We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
358
143
49
23
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
143
49
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beqa lagoon dive staff filo beachfront bure shark dive non divers plunge pool lunch and dinner dive shop koi pond fish bull sharks night dive unlimited shore diving fire walkers small boat soft corals
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We spent 10 glorious days at Beqa Lagoon where our expectations were exceeded in all respects. The beaches, pool, and surrounding gardens were spectacular, and the food, spa, and accommodations were absolutely superb. But it was the welcoming, enthusiastic, gay-friendly staff who truly made our time at Beqa unforgettable. A huge THANK YOU in particular to Filo for her unwavering graciousness and for checking in daily with each guest to ensure everyone was having the greatest travel experience possible.

There is so much to do in and around the property! Of course the scuba diving, snorkeling, and very popular shark dive were all first class. Our kayaking excursion through the mangroves was an unexpected highlight, so this is a must-see for everyone. We also thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the local village, its school, the hike into the jungle to check out a waterfall, fire walking displays, and various demonstrations about the Fijian way of life.

We were especially pleased that Beqa Lagoon has partnered with Pacific Blue Foundation to promote reef conservation in the area. The resort offered an information seminar for guests to learn about the local environment, steps to protect it, ongoing studies that are being conducted, and ways for guests to make donations to support their work. The biodiversity in Fijian waters should be coveted as a true aquatic treasure, and we were so impressed that Beqa has established this program in partnership with local villages.

So our best wishes to everyone at Beqa Lagoon Resort for great success in the future and a flourishing, healthy reef!

Vinaka vaka levu and sota tale!

Jason & Shawn

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonChabot-Author
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy C, USA Support Services at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you for your review... Vinaka vaka levu! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Honestly best place we could have stayed in. The general manager and staff are all fantastic. They teuly care about you and never have any issues with anything. Everything is done with a smile and friendly greetings at all times. Any requirement you have is done and there are never any issues. Food is fantastic and so much is on the plate. Heaps of activities to do and you can truly have the holiday you choose whether its relaxing by the pool or exploring Fiji. We had a great time and definitely returning soon.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Corinnepacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy C, Support Services - USA Reservations Office at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you for your review! Glad you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you again in the future... vinaka vaka levu! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Room was fantastic, spacious ,clean and comfortable.
Food was great, every dish was well presented ,good size portions and very tasty.
The diving is some of the best , highly recommend Goldenarch, Fantasy reefs and of course cathedral where the shark dive takes place.The 4+ meter Tiger Shark would have been enough to make the trip worth its weight in gold. amazing experience.
Getting to know other guests and staff over the week was really cool ,everybody was up for a chat which created a really warm fun atmosphere.
The staff were amazing ,very approachable and helpful and they all seemed to know all the guests by name it was pretty impressive.

highly recommend.

Room Tip: Bures 1,2,3 are on the nicest part of beach
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne A, General Manager at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Bula Alex ...

Great to hear from you.

Thanks for the comments and compliments, and taking time to write on TripAdvisor.

We have 10 top sites plus the shark dive... which is special, all have varying degrees of attractions .. its pretty hard to get to them all in a week though...

We also have adventures, waterfalls, kayaking the mangroves, village tours, Snorkelling at several prime spots around the reef, Firewalkers, Fire dancers.. even shopping trips to Suva ... If its rest and relaxation.. daily trips to the Lali Spa will do the trick, very important after a days dive as well.

Sorry Alex if you missed most of the above .. but hey Diving is pretty darn good.

Once again thank you for staying with us and your compliments ...

A big Vinaka Vakalevu to you all from team Beqa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

Great resort and awesome diving but the best part was the staff. They try so hard and are so sincere! Filo spends her entire day making sure you are happy. Rupeni, Ruca and Zac behind bar ensured you were happy! The dive guides led by the amazing Koli made us feel very safe ... Especially on the world famous shark feeding dives. This resort gave us a vacation and memories of a lifetime! Bula!!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne A, Guest Relations Manager at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Bula Vinaka Randall

Great memories are hard to find if you have great expectations before you arrive...

The Beqa team are key to the resort ... but you also all took advantage of the wide variety of other adventures you can have on the island along with your dive experience.

Many thanks for enjoying the resort, the activities and of course our team.

We hope we have the opportunity to see you all again soon....

A big Vanaka vakalevu to you all from all of team Beqa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Overall we really enjoyed staying at this resort. We did have a few issues. First, our airport pick up and transport to Pacific Harbour was not ideal. They had our pick up time listed for 30 minutes after we were actually supposed to get in, and this could have been the fault of our travel agent. However, when we called, we were told several different thing (the driver is on the way, the driver is there, etc) and it was confusing to know where our driver was and when we would picked up. We also didn't know that the boat was specifically for us (also probably the fault of our travel agent) so we had no idea if they would wait which made the lateness of our ride concerning. Ultimately the taxi was about 45 minutes late getting us. After that, it was smooth-ish.

When we arrived at the Pearl Hotel (where the boat takes off from) no one could tell us if the boat was there, coming, etc. Also a little confusing/unclear. Then when "the boys" showed up, all the said was "Beqa?" and when we confirmed this they took our stuff to the boat. No introduction, explanation about the ride, or anything.

The arrival at the resort was much better, but be prepared to get wet (this is standard). Had to wade in ankle-deep water to get to the beach/resort, which we actually were aware of. We got a VERY nice welcome and introduction to the resort.

Our other main issues were that we felt that there was a lot of disconnect between the management and the rest of the staff. We would be told one thing by Wayne or Storm and then the rest of the staff didn't seem to know what the heck we were talking about. For example, Storm told us that before we got off the boat each day we would be asked about our dive preferences for the next day, like if we wanted 3 dives, a night dive, etc. This did not happen. We really would have preferred to do 3 dives on most days, but this didn't really seem like an option. We had to go through quite a bit to get 3 dives on one day. And we really wanted to go to the top sites (Sidestreets, Seafan, etc) out by the island, but only got to do that one day. Unclear if this was because of weather?

Wayne and storm were really great and tried to get us what we wanted, but we had a really rocky start and felt that this may have reflected on us for the remainder of our stay. We also arrived when there were two very large groups, and it seemed at that time like they were catering WAY more to the groups than the individual patrons.

We also felt like the dining seating situation was weird. We were sort of assigned a table and told that this table would be where we were dining for the remainder of our stay. Didn't seem like we had much choice in this matter. We did ultimately figure out that we could request a front table which we did and this was much better.

We also had cold water about half the time that we took showers. We finally did tell the manager (Wayne) about this who stated that he would have moved us had he known.

Also felt that the dive staff were a little difficult to gauge. The first day we missed half our briefing because we didn't know it was happening - he just started talking to the other group on our boat (we were the only two that were not part of this large group) and like halfway through we figured out that this was dive briefing. We kept being told that not being assertive is a Fijian trait, and while this might be true, for everyones safety we needed to hear the briefing! This was improved in the days to come.

Overall, despite the above issues, we did enjoy our stay here, and especially enjoyed the majority of the staff. Wayne, Storm, Kinnie, Tom, Sai, Bulo, all really stood out, but there were so many other staff members that were really great and helpful.

The food was especially good! One issue here is that we didn't realize that breakfast included some things that could be ordered from the kitchen. Finally figured this out the last day. But we really enjoyed the Fijian and Indian buffets especially. And our one lunch we had on the boat was great!

Room Tip: We had bure 9, a beachside bure. Not on the main beach but still nice. Spacious. Cold water though.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne A, General Manager at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Bula Brenna....

WOW !!! Great comments.

Yes it is fair to say we sometimes have communication problems and it looks like you both were the victim of all the communication issues a resort can offer... Transfers, diving, miss briefings, plumbing, seating arrangements, dive choices ... I am so glad we were able to help fix some of the issues as your holiday progressed.

We are in the process of re writing the house compendium... and have made sure absolutely everything you need to know about Beqa .... but didn't ask .... is in it...

Transportation is either handled by our bus or a hired one ... unfortunately I'm sure the hired one was late. Occasionally our team sends out correct information to our driver but not to the hire company we sometimes use.. yes we can muck it up ... so sorry.

The dives are selected based on weather, visibility, currents usually ... or guest choice ... first in... however we have now listed our dives for specific days to a particular dive sight so throughout the week you will know were the boat will take you, this giving the diver as much variety as we can.

Three tank dives can be difficult if we don't have the numbers (minimum six) Again if they are pre booked and we have only two divers we will find others at the resort to join the pre booked dive.. otherwise we will take you out ... but that is if it is pre booked as we will have a team rostered already to cater. If it is impromptu and 6 plus in numbers we will do the dive .. if it is impromptu and under six probably not.

There are a lot of different activities within and outside the resort that guests also like to enjoy so they dive and set out to explore later in the afternoon...

We have to say we love your comments ....every experience you had with us is written with a smile because you enjoyed what you experienced but didn't get fully what you came for... extremely grateful to you both as we really enjoyed you time with us .. and we truly hope to have the opportunity to host you again .... I will personally pick you up at the airport !!!!

A big Vinaka Vakalevu to you both form all at team Beqa ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews