We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Maison confortable et chaleureuse”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Troed-y-Rhiw

Master Bedroom, lovely views across the valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master Bedroom, lovely views across the valley
Troed-y-Rhiw, Lovely views from the front of the cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Master Bedroom, lovely views across the valley
Troed-y-Rhiw, Lovely views from the front of the cottage.
Private Dog Proof Garden
St Davids Church
Master Bedroom with Views
Picnic by the River
Gold Mines
Raglan Castle
Fun at the Wash Pools
Great place to walk and cycle.
Horse Riding in Llanwrtyd
Watching Man V Horse Race (June)
Mountain Bike Chariot Race
Why don't you use the stepping stones?
Great place to mountain bike
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanwrtyd Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
zelimila
chemazé
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Maison confortable et chaleureuse”
Reviewed 4 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We've spent a wonderful week at Troed-y-Rhiw and would recommend it to anyone!
The cottage is fully equiped and we could cook our food and even bake in a perfect oven!
We loved coming back from our walks to a nice and cosy evening by the stove. The cottage is fantastic for a couple and two kids as everything you would need is there !

Nous recommandons ce cottage chaleureusement ; tout y est parfait!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Reviewed 27 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Dishwasher/washer dryer not great
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JamesColl...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Disconnected heaven....”
Reviewed 5 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

As my title suggests, this is a little peace of heaven on earth that is quite simply in the middle of nowhere with little to no contact with the outside world.
It is a most beautiful end of terrace cottage that has its own parking, garden and log burner. The finish of the interior is to a high standard, the kitchen come living area has everything you need and both the bedrooms have recently acquired beds. The bathroom has a good bath/shower combo and again is finished really well. It has all the appliances (and more) that you need for any self-catering stay.
We stayed here because we wanted to walk our 1 year Beagle in an area that would hopefully wear him out but that also we could us a little bit of a challenge and some great scenary. The surrounding area ticked all the boxes, it has wonderful Welsh rolling hills and more than enough footpaths where dogs can be off-lead.
The local Spar shop has more than enough to stock up for a week, or you can just bring your own (like we did) as there is a big fridge/freezer in the cottage. Although you must sample the local butchers hand cut bacon, its much better than we you get from any supermarket at a lower cost! We did cook at the cottage 3 of the 5 nights and there was plenty of kitchen utensils to cook almost anything.
Eating out is limited to pub food or pizza (from Spar). The local Neudd Arms does a good enough curry and is good value but the rest of the menu is plain old pub food. The Ale on the other hand is top notch, try the Aur Cymru, a nice light drinkers ale. We did have a lovely Welsh Afternoon Tea at the Drovers Rest, which I would highly recommend.
The owners are also amazing, both Katie and Roger couldnt of been more pleasent and helpful through out our stay. Roger is full of local knowledge and has put some walking ideas into a neat little folder in the cottage.
Overall a 5 star self-catering stay, we will be back and will recommend to all our freinds and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lack of phone coverage and internet access
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: banging our knees on the corners of the bed that stick out a lot further than you think!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 63
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing