We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beqa Lagoon Resort
Nearby Hotels
Royal Davui Island Resort, Fiji(Royal Davui Island)
US$ 1,303
US$ 1,099
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Uprising Beach Resort(Pacific Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$ 137
US$ 122
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Pearl Resort(Pacific Harbour)(Great Value!)
US$ 217
US$ 138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nanuku Auberge Resort(Pacific Harbour)
US$ 1,288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waidroka Bay Resort(Korovisilou)
US$ 167
US$ 145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crusoe's Retreat(Coral Coast)(Great Value!)
US$ 126
US$ 100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mango Bay Resort Fiji(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
US$ 69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 297
US$ 242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 246
US$ 216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 132
US$ 106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveller rating
331
133
48
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
133
48
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfilobeqa lagoondive shopdive staffshark divebeachfront bureplunge poolnon diverskoi pondfishlunch and dinnerbull sharkspacific harbournight diveassigned seatingsmall boatsecret island
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 549 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

Great resort and awesome diving but the best part was the staff. They try so hard and are so sincere! Filo spends her entire day making sure you are happy. Rupeni, Ruca and Zac behind bar ensured you were happy! The dive guides led by the amazing Koli made us feel very safe ... Especially on the world famous shark feeding dives. This resort gave us a vacation and memories of a lifetime! Bula!!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne A, Guest Relations Manager at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Bula Vinaka Randall

Great memories are hard to find if you have great expectations before you arrive...

The Beqa team are key to the resort ... but you also all took advantage of the wide variety of other adventures you can have on the island along with your dive experience.

Many thanks for enjoying the resort, the activities and of course our team.

We hope we have the opportunity to see you all again soon....

A big Vanaka vakalevu to you all from all of team Beqa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Overall we really enjoyed staying at this resort. We did have a few issues. First, our airport pick up and transport to Pacific Harbour was not ideal. They had our pick up time listed for 30 minutes after we were actually supposed to get in, and this could have been the fault of our travel agent. However, when we called, we were told several different thing (the driver is on the way, the driver is there, etc) and it was confusing to know where our driver was and when we would picked up. We also didn't know that the boat was specifically for us (also probably the fault of our travel agent) so we had no idea if they would wait which made the lateness of our ride concerning. Ultimately the taxi was about 45 minutes late getting us. After that, it was smooth-ish.

When we arrived at the Pearl Hotel (where the boat takes off from) no one could tell us if the boat was there, coming, etc. Also a little confusing/unclear. Then when "the boys" showed up, all the said was "Beqa?" and when we confirmed this they took our stuff to the boat. No introduction, explanation about the ride, or anything.

The arrival at the resort was much better, but be prepared to get wet (this is standard). Had to wade in ankle-deep water to get to the beach/resort, which we actually were aware of. We got a VERY nice welcome and introduction to the resort.

Our other main issues were that we felt that there was a lot of disconnect between the management and the rest of the staff. We would be told one thing by Wayne or Storm and then the rest of the staff didn't seem to know what the heck we were talking about. For example, Storm told us that before we got off the boat each day we would be asked about our dive preferences for the next day, like if we wanted 3 dives, a night dive, etc. This did not happen. We really would have preferred to do 3 dives on most days, but this didn't really seem like an option. We had to go through quite a bit to get 3 dives on one day. And we really wanted to go to the top sites (Sidestreets, Seafan, etc) out by the island, but only got to do that one day. Unclear if this was because of weather?

Wayne and storm were really great and tried to get us what we wanted, but we had a really rocky start and felt that this may have reflected on us for the remainder of our stay. We also arrived when there were two very large groups, and it seemed at that time like they were catering WAY more to the groups than the individual patrons.

We also felt like the dining seating situation was weird. We were sort of assigned a table and told that this table would be where we were dining for the remainder of our stay. Didn't seem like we had much choice in this matter. We did ultimately figure out that we could request a front table which we did and this was much better.

We also had cold water about half the time that we took showers. We finally did tell the manager (Wayne) about this who stated that he would have moved us had he known.

Also felt that the dive staff were a little difficult to gauge. The first day we missed half our briefing because we didn't know it was happening - he just started talking to the other group on our boat (we were the only two that were not part of this large group) and like halfway through we figured out that this was dive briefing. We kept being told that not being assertive is a Fijian trait, and while this might be true, for everyones safety we needed to hear the briefing! This was improved in the days to come.

Overall, despite the above issues, we did enjoy our stay here, and especially enjoyed the majority of the staff. Wayne, Storm, Kinnie, Tom, Sai, Bulo, all really stood out, but there were so many other staff members that were really great and helpful.

The food was especially good! One issue here is that we didn't realize that breakfast included some things that could be ordered from the kitchen. Finally figured this out the last day. But we really enjoyed the Fijian and Indian buffets especially. And our one lunch we had on the boat was great!

Room Tip: We had bure 9, a beachside bure. Not on the main beach but still nice. Spacious. Cold water though.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne A, General Manager at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Bula Brenna....

WOW !!! Great comments.

Yes it is fair to say we sometimes have communication problems and it looks like you both were the victim of all the communication issues a resort can offer... Transfers, diving, miss briefings, plumbing, seating arrangements, dive choices ... I am so glad we were able to help fix some of the issues as your holiday progressed.

We are in the process of re writing the house compendium... and have made sure absolutely everything you need to know about Beqa .... but didn't ask .... is in it...

Transportation is either handled by our bus or a hired one ... unfortunately I'm sure the hired one was late. Occasionally our team sends out correct information to our driver but not to the hire company we sometimes use.. yes we can muck it up ... so sorry.

The dives are selected based on weather, visibility, currents usually ... or guest choice ... first in... however we have now listed our dives for specific days to a particular dive sight so throughout the week you will know were the boat will take you, this giving the diver as much variety as we can.

Three tank dives can be difficult if we don't have the numbers (minimum six) Again if they are pre booked and we have only two divers we will find others at the resort to join the pre booked dive.. otherwise we will take you out ... but that is if it is pre booked as we will have a team rostered already to cater. If it is impromptu and 6 plus in numbers we will do the dive .. if it is impromptu and under six probably not.

There are a lot of different activities within and outside the resort that guests also like to enjoy so they dive and set out to explore later in the afternoon...

We have to say we love your comments ....every experience you had with us is written with a smile because you enjoyed what you experienced but didn't get fully what you came for... extremely grateful to you both as we really enjoyed you time with us .. and we truly hope to have the opportunity to host you again .... I will personally pick you up at the airport !!!!

A big Vinaka Vakalevu to you both form all at team Beqa ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

Getting to Beqa is a bit exhausting, a long flight followed by a 3 hour bus ride and then almost an hour boat ride....but as soon as you arrive and are welcomed by the amazing people that live there you quickly forget how exhausting the trip was and immediately feel at home and excited for your vacation to finally begin.

Our bure was beautiful, had an amazing view and was decorated with fresh flowers from the island daily. The food at the resort was amazing and I was impressed with how pristine the grounds were.

The Fijian people are some of most wonderful people you will ever meet and were generous enough to share their culture with us while we were there (fire walking, dancing, singing...) By the end of the week you will be sad to say goodbye. I also had a deep tissue massage while I was here and highly recommend it! It was one of the best massages I have ever had.

We spent the week diving with some great dive guides and experienced some great dive sites. Most days we were on 'fiji' time and left a little late but this is usually the case with most tropical locations that I have visited. Storm and his staff did a great job trying to manage our group of around 2 dozen people and constantly changing boat assignments as shark dives and certifications kept changing things up on a daily basis.

I saw some previous negative reviews on this site. One thing to note is that the resort/dive shop have both come under new management about a month prior to our arrival. Both the resort and dive shop managers made themselves available to us throughout the week and in the evenings at dinner. They were more than open to our feedback and ideas on how to further improve our experience at Beqa and are continually working to make Beqa a place you will never forget and will want to return to.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne A, General Manager at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Bula Vinaka Melissa ...

Many thanks for taking the time to write in TripAdvisor.

So true... the trip can be tiring especially it your flying from state side... however we hope we can truly help to get you rested feed and entertained and of course massaged into total relaxation with bit of a heart stopping dive or two.

Its the wonderful nature of our crew that makes up for a very long journey, the Fijian way , big smiles, fun, and extremely helpful Beqa crew.. you will experience this in most resorts throughout the islands.. the essence of Fiji are the people.

So pleased you tried Lali Spa ... we have 48 different treatments and a nice selection of quick fix massages for the weary traveller.

We are always open for suggestions as we will quietly plod away at revitalising Beqa over the coming year.. lots to do... but looking good....

Many thanks your excellent description of your stay with us on Beqa... and we all look forward to hosting you again in the not to distant future.

A big Vinaka Vakalevu to you from all of team Beqa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Beautiful island. Great get away to enjoy the peace and quite. Employees are wonderful. The manager is out of touch with the operation of the resort. Diving is wonderful, but the dive boat is in great need of repair and maintenance. Boat broke down several times through out the week. At one point, we were stuck on the boat for over an hour as the other boat could not be started to come pick us up. We basically had to get into the water and swim back to shore. When we got on shore and headed to dinner, the manager had no clue that we had been sitting out there waiting for a ride.
I would go back again, but be prepaired for some dive issues if they have not done any maintenance.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne A, General Manager at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Bula Robert..
Thank you for taking time to write on TripAdvisor.

Yes, what a week with boats.... terrible... and we all knew ...Including the manager ... that particular time you are talking about was the longest delay but it was only an extra 1/2 hour between dives and everyone was safe and sound.

Thank you so much for your positive comments, on the resort and team... More positive is the boats are under repair to get everything in top shape for the coming season.

Make no mistake we have had issues with the boats ...which are classic, older in style but hardy strong and very sea worthy ...Every couple of years they need a complete overhaul...which they are receiving....we are sure we will still have the odd problem though ... but rest assured .... we will know if they do ....

We are looking forward to seeing you again in the not to distant future .... in the mean time a big vinaka vakalevu from all of Team Beqa....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

This is an awesome place to go for a shark dive! Lots of tiger shark, biggest i saw is 4 metres and grey reef shark.

The Secret Island picnic is an activity that you must do. It's a white sand sandbar with beautiful crystal clear water.

They have lots of activities that you can choose from. Some you have to pay and some are free.

The free scheduled daily activities that i saw from their board (some of it i have tried and some i missed as it was cancelled due to weather. It was raining most of the time when i went there. The staff will inform if there is a change on the activities). :

-snorkeling at their beautiful house reef (you can do on your own). must do.
- saturday: fire ceremony
- sunday: a walk to the village to attend a 60 min. church service and Choir performance
- monday: coconut show & weaving, fire walking, live entertainment who will perform original fijian songs during happy hour & dinner time
- tuesday: school tour ( must do. the childrens performance is awesome & so much fun! it's an option to donate in cash or give them school supplies. this is not mandatory) but i recommend to share any of those as they need it and you will be helping the community, fire ceremony
-wednesday: local village visit, kava ceremony.
-thursday: hiking trip-legend of the fire walkers, polynesian fire dancing
-friday: fijian cooking show, meke fijian dance, live entertainment, beach bonfire

What made Fiji really special is the Fijian people. They are so naturally and sincerely welcoming, friendly, warm and kind. All the staff in Beqa are great .Especially Ruca, Save, Filo, Sai & Joseph. They also took good care of my friend who got sick and gave her some hot lemon juice & a traditional tea for her throat. It is a kind gesture which we really appreciate & thankful for. Wayne which if i am not mistaken their general manager is also nice. He makes an effort to drop by to each table every night to chat with us. Ensuring everything is ok , that we are having fun and if we need problem we can just let the staff know. Praises to the chef too! Every night we have spectacular dinner! Breakfast was pretty basic, lunch is ok but dinner is something else. The staff also greeted us upon arrival by songs & flowers and they also bid us with a farewell song which made me feel so sad and teary eyed. I miss them all.

For those who are traveling from Philippines. If you have some filipino drama tv series or movies in CDs or DVDs you may want to share it with the Fijian ladies. They would love it. They love watching filipino dramas . If i only knew i would have brought some and gave it to them. I will make sure i will bring them some when i come back.

There's a few cons but not worth mentioning because of all the great experience we had there. I will surely come back and treasure all the great memories of Beqa.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank catherine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne A, General Manager at Beqa Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Bula vinaka Catherine

Thanks so much for taking the time to write on TripAdvisor....

Oh yes please bring on the Filipino dramas .. really interesting viewing....

True the name is Wayne... and its always a pleasure to meet such fun people you all really had the best time even in the rain.

As you have said there are a hep of adventures to be had a Beqa, and yes the dive is a feature.... but there is more to Beqa than the sharks.. nature hikes, waterfalls, snorkelling, kayaking the mangroves, zip lining off the island, shopping in Suva, a very scenic white water rafting experience... so you really don't have to be a diver.

Always people have different expectations... here it is simple and just as you have written.... rain yes it does.. things to do yes we have... food yep its good too...

We have passed you compliments onto the team ... we are processing a compendium for the resort at the moment ... no hardship now ...you have said it all! paste and copy.

A big vinaka vakalevu to you all ....and thank you Catherine for taking the time to write ... From all of Team Beqa lagoon Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews