We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
239
30
13
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
239
30
13
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilderness safaris game viewing okavango delta leopards mating high expectations wild dogs once in a lifetime helicopter ride walked right every meal red lechwe doc buffalo lion accommodations wildlife reputation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2019

We stayed 3 days at Little Mombo in February. It is as advertised, simply fantastic. The rooms, if you can call them rooms, more like 5-star luxury suites, are as nice as the best hotels in New York, London, Paris and elsewhere. The food is comparable to fine Michelin rated restaurants. The staff goes out of its way to make you feel comfortable and at home. Our tour guide, Ike, was fun, friendly, knowledgable, informative and a good tracker. To my wife's horror, we saw a kill, wild dogs took down an impala, from a vantage point of about 30 feet, close enough to hear and smell it. Not recommended for the faint of heart. Ike kept placing our Land Rover in the path of oncoming Lions, Leopards and Rhinos so we could get a better view and they were forced to walk around us. It was a little frightening at first but seeing these animals from 6-12 feet away is pretty awesome after you get over your initial fright.

If you only do one safari camp this is the place.

Room tip: Not necessary as all the rooms are spectacular.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brewster2456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

Dear brewster2456,

Thank you for your wonderful review we are delighted to see how much you both enjoyed your stay with us as well as the fabulous sighting you enjoyed of the amazing wild dogs. We will be sure to share your kind words with Ike and all the great staff in camp.

Bush regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2019

We visited Little Mombo in December 2018. It was our third camp and our favorite for many reasons. Little Mombo is a private section of the Mombo Camp, with only three rooms, yet you have access to all that Mombo offers, if you need more. Many reviews on the site provide much detail that I don't need to repeat - they are all true.
I will just simply say that accommodations were luxury in the wild. Food was delicious, appetizing, beautifully presented, and every meal offered many options. The staff was engaged with us and there to be sure everything was perfect. Such a warm, caring group. It was the game drives that made this camp so amazing. We saw every animal on the drives here that we saw in the other two camps, plus many more, including both a white rhino and a black rhino. We saw the big 5, many more than once during our 3-day stay. We loved the time the guide (Ndabe) gave us to observe the animals and take plenty of photos. If you have limited time (our trip was 8 days in the bush), I would suggest this camp for that reason. Our travel agent made the right choice in booking us with Wilderness Safaris. They have their act together. Everything is so well planned, including the bush flights between camps. And they hire the right people to run and work in their camps, and train them superbly. I am a traveler that prefers to visit new destinations instead of repeating one, but this one is so special, you might want to make an exception!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank FLGirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2019

Dear FLGirl47,

We are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your journey with all of us at Wilderness Safaris - especially how lucky you were to see so many rhinos. A survey in 1992 showed only 19 white rhino in Botswana, while black rhino was classified as locally extinct. Since Wilderness Safaris reintroduction of black rhino in 2002 we are proud to report great success with this project - you can follow the history and future projections of these efforts on the Wilderness Trust website.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

Mombo was the last camp we visited and by far the best. The rides were amazing and the facilities first class. The private suites are beautiful and bugs are pretty well contained compared to other camps. The camp was recently totally redone and it’s like a paradise in the middle of the Delta with amazing bio diversity. The management and staff are all helpful and no matter who you ask they will do their best to fulfill any need you might have. Food is amazing.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Dear A N,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your journey with us at the "Place of Plenty". We will be sure to share your kind words with all the staff in camp and hope you will visit us again soon.

Bush regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2018

Mombo, the Place of Plenty. The name is certainly apt as there is plenty game, luxury and food.

We travelled to Mombo Trails last year while the new camp was being built and had an extraordinarily good time, despite the temporary camp being a 'rustic' experience, compared to the new Mombo; so were very keen to come back and experience the new camp during our 4 day visit.

Our game viewing was off the charts. We saw: 2 male lions fighting over the rights to a red lechwe they had killed earlier on in the day, spent some quality time with a young leopard who was rested in a tree with perfect light for taking pictures who then came down the tree and attempted to kill a squirrel, a herd of a 1000+ cape buffaloes who went barrelling off around us, spooked by the presence of lions earlier, a pride of 10 lions killing a warthog and our best game viewing to date; the leopard cub of the legendary late Pula, now a year old, sprinting after some warthog piglets in the company of their mother, only for the mother to pull up, allowing the leopard to pass and then proceeded to chase the leopard up a tree and protect her offspring. General game viewing was great too with large herds of red lechwe, impala, giraffe, baboons. One of the great things as that all the sightings, we were usually the only car at the sighting and hardly saw anyone else whilst on game drives, which really lives up to the wilderness experience. None of our game viewing would have been possible were it not for our guide OB, who was excellent.

We stayed at Little Mombo and loved the intimacy of the smaller camp. The camp is exquisite and has a great deck where meals are served under the shade of large trees with entertainment provided by the resident squirrels and varied birds going about their business. The dining and lounge areas are beautifully furnished and there is always a staff member to attend to your every need. All the staff that looked after us were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. Peter, Faith, Pelo, Arone and Setshaba, truly contributed to our Wow experience.

The food was fantastic with lots of choices for all meals. On leaving we were presented with the menus of the meals we had enjoyed over our visit. The wine and drink choices were equally varied, with 10+ gins to try out during our stay, the quintessential bush experience drink of choice.

Our room was beautifully appointed with everything you could ever want or need. We have never stayed in such a luxurious room ever and certainly sets a new benchmark in luxury and all of this in the middle of a wilderness. We enjoyed the plunge pool in the afternoon, which was a good way to keep cool during the warmest part of the day. If there were a negative, it could be argued that it is too much luxury for those looking for a bush experience, however it does contribute to the overall experience when matched up the game viewing, service and dining.

Overall, a wonderful trip and a big thank you to everyone at Little Mombo who made both our stay and visit so truly memorable.

Date of stay: December 2018
1  Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2018

Thank you Murray for your amazing review, we are truly delighted you came back to see the new Little Mombo, and thrilled to see that your experience this time round was just as spectacular. Mombo really is the place of plenty - whether it is the gme viewing, food, service or even just memories there is plenty of everything to endulge in.

Till your next visit.
Widerness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2018

Mombo Camp is by far the best safari Camp I have ever seen. The wildlife is abundant. We saw the big five in 2 days. Our guide was incredible. The food was delicious prepared by a South African chef. Our room was magnificent. It was an incredible experience that I will never forget.

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2018

Dear Anne,

Thakn you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and glad to see you had so many great sightings. Long known as “the Place of Plenty,” Mombo boasts enormous concentrations of plains game and predators and is considered to be one of the best areas for game viewing in Africa.

Bush regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews