We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
River Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River Cottage
The Courtyard Entrance and BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
29 reviews
River Cottage
The Courtyard
Entrance and BBQ
Accommodation centrally heated with maple floor
Bedroom configured as double bed with optional 3rd bunk bed
Crickhowell Bridge 50m from River Cottage
Seating area
Sunset from Sugarloaf mountain
Shower room
Fully equipped kitchen
Belfast sink ideal for preparing your salmon!
Shower room
Bedroom configured as bunks for 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Walker124
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little cottage”
Reviewed 27 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Lovely location, Crickhowell is a great little town with a good butcher/baker and lots of pubs (the one just across the road does a lovely steak). Very friendly locals! Cottage (affectionately referred to as the 'Hobbit Hole') was very well equipped and clean, though compact.
Cons: Could do with more storage space for clothes, though I think we brought more than the average amount with us.
Pros: Brilliant base for walking and cycling in the Brecon Beacons with many good walks starting in or near Crickhowell.
We found parking without fail either outside the cottage or just up the road in Castle Street.
All in all, a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The rain!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiley_sc...
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quaint, comfortable and ideal location!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

River Cottage is a lovely, compact cottage perfect for two. The kitchen is well equipped and we found everything we needed for the week. The bathroom is quirky with the door doubling as the shower door but the shower was super powerful and nice and hot - just what was needed after a long day's walk! We pulled out the bottom bunk of the beds to use as a double - comfortable but was a little tricky to pull out and push back in. We managed to use the outside space on the few sunny days we had - it was lovely to chill out and enjoy a BBQ in the evening (the black mountain sirloin steaks from Cashells butchers are fantastic and melt in the mouth!!). The pub over the road (Bridge End Inn) has a lovely beer garden and some good ales. The Bear pub in the village is huge and food is good. There's a great little outdoor shop too which came in handy when we realised we'd forgotten some bits!
The cottage is perfectly situated for some amazing walks - Table Mountain and the surrounding peaks can be done direct from the cottage, Sugar Loaf Mountain, Blorenge and Pen Y Fan are a short drive away but well worth the effort.
Met the owners, Rupert and Melanie and they were lovely and friendly. There are things in the cottage which are in need of some TLC and the owners are eager to update and improve. However, they have not owned the cottage for long and have not been able to get in to do any work because it has been fully booked so please bear this in mind! I'm sure they will work on it, when they can!!
For the price, this is a wonderful little cottage and we enjoyed our stay immensely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location!
Liked least: Parking!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue A
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great little bolt hole - ideal for walkers/cyclists”
Reviewed 26 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Hi this is a well kitted out place - albeit compact - ideal to use as a base for walkers and cyclists to the area. We found the place remarkably well equipped for such a small place. Unfortunately the weather wasnt great so we couldnt take advantange of the outside space. Very close to a good pub and 5 mins walk to the small town with ample amenities. if you are looking for luxury accomodation then look elsewhere.
Recommendations - shower door could fit better and water could be a little hotter. Wi-fi or radio would be good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Water not hot enough
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Reviewed 18 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: No parking
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jun 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy our unique small holiday cottage. Most of the answers to your complaints are contained on the wesite, such as parking availability, accurate directions to the property and the fact that the bottom bunk pulls out to form a double bed, so I shall not repeat details a guest can access prior to their visit by reading the cottage details on the website. Nor do I feel it necessary to mention that the bread board is on the top (and only) shelf and that the bread knifes are contained in the knife block on the kithen worktop. In terms of other points raised I would like to respond by firstly saying that when you rang me to inform of your imminent arrival I mentioned that the cleaner had accidentally switched the central heating off as it was so warm whilst cleaning (after all it is June) and that her partner would be down in the morning to switch back on. I apologised for any inconvenience and you said that this would not be a problem. However, you left to go home before he had a chance to put the heating on! When I personally inspected the property I did not find a dirty pan at all, nor did the kettle leak - maybe you overfilled it. I was aware the toaster did not work and duly replaced it at the fist possible opportunity and have also provided a cheese grater whose absence upset an earlier guest! Furthermore I have replaced the 4 missing cereal bowls that another guest saw fit to take, as well as renewing the toilet seat and missing tile. I would also like to make clear to anybody reading this and considering staying, that the cottage is quite small and compact and that there is no TV. Most concerning for me is your accusation concerning hairs on your bedding. I pay for a very good laundry service and can assure you there were no hairs on the bedding when you arrived. A possible explanation maybe the 2 small dogs that accompanied you. As a result and with regret that no pets, no matter how small, will be welcome in our Cottage any longer. It is simply too small a place for both human and dog to co-exist. Again I am sorry that you did not enjoy our simple yet unique holiday cottage and its stunning location.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gbijv
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simple but fantastic. A great little place to stay.”
Reviewed 15 February 2012 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I stayed at River Cottage in August last year after looking for a cheap break away. The accommodation is small but great fun, well equipped and very comfortable. The owners are very welcoming and on arrival you will find some essentials bought in to get you started. As a base for exploring the Brecon Beacons it's great and we found plenty to keep us occupied. In summer we enjoyed eating outside in the enclosed courtyard and cooking on the kettle barbeque. The only slight downside is the parking as the property is located on a small one way street near the popular Bridge End Inn and can be in high demand at the weekend. Overall you can't go wrong if you are looking for a comfortable base for exploring. We will be back again I'm sure!

Also: If you are looking for a special treat, we recommend you make a booking at 'Number 18', a superb bistro restaurant in the village, you won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness and cleanliness.
Liked least: Parking at weekends.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing