We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grimisdale Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Isle of Harris
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Harris Hotel(Tarbert)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardhasaig House(Ardhasaig)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hamersay House(North Uist)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lochmaddy Hotel(North Uist)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Langass Lodge(North Uist)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Temple View Hotel(North Uist)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dark Island Hotel(Benbecula Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
100
37
11
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
37
11
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

Very nice B&B, room was spotless, fluffy towels and we were given a very warm welcome. Great location for our cycling, just a two minute cycle from the ferry. The owner gave us a lift to the local restaurant which was very kind, and much appreciated after a long day on the bikes!
Slightly over priced in my opinion.
Food was outstanding as was the friendly service.
Highly recommend

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Great hotel in the countryside of Lewis & Harris. Very scenic drive out to the hotel and peaceful little town surrounding it. Room was very comfortable and the hosts was friendly. We left too early for breakfast (had to catch the ferry back).

Also, no joke, the towels were extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank khstamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2015 via mobile

Based on their website we were prepared to be impressed. The first impression on entering was a hall cluttered with cardboard boxes and a vacuum cleaner. We were given an attic room on the first floor with the most compact ensuite with shower we have ever seen. . No room to hang bath towels which had to go on a rail in the open plan wardrobe. Apart from hitting your head on the sloping ceiling, to view the loch you had to go to the Velux roof window the other side of a spare single bed in order to see out to the loch . Only one bedside light but sloping ceiling made reading in bed uncomfortable. The guest lounge was outside the room so was not ideal from a noise point of view. The breakfast was fine and the view through from the private lounge was great. Our host was pleasant and friendly. But for £120 a night was exorbitant compared to the superior accommodation for which we paid £70 a night just up the road.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Slippaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2015

We stayed here for a few nights last year as a base for our trip from Leverbugh to St Kilda.

Grimisdale was a good place to stay, very comfortable, friendly host, good breakfast and in a convenient position, not far from the ferry from Berneray. It was possible to walk to the pier and also to the Anchorage restaurant at the pier.

We had a good trip to St Kilda with Sea Harris, although the weather could have been better. Our host, Farky, from Grimisdale provided us with sandwiches for our trip as we did not have an opportunity to get them elsewhere.

Grimisdale is also a good base to discover the south of Harris and visit the beautiful beaches there and we would certainly stay there again if we are ever in that area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hamish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2014

We have just returned from Grimisdale once again and will definately be back. Our party of eight - 4 adults and 4 children stayed for 4 nights and all agreed that Grimisdale is by far the best b&b that we have stayed at hence the return visit. Our hosts Farky and Danielle gave us a warm welcome after our long journey and were an absolute joy to stay with. Our accommodation was clean.comfortable and very cosy and with breathtaking views over the Loch and surrounding hills. Our hosts were very helpful at all times and shared their local knowledge with us which came in very handy when site seeing and eating out. Breakfast time with a party of eight as you can imagine can be chaotic to say the least but our hosts took it in their stride and managed to deal with our orders very fast and efficiently thus serving us a great breakfast every morning. Grimisdale's location is second to none and is one of the many reasons we returned to this brilliant b&b. Keep up the good work - we will definately be back. P.S the kids said give their love to the dogs - missing them already.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are individualy special
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews