We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Refreshed and recharged”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room
Kitchen/Diner Kitchen/Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Sitting Room
Kitchen/Diner
Kitchen/Diner
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
garden1
garden2
Spring garden at Ramblers Rest
Spring in the garden2
Kitchen/Diner
Spring in the garden
River Usk
Crickhowell Castle
Morning - Crickhowell
Early Morning Mist
street view
Ramblers Rest Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
this0ne
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Refreshed and recharged”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We arrived much later than we had planned and Christina and Peter were very accommodating. We found lovely welcome gifts and we all found the cottage cosy and charming. It was really a home from home and the cottage is full of character. Warm when it needs to be and a good sized garden at the rear Safe for young children. Crickhowell is a great village - with obvious community spirit and well located in terms of walks and family activities. The Number 18 Café does yummy vegetarian food, especially the Glamburger.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
Thank you for your lovely review of the cottage - especially in view of the fact that your stay was in fact quite short! It is good to hear that guests do appreciate Crickhowell and this beautiful and friendly area. We hope to see you all again one day. Christina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful cottage, and perfect location. A tonic!”
Reviewed 22 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My partner and I spent 5 days in the cottage a couple of weeks ago and I'm already planning my next visit.
It was a very easy journey from our home in London and very easy to arrange our arrival with Peter and Christina, who were super helpful.
The cottage is perfect for couples or small families and is located ideally for both the pubs and shops of town (try out the amazing chocolate shop) and perfectly positioned for some beautiful walks. It was warm and cosy to return to after walking and we were more than happy to stay in with the selection of board games on the one rainy day we saw.
Would heartily recommend both Crickhowell and the cottage, and can't wait to get back. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage had a really homely, cosy feel and was perfectly located for walks and town.
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2015
Hi Laura. Thank you so much for your feedback and review - so very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. Crickhowell is a really special place, and we are lucky to be able to invite visitors from far and wide, to enjoy the area. Christina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesHong...
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely quaint stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were welcomed with some lovely goodies upon our arrival. Christina was very friendly and helpful and was on call if needed (we didn't). The house is small and really not suitable for anyone who has problems with climbing stairs or who needs to be near a toilet at night, as this was situated downstairs, however for my children, it was excellent. Two good sized bedrooms, a comfortable living room, good sized and well equipt kitchen, a larder and bathroom. My favourite place was the beautiful garden where we spent lots of time and ate lots of meals. The town center is only up the hill so a short walk away.Overall a comfortable stay and one I would recommend. My children wished for wifi and at times me too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for your welcome feedback on the cottage. We are pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. Regarding the bathroom, I feel that I must point out that this cottage was built in the mid-1800's and it does state quite clearly on the website that the bathroom is downstairs (no properties at the time of the build actually having any bathroom facilities at all !). However, luckily, this was not a problem for your family - and you were blessed with good weather, which has been somewhat lacking this summer in the UK. Re the WiFi, this is something we are now considering, but at present, there are BT hotspots in the street, and free WiFi available at the Library, TIC, and most of the cafes and pubs. We did receive just one call from you during your stay, regarding a faulty shower, which was fixed immediately. Thank you, and we hope to welcome you back one day. Christina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernseyl...
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Immaculately clean in a great setting with a traditional pub not far away. Lovely garden area and have no complaints whatsoever other than it may be time to invest in a newer and slightly larger TV. No internet but we knew that. Great base to walk and explore from

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Positionand garden
Liked least: Old small TV
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review, and we are so pleased you were able to enjoy the garden and outside space as well as the cottage - the weather in the UK does not always allow this! The TV is not actually that small, and we will renew it one day, but we are aware that the cottage is a Georgian Listed Building, and we do not want a TV to be too 'space age' ! (and you are quite correct, no internet in the cottage itself, but it is available in most of the pubs and cafes, libruary and TIC, just a short stroll away). Again, many thanks for your review, and Crickhowell welcomes you back at any time...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellamand...
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great wee cottage”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was a return visit to this lovely cottage in a vey nice village. It has everything you could need and a BBQ if the sun shines. It's a great base for days out at Hay on Wye (vintage fairs, book festival), Bike Park Wales, walking through waterfalls, the Big Pit, the cave/dinosaur theme park, climbing hills and visiting the local vineyard (at Sugarloaf), The village itself is full of good pubs (the Bear being particularly good for dinner) and nice shops. The fact we went back again this year says it all.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2015
Thank you or your review of your time in Crickhowell, and we are so glad you all had a good week - certainly you struck lucky with the weather, which brings this beautiful area into it's own. Christina (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing