We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good accommodation near one of the world's...”
other travellers have booked this property
Old school cabin from the front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old school cabin from the front
Outside dining with an ocean view Open plan lounge and part of kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Old school cabin from the front
Outside dining with an ocean view
Open plan lounge and part of kitchen
Double room at front of property with a beach view
Bathroom to rear of cabin
Twin room at rear of cabin
View from driveway of old school cabin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter B
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good accommodation near one of the world's greatest beaches.”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

A truly amazing location. Friendly, helpful owner. Immediately behind the cabin, Beinn Dubh is one of the best hills in Scotland, offering panoramic views of the mountains of Harris and beyond to Skye and the far north of Scotland, south to Mull and Barra and west to St Kilda. The beach is unforgettable. Tour South Harris, see the crystal-clear turquoise waters on the west coast and the rocky bays of the east coast. Buy a Harris tweed jacket. And go back again and again...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: It would be picky to say!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So good, we've booked again for next year!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The annex is a perfectly contained, self catering chalet with everything supplied within it to make it feel like a home from home.
The owners are warm, welcoming and friendly, but will leave you to enjoy your holiday in peace, unless you need them.
Luskentyre beach is a peaceful 5 minute walk away, and is paradise. Mostly we had the beach to ourselves, but it was also a place where we met our fellow holidaying neighbours, and friendships were made.
I would recommend shopping in either Morrissons in Fort William or Coop in Uig before crossing, although there is a small coop in Leverburgh, shop in Tarbert and Tescos in Stornoway.
Remember that everything closes on a Sunday so be mindful not to run out of petrol (especially if getting the Sunday ferry as the closest open mainland garage is 45 miles away in Broadford)
I cannot rate the annex or the island highly enough.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samsimon
Leeds
1 review
“A great 50th birthday treat”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Had a lovely stay at the cottage which is an ideal location for seeing the beautiful Isle of Harris. The cottage is situated only a stones throw from the magnificent Luskentyre beach as stunning a beach as I've seen anywhere in the world. A very tranquil spot with a fantsatic view of the beach and the island of Taransay from the 'lounge' window.

The cottage is clean tidy very warm and well equiped. The owners are friendly, hospitable and helpful it was lovely to meet them. Its ideal for a couple or a couple with two small children though four adults would struggle as its not overly spacious.

It proved to be a great base for us to do some memorable hill walks and to hit the bright lights of sunny ok maybe a very windyTarbert. The Harris Hotel is worth checking out for an evening meal a tad pricey maybe but the food was very good.

If we get the chance to return to the Ilse this is the place where we'd want to stay again its the best location in Harris in our opinion. We have no hesitation in giving this place 5 stars and recommending it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was warm cosy peaceful and the views
Liked least: The weather!!! The double bed mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Reviewed 20 March 2013 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Reviewed 21 February 2013 for a stay in March 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing