We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Having just returned from our second stay at Mombo and our 4th Southern African safari I have to say Mombo is the best there is.
Mombo is located on Chiefs Island in the Okavanga where wildlife is plentiful - had great sightings of leopard, lion, elephants, the last remaing wild dog and hundreds of zebra, giraffe, impala etc.
The camp whilst traditional in style offers every luxury (even hair dryers!), the staff are very welcoming and professional, the food amazing considering the remore location. and the guides are excellent both knowledgeable and entertaining. Special mention has to be made of Malinga who has guided on both our stays particularly when he showed us the daughter of a leopard we saw 4 years ago.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucyleopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 196 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2009

Little Mombo was the last stop on our recent safari/diving trip to Southern Africa. On arrival from Kings Pool Camp to Little Mombo, we were greeted by several warthogs beside the runway. From that point on the Mombo experience was in many ways overwhelming. Absolutely nothing was too much for Nat, the Little Mombo manager to arrange. Aside from seeing more wildlife than in any zoo on the planet, the camp was amazing. Our luxury tent was huge, with a well stocked selection of our favorite drinks. We had room 2 which was extremely private and had an amazing deck looking out across the plains. The service was outstanding, from the incredible guides to the housekeeping staff. I can't comment enough on Nat, she really did deliver an exceptional experience for us. We were engaged at Little Mombo and Nat did everything to make the proposal evening special. I could write so much about Mombo, but the bottom line is, if you want an incredibly serene and surreal safari experience, I doubt anywhere could beat this part of the Okavango delta. It is simply an experience of a lifetime. Impeccable service, so much wildlife and a location from a childrens story book. Memories from Little Mombo will be priceless!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude_Vone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We stayed at several camps - all of them excellent but none of them in Botswana had this kind of viewing and isn't that what you are going for? The food and accommodations are certainly as good as any other but the viewing is continuous! We even had a large bull elephant right outside our tent!

The guides are also top notch. I watched our guide zoom right to a leopard just waking up in the morning by nothing more than a few birds chirping!

Not crtical but nice - the gift shop was the best of the group.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuccessJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

We decided, as a one-off experience, to go on a wldlife safari. The options were many, but Mombo Camp seemed to virtually guarantee we would see the 'Big Five' and much more. We were less sure that this would be the case at other locations, having heard from others who had been disappointed in South Africa. We gulped at the price, but decided to make the 'investment'.

The small plane from Maun landed at two other camps before Mombo. We did not see any wildlife from the air on the approach to either of these camps. However, when we started our descent into Mombo, we saw herds of buffalos, giraffes and impalas on either side. We were very encouraged, but what followed during the next 48 hours was way beyond our wildest dreams.

We were driven in a Land Rover to the camp itself. There were nine suites built on stilts, with suspended connecting walkways to the shop, bar, restaurant and swimming pool. Our room consisted of a large comfortable bed (mosquito netting all around with overhead fan), a comfortable living area, 2 showers inside, 1 shower outside (only visible by the animals!), twin wash basins, a mini bar stocked with goodies and a large balcony that stretched the full length of the suite offering stunning views of visiting wildlife.

Having provided an excellent lunch, we were ready for our first safari. The guides are so expert in their knowledge, following paw prints on the ground, listening to the 'warning sounds' from monkeys and birds, that in no time we had stopped a metre from a leopard drinking water from a pothole in the trail. We saw 4 of the 'Big Five' in the first hour together with giraffes, elephants and even a cheetah, to name just a few!

We went on 4 separate safaris during our 48 hour stay. Each one consisted of a sequel to the previous one. "let's find out where that pride of lions have moved to" the guide would say. Whatever we wanted to see, the guide would find them, whether it was crocodiles, hippos, baboons, wilderbeest and others, and finally the one missing from the 'Big Five', the Rhinos, on the last day. There were times when the vehicle turned into thick bush, and you thought 'he can't possibly drive through there', but he did. They had tried Toyota Land Cruisers a few years back, but found they weren't up to the job, so returned to Land Rovers, which were incredible, passing effortlessly even through water a metre deep!

The food was good, the wines were higher end South African and the bar offered everything from sparkling water to Remy Martin VSOP cognac. All included in the rate.

Although we had been told that February was not the best month for this area, we saw nothing but clear sunny skies during the day, and moonlight at night.

We really could not fault Mombo Camp. By arriving and leaving at lunchtime, two nights was sufficient to enjoy 4 safaris. It really is an investment well worth making!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brockles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

When on safari in Africa, there is Mombo, and then there are all the rest. The difference in the game viewing between Mombo and the other camps is just not something that can be ignored; if you want to see animals in abundance, this is the place. We booked 18 months in advance, spent ghastly amounts of money, had a rigorous day of flying just to get there, and loved every minute. Lizzy and Jeremy make you feel like you are their most important guest ever, and sitting around the campfire at night has a special feel that was just lacking at the other camps. We had riotous fun even though we got attacked by Stompy the Elephant and got dust in our eyes and mosquito bites on our legs out in the rugged wilds of Botswana. This is the place to see the Delta in action, and the experiences we had here in game viewing were just not duplicated anywhere else. The food, the drink, the warm welcome you receive . . . just take a deep breath and spend your money . . . Mombo is worth every penny.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelgirl4Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moremi Game Reserve hotels
15.3 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#2 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
231 reviews
65.3 km away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#3 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
287 reviews
59.9 km away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.1 km away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
80 reviews
106.0 km away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#14 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
46 reviews
0.0 km away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#25 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp

Address: Mombo Island, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range: ₹ 55,545 - ₹ 3,09,231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nostalgic look back at our roots as safari pioneers in Botswana, Mombo Trails Camp is a light-footprint tented camp that has been specially erected to provide accommodation during the rebuild of Mombo and Little Mombo camps. As such, there are no permanent structures, but all the luxury and comforts of a Mombo experience, along with Mombo’s world-famous spectacular game viewing on offer. Eight elegantly furnished and spacious guest tents with en-suite facilities are situated on slightly raised decks to minimise impact on the site, all under large, shady trees, and often within sight of a variety of the area’s wildlife. Set under towering jackalberry trees, the dining, bar and lounge area offers beautiful views over the floodplain. Delicious meals are enjoyed here or under the stars, while veteran Mombo guests, guides and staff gather around the campfire to relive the history of one of our longest-running camps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mombo Camp Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing