We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Trip!”
Review of Beqa Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beqa Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beqa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay was absolutely fantastic.I would definitely recommend this place to others.

I'll try to cover some of the details I had questions about when exploring places to stay in Fiji. Sorry for the length, but feel free to stop at the summary if you don't want a deep dive :)

Summary:
It is serene, peaceful and so beautiful. The staff are incredibly kind. There's a lot to do (or not do) even if you aren't a diver (we aren't). We had a great time snorkeling the house reef as well as exploring nearby "secret island" sandbar and nearby Yanuca island which had fantastic corals and sea life. We went during the rainy season, but over ten days only experienced some overnight rain and a couple of short sprinkling showers in the afternoon. The AC is a nice luxury on a hot night.
I would definitely recommend this place and would go back in a heartbeat. Vinaka Beqa Lagoon staff!

Room details:
We stayed in one of the Oceanfront Bures. It was clean and we had everything we needed. The plunge pool was nice to cool off or clean off from the salt water or requisite sunscreen and bug spray.There were two beds in the room, so I imagine a small family could be comfortable. It was laid out mostly like a studio. Small fridge to keep bottles cool. It was also nice to have the chairs and such on the patio, however, we tended to sit in the chairs or cabanas near the pool/main part of the beach because we got more of the cross breeze there. But it was overall quiet and peaceful as others were there to rest and relax and many were out on dive trips for a large part of the day.

Food:
I enjoyed the food. I'll describe the process and variety, but it's possible they change over time so keep that in mind. Breakfast was a buffet, it had a mix of fruit, muffins or donuts, and then hot foods like eggs, pancakes, ham, and sausage. They'll also cook an omelet or do poached eggs on request. Breakfast was available between 6:30 and 9/9:30 to accommodate schedules for the divers and those wanting to sleep in. For lunch and dinner, we got a menu with breakfast and selected from three options for lunch and three options for dinner. There was usually a fish/seafood option, a meat option, and a vegetarian option. The styles of food represented a variety of cultures around the world and there was also a night with the Lovo buffet and a night with an Indian buffet. I'm slightly picky about food because I don't eat seafood. I never sent over any dietary requests or restrictions and I never had an issue finding something tasty. Lunch was around 1 and dinner around 7. They "call" everyone to dinner with drums.

Activities:
As mentioned, we aren't divers. We just wanted a nice relaxing getaway. We were there for 10 days and always had plenty to do if we wanted. The excursion to the ridge reef was fun because the guide showed us all sorts of things we wouldn't have seen or understood on our own. The "Secret Island" trip was a lot of fun. You go out at low tide so the white sandbar is above the water line. We got great advice about snorkeling and they even took us directly to a spot, saving us some extra swimming time since we had limited time due to the tides. That was the first place we got to see black-tipped reef sharks. A little closer to the sandbar, the water was so clear. Definitely picture perfect. The best snorkeling we encountered was off of Yanuca island at the site of an old surf camp. The dive master gave us the tip to go on that excursion because some of their top 5 dive sites were around that area. So glad we did, we saw so much colorful coral and a great array of sea life. We also saw more reef sharks. When not out on excursions, we enjoyed the daily activities, the free use of the SUPs/Kayaks, and enjoyed the village tour (don't forget some cash that day since you'll be used to not having it on you at the resort since everything is billed to your room) but you can get some nice handmade crafts from the local villagers.

Weather:
We were a little worried about the risk of going during the rainy season, but we didn't have any issues. As mentioned there were a couple nights where we heard the wind and storm overnight, but only two times we got a light sprinkle during the day. Maybe we just got lucky, but it certainly seems possible to have some nice clear days. It was pretty warm and quite humid, but that's a given in a tropical climate.

Mosquitos:
This was a big fear of mine because they seem to love me and I get huge welts when bit. While I did come home with a few bites (but no welts!), as long as I used bug spray before lunch and dinner they didn't really bother me. After rainy nights, I needed some spray at breakfast, but most mornings it wasn't necessary. My travel size spray ran out early, but there were always cans available in the main meeting area so I was always covered.

Staff:
Very friendly and fun. You're greeted with a warm and exuberant "Bula" by everyone you meet.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the ocean-front Bures
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rflamielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy C, Support Services - USA Reservations at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! Fantastic descriptions on the activities and resort itself... you really did a great job! :-)
We hope to see you again in the future.

Vinaka vaka levu from all of us @ Beqa Lagoon Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2018

We had picked Beqa as it was one of the few island resorts available last minute over the New Year holidays. You do have to book a boat transfer and meal plan directly with the resort. They have a US-based office which does make things easier :)
The staff is very friendly, and takes the time to get to know your name and preferences.
The resort has a beach lined with palm trees, and the pool faces the ocean as well. The grounds are very well maintained, and on a clear night you can see the night sky in great detail.
The resort is very popular with divers, and even though we are not divers, we had a great time snorkeling in the house reef (which is fantastic). The resort has a small charge for renting snorkel equipment, but kayaks and paddle boards are free.
The dining/bar area is open on 2 sides, and has assigned seating for each day - on the second day we requested the small table at the front, and were moved to it the following day. The meal plan is $50 USD per person daily - breakfast was a standard buffet, but the lunch (1 course) and dinner (3 courses) were both excellent. The bar has filtered water, tea & coffee available throughout the day.
The room was very large, with a good size bathroom, and separate seating area. The housekeeping is sporadic, so you have to ask for the room to be made up.
The spa is pretty good, and the resort boutique sells Pure Fiji products :)
There are several daily activities planned (available for free and for an extra charge). The snorkeling trip is nice, but the Secret Island trip is absolutely amazing!
Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fafa-Ahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy C, Support Services - USA Reservations Office at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! It's always nice to hear how vacations went that were booked. Glad you had a terrific stay :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Bula! Heartfelt and with warm smiles that meet the eyes great your arrival to the magical Beqa Lagoon Resort and those smiles will affect and infect your entire stay! The mainland of Vita Levu melts into the horizon as you approach the resort and then remains a distant counterpoint to the spectacular sunsets viewed straight off the main beach front. Snorkel right from the beach in perfect clear lagoon waters and enjoy a huge variety of marine life - we lucked out with a visit from an inquisitive reef shark, saw an enormous Eagle Ray and highlight of the trip: swam for about 30 minutes alongside a giant sea turtle!!
Beqa Lagoon is in the midst of catch-up and upgrades under the very capable and friendly hands of new manager Wayne - don't worry, this doesn't mean the site is a construction zone! It is all happening seamlessly and in the background - and in about 8 months everything should be top notch.
The bure rooms at Beqa are spacious, clean and well appointed with very comfortable beds and good linens & towels. Service is daily or if you are environmentally conscious to suit your requirements. The water is fresh, clear and delicious from the tap but if you are concerned there is plenty of filtered chilled water in the dining bure. Hot water is by individual solar panels on the roof and a bit of fine tuning is underway to improve pressure flows - but be honest, a cool or cold shower is preferable in the tropical heat! Our bure was the beachfront version - definitely worth the small extra cost to enjoy a large private deck and yard, a personal plunge pool and uninterrupted sea views... comfortable loungers and a big covered day-bed on the deck made it hard to leave the private comforts but you should spend a day or two around the pool! A family friendly walk in pool with infinity edge to the seaward side with plenty of comfortable furniture and options for shading. Perfect to cool off and right next to the main dining bure and bar so a cheeky cocktail in or by the pool is always available.
It used to be said one didn't go to Fiji for the food... well that is put to rest at Beqa Lagoon where chef LaLa and team delivered time and again superb lunches and dinners - variety, selection of fresh fish, presentation and of course flavour was top notch and all dietary needs were catered for without issue. Breakfast buffet by comparison seemed lacklustre - staples of eggs, beans, fried tomato, bacon/sausage or pancake/french toast with rotations of fresh fruits and occasional hot baked bread - but only because the other meal standards bar is set so high. The indulgent donuts and muffins at breakfast were hard to avoid. Meals are accompanied by a healthy selection of bar offerings including a reasonable wine list (a bit pricey, but understandable given the tyranny of distance & import duty!) The cocktails are heavenly and sunsets were more vibrant when accompanied by any one of the delicious concoctions (and standards) prepared by Zac and the bar team.
All in, accommodation food and location alone make this a great choice for a couple's romantic getaway (our case) or an action packed family vacation - daily activities are on offer to explore beyond the resort including a hike to a nearby waterfall and swimming hole. People raved about the 'Secret Island' snorkel trip and Beqa's best attraction can't go without mention: the shark dive! While we were too timid (and not divers) the other diver-guests raved about the sensational experience. All these factors alone highly recommend this property but Beqa Lagoon also has the elusive X-factor (albeit no self-important celebrity musos in site): the staff!
Some 120 local villagers work at Beqa Lagoon and what a happy, professional and friendly lot they proved to be. From the initial welcome to the final parting, the smiles and can-do attitude prevailed. Here's a tip: try to learn the names of the many people who will make your stay amazing because without fail, everybody learns, remembers and addresses you by name throughout your stay.
We returned to our reality completely recharged, exhilarated by our snorkelling experiences and with a few excess holiday kilos owing to the excellent food and drink - thank you Beqa Lagoon!!

Room Tip: Stump up for the beach-front bure — absolutely worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy C, Support Services - USA Reservations Office at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

You are very welcome... we always strive to add to our growing Beqa family... you come as guests and leave as family. :-) Hope to see you again in the future... vinaka vaka levu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We spent 10 glorious days at Beqa Lagoon where our expectations were exceeded in all respects. The beaches, pool, and surrounding gardens were spectacular, and the food, spa, and accommodations were absolutely superb. But it was the welcoming, enthusiastic, gay-friendly staff who truly made our time at Beqa unforgettable. A huge THANK YOU in particular to Filo for her unwavering graciousness and for checking in daily with each guest to ensure everyone was having the greatest travel experience possible.

There is so much to do in and around the property! Of course the scuba diving, snorkeling, and very popular shark dive were all first class. Our kayaking excursion through the mangroves was an unexpected highlight, so this is a must-see for everyone. We also thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the local village, its school, the hike into the jungle to check out a waterfall, fire walking displays, and various demonstrations about the Fijian way of life.

We were especially pleased that Beqa Lagoon has partnered with Pacific Blue Foundation to promote reef conservation in the area. The resort offered an information seminar for guests to learn about the local environment, steps to protect it, ongoing studies that are being conducted, and ways for guests to make donations to support their work. The biodiversity in Fijian waters should be coveted as a true aquatic treasure, and we were so impressed that Beqa has established this program in partnership with local villages.

So our best wishes to everyone at Beqa Lagoon Resort for great success in the future and a flourishing, healthy reef!

Vinaka vaka levu and sota tale!

Jason & Shawn

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonChabot-Author
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy C, USA Support Services at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you for your review... Vinaka vaka levu! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Honestly best place we could have stayed in. The general manager and staff are all fantastic. They teuly care about you and never have any issues with anything. Everything is done with a smile and friendly greetings at all times. Any requirement you have is done and there are never any issues. Food is fantastic and so much is on the plate. Heaps of activities to do and you can truly have the holiday you choose whether its relaxing by the pool or exploring Fiji. We had a great time and definitely returning soon.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Corinnepacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy C, Support Services - USA Reservations Office at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! Glad you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you again in the future... vinaka vaka levu! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beqa Island
14.5 km away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
1,030 reviews
14.8 km away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
679 reviews
14.6 km away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37 km away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#7 of 10 in Sigatoka
511 reviews
6.6 km away
Royal Davui Island Resort
Royal Davui Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Royal Davui Island
510 reviews
24.4 km away
Waidroka Bay Resort
Waidroka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Korovisilou
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beqa Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beqa Lagoon Resort

Address: Box 112, Deuba, Beqa Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Beqa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beqa Island
Price Range: ₹ 7,966 - ₹ 20,596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beqa Lagoon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Fiji Islands is the secluded island paradise – Beqa Lagoon Resort. Set amidst the lush, tropical gardens are 25 deluxe air-conditioned Fijian style villas with private plunge pools, exotic koi ponds and beautiful ocean views. Our onsite PADI operation will reveal the amazing underwater world of the calm and pristine lagoon to you. Over 100 dive sites just a short boat ride away including walls, wrecks and the thrilling SHARK and BIG FISH encounter…plus enjoy unlimited shore diving just steps off the beachfront. Fun afternoons include deep sea fishing, surfing, kayaking and hiking to the mystical waterfalls. Relax at our new Full Service beachfront LALI SPA or lounge around our luxurious infinity pool or in a nearby hammock. Enjoy gourmet dining in our open air Bure Kalou and the friendly Fijian hospitality of our Beqa Staff. You’ll witness authentic Fijian culture with Firewalking, Meke ceremonies and much, much more. Come FEEL THE WARMTH OF BEQA!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beqa Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beqa Lagoon Hotel Beqa Island
Beqa Island Lagoon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing