We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,682)
Filter reviews
1,682 results
Traveller rating
723
578
210
90
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
723
578
210
90
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature roomstandard roomgarden lodgedining roomevening entertainmententertainment teamage grouptribute bandentertainment hallline dancingwaiter servicebuilding worknight breakmain buildingolder peopleleisure facilitiesroyale room
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,682 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018

4 days spent here in excellent accommodation, and most enjoyable food was spoilt by the entertainment arrangements . Seating is allocated in various areas, mine was on a balcony which was reached by 2 flights of stairs, I visited Warner’s with the expectation of being able to dance, but this made it impossible as I would have to climb up and down to reach my drink !! Enquiring if it was possible to move I was only offered a table at £25 , during the evening many seats were empty but I was reluctant to use one in case the “ owner” appeared ! I felt very angry at these arrangements as I had always enjoyed being able to access the dance floor with such ease at previous Warner hotels
My visit will certainly not be repeated .

Stayed: August 2018
6  Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodelwyddanGL, Guest Liaison at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hello. In order to make the meal time a more leisurely experience we introduced 'My Warner Table' across all Warner Hotels with separate entertainment venues. After making your booking you are prompted to choose a 'zone' or area where you would prefer to be seated. The areas around the dance floor are usually reserved quickly and I am sorry that on this occasion you were unable to secure a seat near the dance floor. To clarify the table offered to you for £25.00 per person this represented a gold V.I.P. experience which included a bottle of wine up to £25.00, an additional drink, canapes, dressed table and a waiter devoted to serving your table for the evening. On the remaining nights of your stay the table remains allocated to you.

I am glad you found the accommodation 'excellent' and that the food was also well received and hope that you will reconsider visiting us again in the future.

Regards
Bo Williams
Guest Liaison on behalf of the Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Excellent accommodation even though we had only booked a. "standard" room. The service in the restaurant was very smooth and the staff polite and friendly. In particular David (from Stockport), who had only been working there for a short time really excelled and had a great personality. He was polite, enthusiastic about his job and carried it out with a mature efficiency. The food was well prepared with plenty of choice for all appetites.
The grounds and woodland at the Castle were enjoyed each day. However,we had one little gripe in that after looking for approximately an hour, we could not find the aviary which was on the map we picked up at Reception. An extremely helpful Groundsman by the name of David (from Liverpool) came to our rescue and informed us, to our disappointment, that it was no longer there. He did lead us to other interesting things to look at however. We informed Reception to be told that they were in the process of re-printing the maps. This wasn't any good for us as we had already wasted a long time searching. Maybe a cross could be put through the aviary spot on the maps still being used until these are re-printed. There is tight schedule if you want to fit everything in so we felt we had lost an hour of our time searching for something which did not exist.
I also have to make a comment in that after dinner when the quiz is being held in the Atrium there is not enough room for the amount of people usually attending this. In our case there were always a lot of people wanting to take part. Maybe this differs from break to break but I thought it worth pointing out. If you MUST attend the quiz then have an early dinner and don't linger to make sure you get a seat in the Atrium.
However, taking everything into account we did enjoy our time there. The team of youngsters running the shows are amazing. They also teach several of the activities along with running trivia quizzes twice daily. They are a very talented team. We will certainly visit Bodelwyddan Castle again.

Room Tip: If you require a patio then the Lodges are ideal If you are going to be doing lots of activities then a room without a patio is fine.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodelwyddanGL, Guest Liaison at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback and highlighting the good service your received from the two 'David's' I am thrilled to read that we will have the chance to welcome you back to Bodelwyddan Castle in the future,

Regards
Bo Williams
Guest Liaison on behalf of the Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Just back from a very nice weekend break in a garden lodge which had a lovely view of the pretty gardens. We have stayed at Bodelwyddan before, but not in the summertime, so it was very nice to see and enjoy the grounds and gardens. The walled garden is particularly attractive.

The staff are really very good, pleasant, polite and helpful. The food was really very good with an extensive choice of meals and it is nice that you can either help yourself to the buffet or be waited on.

The garden lodges are very nice and comfortable and you get an allocated parking place, but some of the parking places are quite a way from your room which could be an issue if you are disabled or less-mobile (or even elderly, which many of Warner guests are). Also, the walk from the lodges to the main part of the hotel for meals is very pleasant in the weather we have just enjoyed, but in the winter time or in the rain and wind it could be a problem, although an umbrella is provided in your room. Also, if you are in a wheelchair, the incline from the hotel is not very steep, but is sustained, and quite an effort if you are self-propelling or pushing a wheelchair. (Not too bad going towards the hotel, but quite an effort returning to your room).

The entertainment was good on one of our evenings, The Revolvers, who were a tribute to the bands of the 60s and were excellent to people of our age group. The other evenings' entertainment were by the in-house entertainers who were good but who were somewhat let down by the sound system.

Room Tip: Long walk from the Garden Lodges to main hotel and restaurants could be a problem in inclement weather
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sunscreen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodelwyddanGL, Guest Liaison at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor, I'm delighted that you enjoyed all the various aspects of your stay and in particular your compliments for the team here, it is always gratifying when their efforts are appreciated.

Regards
Bo Williams
Guest Liaison on behalf of the Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Pros
- Lovely upper floor garden lodge with balcony overlooking pretty garden, with free safe, 'fridge and daily fresh milk.
- Hotel gardens and woodlands great for a stroll.
- Pool and gym good and very good programme of classes (spinning, pilates, circuits, etc) which guests can use and which Warner could promote more.
- Quality of food we choose was very good.
- Entertainment mostly high quality, especially soloists playing in the Atrium.

Cons
- Housekeeping - bathroom floor and toilet bowl were dirty and I cleaned with wet wipes. Toiletries were not replenished. Towels replaced every day when we didn't put them for changing - not good for the environment Warner.
- Dining hours 6-8. Whilst food very good, dining experience not enjoyable. Staff began clearing away food at 7.45 and cleaning tables for breakfast. If necessary close dining room doors at 8.00 but allow guests present to enjoy their meals. Would prefer to eat later but realise staff costs an issue.

Room Tip: The modern garden rooms are very good, not sure what rooms in the castle building are like.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Marjie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodelwyddanGL, Guest Liaison at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive and balanced review and I am pleased that on the whole you had a enjoyable experience. The 'cons' are noted and will be shared with the relevant departments,

Regards
Bo Williams
Guest Liaison on behalf of the Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

The rooms were very nice and clean, food good and sufficient, plenty of parking and a good place to use as a spring board for other places. Would recommend for break.
Lots of thinks to do entertainment and spa gym and pool

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vincekell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodelwyddanGL, Guest Liaison at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hello! I delighted to read that you had such a great all round experience and hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future,

Regards
Bo Williams
Guest Liaison on behalf of the Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews