We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Family Break From Start To Finish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gwbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gwbert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Break From Start To Finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We made a last minute booking via Late Rooms and were absolutely delighted we did. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and were lucky to be one of the first guests to stay in the new extension to the hotel. The rooms were contemporary and attractively decorated, with fantastic sea views. The location is beautiful and we were fortunate with the weather to be able to enjoy a drink al fresco on the decked terrace. We dined in the hotel on each of our 3 nights and the food was very tasty, with generous portions and reasonable prices. Our two children (5 & 8) were happy with the variety on offer for them and I agree with the other reviews regarding the sweet potato chips - think that they were in a light batter and best I've ever had. Service at all times was friendly & attentive and it's clearly a popular place to dine in the local area. Breakfast had a great choice and was relaxed and an enjoyable way to start the day. We tried out the jacuzzi and gym which is well worth doing during a stay at the Gwbert. There are several sofas and lounge areas to relax in and the pool table and computer provided some evening entertainment. The location is great with many interesting places to visit in the area, including Melin Tregwynt woollen mill, the Cathedral at St Davids, lovely sandy beach Poppet Sands, the nearby town of Cardigan and of course the coastal walks that are just on your doorstep at the Gwbert. Special thanks to Wells, Sam, Jem and the numerous ladies that looked after us during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the team and we can't wait to return. I would sum up our stay as a perfect home from home, with a warm, welcoming & friendly atmosphere, beautiful views & location, great food & service and would recommend to anyone. The Gwbert Hotel is a hidden gem!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 21 & 22, both newly refurbished with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilasMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    141
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
75
213
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We dined here last night, and I must say what a fantastic evening we had. The restaurant looks a little shabby from outside, but is well set out inside. The menu is simple, but is great quality, tasty homemade food at a great price. You must try the sweet potato chips, which are AMAZING!

Service was very attentive and we were given a window table as requested. This place is suitable for all types of groups. Eat here if you are staying at the Cliff?!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ap_0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I normally stay in the samey budget chains when travelling for work but due to location I was 'forced' off the beaten track and booked into the Gwbert hotel. The previous reviews seemed to suggest this was something special and I was looking forward to my stay but I have to say I was a little disappointed. The room itself was reasonably comfortable but the main lights didn't work and the only window looked out over the car park. Not a major issue until I realised that not only could I see out but other people could see in so spent the rest of my stay with the curtains closed.

The service was a little hit and miss. I was left standing at reception for 10 minutes with no way of alerting people that I had arrived. I was then left waiting in the bar to be seated for dinner for over 30 minutes when others were being seated. It was pretty obvious from the conversations of the staff when they did decide to seat me that I'd been forgotten about.

All in all, not bad, but not really worth the hype.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevie8abes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Have spent six months here in aberporth and loving the people and place. I have spent 95% of the time in same hotel and never had a bad meal. The fillet steak is wonderful And staff are friendly and helpful .
Got to try the sweet potato chips .

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Protographics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

In the last few months I've had the pleasure of staying at the Gwbert.
The flat rock resturant menu is very varied home cooked food with one of the best fillet steaks in the area
The rooms are clean and modern with free wifi
The staff are all friendly and couldn't do more to make you feel welcome
Good views, food and friendly bar what more could you ask for

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
0.2 km away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
17.2 km away
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
18.3 km away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
4.5 km away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#6 of 14 in Cardigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
11.8 km away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 2 in Tresaith
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwbert Hotel

Property: The Gwbert Hotel
Address: Gwbert on Sea, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,817 - ₹ 14,283
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gwbert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in The Gwbert Hotel the hotel stands on the banks of the River Teifi at the estuary at Gwbert-on-Sea - renowned for its salmon and sewin - it is one of the finest hotels in the locality. The hotel offers high standards of accommodation with lift to most floors. We also have four self-catering holiday homes on the hotels grounds. The tastefully decorated bistro (Flat Rock) with its panoramic views of the Pembrokeshire National Park offers an extensive menu. with dishes to everyone's tastes. A romantic weekend at the ‘Domain of the Dolphin’ is a must for all couples who wish to have a "get away from it all" weekend break. So don’t settle for anything less. Call us today and see what a difference a little attention makes! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gwbert Hotel Cardigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing