We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
The Fishermans Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Fishermans Cottage
View from cottage View from cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The Fishermans Cottage
View from cottage
View from cottage
View from loch seaforth towards The Fishermans Cottage
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
View from kitchen to lounge
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Bathroom
Twin room
Home baking
Fresh shellfish available on request
Feed me!
Callanish Stones
Gearrannan Black House village
Uig, Lewis
Island sunset
Yacht anchored in loch at the front of the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AquaskyDi...
Tobermory, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 10 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Great place to stay. Very well equipped, everything looks new or just decorated. Made very welcome on arrival, we were shown how everything worked. Stayed in the cold weather but house was really warm. Will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive M
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Blissful”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect cottage, well appointed, perfectly equipped and in a stunning location. Great welcome from Alistair and his wife. Excellent position to tour both Harris and Lewis (although don't underestimate how long it will take you to get places). Only regret was that we did not see any sea otters in the loch but are hoping for better luck with our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you stay in our cottage and look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegovern...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional in every way”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Exceptional is not a word I use very much in reviews, but The Fisherman's Cottage deserves that praise. It's warm, very clean, homely, convenient, fully equipped, roomy and has outstanding views to boot - especially sunrise which can be spectacular. Alastair and Irene are wonderful hosts who obviously really care that you have a great time while you are there, leaving you alone to do your thing or available for words of advice and guidance.

A car is essential to see Harris & Lewis, we had 5 days but should have booked longer - we have never seen so much packed into one island - white beaches, lochs galore, easy to strenuous walking, hair-raising single track roads for miles, historic sites, isolated communities, Golden Eagles gliding around the cottage.

It's a difficult place to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Super clean. Everything you need for a self catering break.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion B
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first stay at the Fisherman's Cottage and we absolutely loved it! Alistair and Irene are wonderful and made us feel very welcome. We arrived to a bottle of wine, smoked salmon and a wonderful cake! What a start! The cottage is lovely and we felt very much at home. It is decorated to a high standard, there is plenty of room and everything you need is there. The views out of the windows at the front over Loch Seaforth are amazing. We saw the resident otter on numerous occasions include golden eagles, grey seals and many birds. The bedroom is comfortable and so is the bed and it is very quiet. Lovely. The cottage has central heating and a wood burner which we did not need as the weather was fantastic for most of our stay. The cottage is in a good location for both visiting Harris and Lewis. We just love the place and will be going back next year fingers crossed. Thank you Alistair and Irene for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views across Loch Seaforth
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinclair...
Crawley, West sussex
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Fantastic stay at Fisherman's cottage. The view was beautiful even if the weather was a bit dreary, this didn't spoil our fun. The cottage was lovely and warm, fantastic furnishings - the best bed ever!!!!! Very quiet situation even though it is just off the main road, you could not hear any cars. Thank you to Alistair and Irene for a beautiful cottage which is well looked after.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: King size memory foam matress on the bed
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 98
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing