We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage on beautiful Luskentyre beach”
other travellers have booked this property
Cuckoo Cottage overlooking Luskentyre Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cuckoo Cottage overlooking Luskentyre Beach
On the beach, Luskentyre Luskentyre dunes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Cuckoo Cottage overlooking Luskentyre Beach
On the beach, Luskentyre
Luskentyre dunes
Double bedroom
Box bed in the kitchen
Preparing a special dinner
Family bathroom
Summer flowers on the mach air
Evening  light on the sands
Cottage interior
The snug
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stella A
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage on beautiful Luskentyre beach”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cottage was beautifully decorated with modern kitchen, luxurious bathrooms and underfloor heating (we had to turn it down). It was more spacious than we expected, and simply styled (cosy modern Scandinavian design). Everything was very comfortable, there was lots of space for everyone to relax on rainy days, our kids especially loved the box bed under the stairs for cosy reading. The location is fantastic, right across from the cemetery on Luskentyre beach, and views from the dining table were lovely. We loved Harris (despite lots of wind and rain) and loved the cottage. Owners directions were helpful and there were many interesting books on the island. We were a bit surprised at some of the negative reviews, we were very happy with Cuckoo Cottage and would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location on Luskentyre beach, and beautiful bathrooms.
Liked least: No complaints at all.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le_lambet...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location - average property”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Disappointed in property for the money we paid. Could not get under floor heating going (may have been us). Only place to hang clothes was a very old and worn out wardrobe with broken door handle and door sticking. This was also situated downstairs. The settee in the snug was not very comfortable nor was it possible to sit on and watch TV due to the placing of the TV. The upstairs was better in the furnishing but the squeaky laminate floor everywhere you trod in the bedroom got very wearing by end of week.
The kitchen was well equipped and the location was superb. Could do with a sign on gate or door giving name as number 4 Luskentyre was a B&B down the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location
Liked least: being disappointed with the quality of cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
I'm happy to say that the reviewer said he liked the cottage, in a telephone conversation during his stay.
Regretfully, the underfloor heating developed an air lock during or just prior to the reviewer's stay. Fortunately, the problem was professionally resolved within 24 hrs of being reported.
Regarding the hall cupboard downstairs, referred to as a worn out wardrobe, the piece is in fact a C19 French armoire, the door of which admittedly does stick. This will be rectified as soon as possible.
The upstairs bedroom has an engineered oak floor, not laminate, and will we hope return to normal shortly, otherwise it will be repaired as soon as possible
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ccurrie16
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cute, cosy, Chic Cuckoo Cottage.”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from our annual week in Harris this time we booked cuckoo cottage.
The cottage is extremely well equipped, tastefully decorated in a modern yet traditional style. Everything you could want or need and more from a holiday let.

As with any location on the island the cottage is in a beautiful spot. Although this setting is perfect right on Luskentyre beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan B
1 review
“A perfect cottage and a stunning location”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for a week at Cuckoo Cottage. The cottage is beautiful and well equipped. The views are stunning with uninterrupted scenes of Luskentyre Beach, which is a mere 50 meter walk.
Wifi would have added to our holiday experience, if only to find out about local amenities, but this did not detract from our enjoyment of a fantastic holiday on the island of Harris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage and the Location
Liked least: Nowhere to buy fresh fish to cook for ourselves
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzgeral...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful beach cottage!”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

After our visit to Harris Cuckoo Cottage, we fell in love with Luskentyre beach! This cottage is perfectly situated overlooking the most beautiful beach on Harris. We spent part of our honeymoon here and we are so glad we did. Although the weather wasn't the best, we could sit watching the changing skies and tides from the comforts of 'our' wee cosy cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing