We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
38
14
4
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
14
4
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hosts amazing chef rooms are clean cambrian mountains stayed one night fantastic place full english breakfast surrounding countryside real ale next morning emma house horses base irfon peace
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Lovely quiet location and very helpful hosts. Good food, and comfortable room. But all very dated and tired - the 4 star rating is only from the AA, so don’t be misled as to the quality of this place. We paid too much for it, so we’re disappointed.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, Owner at Lasswade Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

I am sorry you have been mislead by the description, it is not of our doing. We are NOT a Hotel but are graded as a Restaurant with Rooms by the A.A. and Visit Wales. I wish the above Agency, to name one, would listen to us. We are pleased by your positive remarks.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

A pleasant place to stay. Fairly typical B and B style hotel. Clean and tidy. A little bit dated yes but not worth worrying about. Owners are friendly and helpful and the food is very good. It was a good base for a weekend in Wales and I would stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank venusphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Roger and Emma looked after us very well. Roger is an excellent and creative chef, with great sourcing and saucing! His zabaglione is superb! The sunny breakfast room with views to mountains and hills all around was a relaxing backdrop to a wonderful English breakfast. It's a great base for exploring the Cambrian Mountains, and we recommend the ascent of Plynlimon - amazing views! Washpool is a beautiful pool on the river Irfon for a refreshing swim afterwards. Thank you Roger and Emma for making our first trip to LLanwrtyd Wells such a good one.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, Owner at Lasswade Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

There is so much to discover in the Cambrian Mountains. Roger is a very skilled classic Chef. Come back soon to taste some more, as he may be retiring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Had a wonderful stay with interesting and knowledgeable hosts. Great breakfast. :-)
Good location for visiting surrounding countryside. Roger and emma made sure we knew what to visit and how to get there and back.

Room tip: Even the rooms on the front are quiet as its not a busy road but rooms at back look over countyside.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123lizkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, Owner at Lasswade Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your thoughts.
That's why we are Welcome Host certified and graded by A.A. and Visit Wales
Come again to Mid Wales to explore this stunning green landscape and food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Thanks for the nice time at the hotel. We really enjoyed the food, Roger you're an amazing chef, Emma you're a really sweet hostess! The rooms we're cozy and the view was amazing. They really help you with planning your trip if you want them to. We've had an pleasant stay with you all! Say hi to Genie from us :)

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma S, Owner at Lasswade Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Genie the resident Cat says she misses you!
Thank you for your kind feedback
Perhaps see you again if you visit Mid Wales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews