We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Basic Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Donato House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Donato House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 15 Wasaga Beach B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice Basic Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

The Donato House Hotel is nothing to "write home about" but there is nothing here to really complain about either. The place is a modest two star hotel on the main thoroughfare situated between the River and the Beach (but does not front directly on to either). The rooms are best described as typical Holiday Inn style with a kitchenette (including a large fridge).With the exception of the microwave, the room was clean and they provided plenty of clean towels, toiletries, etc. The TVs are not HD flat screen -- but are large. The staff were friendly and pleasant and welcomed us with a smile. The free High-Speed internet access was good. On our visit, the hotel provided a light complimentary breakfast (cereal, fruit and coffee) in the foyer. The salt water swimming pool is small and the hot tub area could do with some updating - but, at least, there is a swimming pool in which to relax.

We were booked in here during a youth hockey tournament that we had nothing to do with -- but we did not here a peep from any other guests. I was pleased to see there were strict rules about noise posted in each room specifically addressed to visiting hockey teams. So, if they had noise issues in the past it looks like they have taken steps to crack down on it for the comfort of all guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    15
    10
    11
    12
See reviews for
20
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Goderich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

I was delighted at the beautiful afternoon banquet provided for our reunion by staff in the party room at the Donato House. The food was 5 star. In addition, another staff member went to a lot of trouble to actually do family research and put on a display. I was amazed. I couldn't believe they would go to that much trouble for us. All around it was a most successful event and it couldn't have happened so smoothly without the enthusiastic staff assistance.
Cindy B.

Room Tip: Stayed upstairs at the Riverview because I love the smell of cedar logs and wanted a view of the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This is the 8th year we've been to the Donato and have always enjoyed our stay. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to make us (and our friends) feel welcome. The rooms are spacious and the loft rooms are a really good idea when you have a group of people. It's within walking distance to the Beach and a short car ride to the centre of town. We look forward to returning next September 2012.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T0byf1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stay at the Donato House every year with our dance friends. Everyone is pleased with the comfort of the rooms as well as the generous size. The "loft" rooms are really great for friends staying in the same room.
The staff at the Donato House go above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We have stayed at the Donato for a number of years now for a special weekend event near the beginning of September. We have always been treated well and the staff have gone out of their way to accommodate our needs. The rooms and the Lofts are very comfortable and clean. The staff have always been cheerful and friendly and we're looking forward to returning this coming September.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viv1778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasaga Beach
20.9 km away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
21.4 km away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#3 of 8 in Blue Mountains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
17.3 km away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Relax Inn Collingwood
Relax Inn Collingwood
#10 of 11 in Collingwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
15.2 km away
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
Days Inn & Suites Collingwood
#1 of 11 in Collingwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
1.1 km away
Oasis By The Bay Vacation Resort
Oasis By The Bay Vacation Resort
#1 of 30 in Wasaga Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donato House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donato House Hotel

Property: Donato House Hotel
Address: 1080 Mosley Street, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 2G1 , Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Wasaga Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Wasaga Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,583 - ₹ 11,506
Hotel Class:2 star — Donato House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are open year round and situated in the center of Wasaga Beach, just steps away from the beach. We offer a wide variety of room options (Standard room, Jacuzzi room, and Loft rooms of various sizes) that can accommodate from 2 to 8 people in a non-smoking environment. Rooms feature a small refrigerator and microwave in every room, as well as cable TV and direct-dial telephone. Included in your stay is a continental breakfast between served between 8 am - 10 am. To help you unwind during your getaway we have a hot tub and newly renovated heated indoor salt water pool. Through the summer months we have 2 BBQ's available for your use on our outdoor patio. Our hotel provides complimentary parking and Wi-Fi for all guests. Check- in time is 3 pm and our check-out time is 10 am. For your convenience we accept Visa, Mastercard, Amex and Debit. To book a reservation, our office hours are 8am to 10pm or though reservations at the top of page. Don't forget to check us out on Facebook and Twitter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Donato House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donato House Hotel Wasaga Beach, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing