We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxurious and romantic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Red House

Autumn glow on October morning
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Autumn glow on October morning
Evening in August viewed from the house. A peaceful haven Red House or Tigh Dearg with its iconic red roof  renovated from an old blackhouse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Autumn glow on October morning
Evening in August viewed from the house.
A peaceful haven Red House or Tigh Dearg with its iconic red roof  renovated from an old blackhouse
The charm and character of the old blackhouse
Cosy evenings by a log fire
Cosy lounge with reclining sofa
King size bed
The mezzanine is a spacious light filled bedroom and lounge
Kitchen and dining area
Picnic Hamper
Luxurious wet room with underfloor heating and heated towel rails
Rainbow season in September
Standing alone in the Bays of Harris. the only traffic the ferry to nearby Tarbert
Dramatic scenery all round the coast
Looking down from the heather covered hill, an eagles eye view.
January sunshine and a bracing walk along a deserted beach
Sand and sea Neisabost beach in January
Snow House, magical atmosphere of snow covered Harris
April and a spectacular sunrise
Bog cotton at mid summer
One of the neighbours
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
joyous-gy...
St.Thomas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Luxurious and romantic”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

It is impossible to exaggerate the attention to detail which Alisdair and Tracey having loving poured into the creation of Red House. First of all, the setting is positively idyllic... a remote croft overlooking the sea on this most lovely of islands. The house itself was masterfully renovated... maintaining the charm of the old stone cottage while integrating all modern comforts. The host and hostess are so welcoming, helpful, and friendly, while still enabling the visitors to feel like they're really living in this fairytale cottage. This was truly our favorite accommodation in our three week tour of Scotland... and one of our favorite places we've stayed in all of our world travels!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved it ALL
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steviefor...
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect fusion of old and new in this wonderfully warm and welcoming home from home.”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I have stayed in many self catering cottages, many of which often disappoint, but Tigh Dearg (The Red House) is fully deserving of its 5-star reviews.

The cottage is a traditional stone cottage renovated with a perfect fusion of old and new. The attention to detail of every aspect sets this cottage high above any other self catering cottage I have stayed in and there are simply not enough superlatives to do The Red House justice.

With handcrafted fixtures and fittings, high quality finishings and a very comfortable king size bed, the cottage is snug and cosy, with an abundance of natural light whatever the Scottish weather throws at you!

And for those needing to stay connected to the outside world, as I did for business reasons, the free Wifi was fast and reliable, which in remote locations is often not the case.

I'm the shy and retiring type and prefer to have my own privacy and I'm therefore not particularly social. But I found Tracey and Alisdair to be very friendly and accommodating, yet they will gladly leave you to your own devices and never impose.

The Outer Hebrides lures you to explore its every nook and cranny, whilst The Red House entices you to stay within its confines to enjoy the tranquillity of its surroundings and immerse yourself in Island life, giving one the perfect combination for a memorable break.

My full compliments to Tracey and Alisdair. I hope to return one day to this wonderfully warm and welcoming home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jomccallu...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Red House in Harris for 4 nights, and I highly recommend it. The property has been beautifully renovated into the perfect self catering cottage set in a beautiful, tranquil location. By far the best self catering cottage we have stayed in.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGibste...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hebridean paradise”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Just back from a week at Red House. Can’t recommend it enough. Tracey and Alisdair clearly undertook a labour of love in creating this magical get-away for us to experience. The attention to detail is second to none. The ‘little things’ that made us welcome really added to our stay in what is a fabulously located, well equipped house. The design, fittings, and sheer feel of the place went far beyond what we expected. The basket of delicious provisions and bubbly were very gratefully received. Gorgeous blankets were provided to snuggle under on the amazingly comfy reclining sofa, but weren’t needed as the house was cosy and snug, yet airy with magnificent views upstairs. No additional charge for fuel was a welcome bonus. A storm at the start of the week followed by days of sunshine gave us the full Red House and Harris experience! We were perfectly located for road cycling and found the few other road users to be greatly courteous. So nice to be in a place where people don’t lock their doors at night too. We drove all over Harris and Lewis and saw nothing better located for ease after getting off the ferry yet away from it all with beautiful surrounds – and seals in abundance! We recommend the Red House to any couple wanting a relaxing break and it would be perfect for a romantic break or honeymoon. We will most definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ged B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cottage cleverly combines best of old with modern innovations; great location too”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We regularly rent a cottage at the end of October on a wild Scottish island and can honestly say this cottage and this island (Harris) are the best. The cottage is a beautifully renovated traditional croft, retaining the character of the old building; we particularly appreciated the wood-burner & copious free wood. However, we were also grateful for the very modern, efficient underfloor bathroom heating! The owners, Tracey & Alastair, have also done a great job in sympathetically modernising the upper roof space of the old building; in contrast to the dark, cosy traditional living room, the upstairs is a light, white loft-style space. There are comfy chairs and views of the sea. The cottage is well-appointed throughout and the kitchen lacked nothing. Tracey & Alastair were perfect hosts; on hand if needed, friendly but never intrusive.
The cottage is perfectly positioned to explore the beaches of Harris, the hills of North Harris and Lewis. Tarbert is a short drive for necessities.
All in all, we may curtail future exploration of Scottish islands and just return here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing