry over you will need to be transported to the retreat. There is a well equipped shop where you can pick up supplies and even get a cappuccino
Then it's time to relax, enjoy the pool and surrounds. We went with two couples and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you stay again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie R
NA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

There are a number of things at this property that need attention in order for me to be able to recommend anyone staying here or justify the price of $250 per night for a minimum 2 nights. They are as follows -

• The kitchen is old and is not big enough to have multiple people in using the minimal bench space provided
• The oven took twice as long to cook anything as well as not having any operating instructions
• The fridge door is mouldy
• The dining room chairs are too short for the table (and I'm tall)
• You cannot block off the lounge/dining from the elements so there are mosquitoes and termites galore, not to mention heat
• There are no railings on the deck so don't bring young children
• It's promoted as secluded but your neighbours are 20 metres away
• Only half of the outdoor BBQ works and has seen much better days
• Some of the walls are dirty and in need of painting
• There's no way of winding the matchstick blinds up in the main bedroom
• The main bedroom aircon remote batteries were jammed in the remote and dead and even when replaced the remote still didn't work
• The pool is much smaller than the size the website picture implies
• There are holes in most of the fly screens so even in rooms where you could close the doors to escape the bugs, you can't
• The walls are paper thin so you hear every noise anyone else in the house makes

Brutally honest but it's just not worth the money. Maybe with a spruce up but not until then.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. We are disappointed that Wagait Beach Bush Retreat didn’t meet your expectations.

You have raised a number of issues, some of which can be rectified fairly quickly and others that reflect your opinion.

Essentially our property is designed for a tropical lifestyle making the most of the shady trees, cool breezes and outdoor living. A popular element of our property is the breezeway that is the lounge/dining area. Most people tell us they like it because it is different and unique; it is open to nature adding to the property’s charm.

The property is a small house sleeping up to four adults in two bedrooms. The size of the kitchen is in keeping with this sized house. We feel that there is ample room for two adults to prepare meals at the same time in this space.

We have also had people compliment us on how accurately the photos represent the property. We have reviewed the photos on our website showing the pool and believe that they show the size fairly.

Other guests have commented to us on how quiet and secluded the property is too. The property is on 1 acre and all neighbouring properties, most of which are vacant blocks, are 1 acre; all of which enhances the feel of seclusion.

Thank you for pointing out that the BBQ was not working properly. One of the jets was blocked and we have rectified that. Plans are in place for replacing/repairing the screens and we will attend to the other issues you raised.

Thanks again for your review. We have taken a positive approach to your comments to ensure that our guests continue to be satisfied with their experience at Wagait Beach Bush Retreat. We have operated this holiday house for several years now and many of our guests are repeat customers, they are happy with what we have to offer and enjoy staying in our property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing