We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
4
16
16
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
16
16
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2015

This place is great! $5 per night for a private room with private bathroom and two beds!!!

There is no airconditioning, but there is zero need for that, so dont let that put you off. The kitchen has some big burners and plenty of pots and pans. All it's lacking is cutlery... but really, you can get a huge and delicious meal at a nearby restaurant for $1.25, so there's no much of a need to cook anyway!

What I really like about the place is the small area out the back. There's a table outside overlooking to the forest, so it's a great place to get all my work done. You can live comfortably on $10/day here, so it's a great place to stay if you have some work to do.

The place includes internet too. It's pleasantly fast, but drops out sometimes, but generally only for a few seconds.

It is FOR SURE the best value place i've stayed in my life. I dont know what the negative comments are for! My only bit I dont like is that the rooms dont have windows. This means I often wake bleary-eyed as it's the morning noise to wake you, not sunlight.

This seems to be the go-to place for backpackers to come too, so you will have a greater chance of meeting other people here... though it still is very quiet. Either way, I highly recommend this place!!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the bottom floor. Upstairs can get uncomfortable hot during the day
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aussie_Dayve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

I've been here twice. The hostel itself is a nice place, always full of guests. Bedrooms are large and confortable. Staff is polite and helpful. The walls are full of folders with all the informations you need to travel along the Gran Sabana and to the Mount Roraima. It's a 5minute-walk to the main square of Santa Elena. They also have a phone-service, and travel agents usually go to the hotel to talk with guests, on the common areas, about the tours. Common areas, specially at night, are not so clean. There's no luxury, it's a simple establishment, but all you need here. And the price is very good. At summers and near the catholic Holy week, it's good to book in advance, because venezuelans love this hotel too.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank GuiTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

It's a cheap hostel with no airconditiong. The bed are just average. The kitchen is almost non-existing and I thought it was a joke at first.
But it's cheap, very cheap.
However what made the stay well worth it was one employee and her name is Yelitza. She sometimes has her two boys with her at the hostel and they are adorable. She was friendly and helpful beyond normal courtesy
Would recommend if going to Santa Elena and travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berglind V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A friend and I stayed here for 4 nights in total and had nothing to complain about. staff are friendly and very helpful. Rooms were spacious, with a fan and decent enough shower. good location, close to the centre of town. We arranged our trek to Roraima with Francisco Alvarez, whom we met at the hostel (he had also been recommended to us by a number of people we met) and this turned out to be excellent.

Good hostel for meeting people, even though we were there outside of peak season. Price for a double was 360bvf at time of stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dougie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Posada Michelle is a nice hotel. The hotel is airy and plain with a lot of travel posters on the walls. Our room was spacious and clean but didn't have a window to the outside, only to an inside corridor. The shower worked. The room had a fan but no a/c. The desk people were friendly. The location is convenient. Posada Michelle was so much better than the first hotel we looked at in Santa Elena de Uairen. It's a good value for the low price. It's also a good place to connect with other travelers or with local travel agents to help plan additional travel in Venezuela.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews