We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for a gathering of friends and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abernant House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The well equipped kitchen with 4 oven Aga
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The well equipped kitchen with 4 oven Aga
The large oak table is perfect for relaxed meals
French windows lead from the kitchen to the garden
The large kitchen has a 4 oven electric Aga
The beautiful drawing room
The grand piano can be used by guests
The cosy TV room/snug
Wood panelled TV room/snug
Our very well stocked library
The large king sized ensuite bedroom with a large balcony overlooking the garden.
Lie in bed and look out at the amazing scenery
The master room has its own Juliet balcony overlooking the garden
This single room leads out to a large balcony overlooking the garden
The beautiful gardens looking out towards the Black Mountains.
Outdoor tables and chairs for alfresco dining
Relax in the garden
Our private stretch of the River Wye
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eleri D
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect place for a gathering of friends and family.”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Just spent the weekend with friends and family in this beautiful, spacious house near Builth.
It was relaxing, warm with real fires, very homely, and the beds were super comfy. I was celebrating a special birthday, and the owner recommended a chef to cook for us on the Saturday night. It was a real treat.
We weren't really looking for local attractions, just wanted a place to get together - eat, drink, and talk till the early hours. Perfect!
Diolch yn fawr!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
I am so glad that you had such a lovely weekend. Abernant is such a special place that having a lovely time is pretty much guaranteed. Please keep in touch and I hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean_west...
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Chill out weekend in Wales”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

What a great place for 12 friends to chill out for the weekend. It rained all the time and that stopped any trips out of the house other than to re stock the depleting wine store.
Shaun the chef had prepared a large chilli for us on the Friday evening, we cooked our own jacket potatoes and we all stayed around the fire, a great night in.
The next day we lit both fires, the weather was terrible so we just spent the day chilling, eating and drinking.
Shaun the chef came in again and prepared a three course meal for the evening and that was a huge sucsess his wife served us and they cleared up after us and them.
We left on Sunday afternoon after a late brunch all in all a great weekend enjoyed by all.
The house is fantastic, large enough for twelve without getting under each others feet but intimate as well.
Jo is very good at what she does.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
Thank you! Chilling, eating, drinking, relaxing, catching up with friends is what Abernant does very well. I do hope that you will be able to come back when the weather is better and you can chill out in the fabulous garden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTra...
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Christmas”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Abernant House and it was a great choice. Plenty of space for a large family, loads of bedrooms and bathrooms and a very well-stocked kitchen. Lovely garden.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2016
Thank you. I am glad that you had such a lovely Christmas and I do hope that you can come back to stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlastairG...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Venue for Family Gathering!”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Just returned from a wonderful w/e at Abernant House, 13 family - 3 generations, our first stay and we hope to return. Very comfortable and relaxing house, beautifully decorated with a library of books to browse, plenty of space and excellent bedroom/bathroom ratio. Brilliantly appointed kitchen which formed the hub for all our huge family meals. Jo, the manager, was very helpful throughout the booking and gave us a warm welcome on arrival, her lemon curd cake was especially appreciated!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful interior decor and garden
Liked least: Near a busy road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delyth B
Letchworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful in a stunning location”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We recently stayed at Abernant House. It is a fantastic property with loads of space and character. Ideal for sociable groups, particularly families. It is set in a stunning location in the heart of Wales, and is a fantastic place to go if you need to get away from it all - an enjoyable time had by all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2015
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Abernant House. We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing