We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location, wonderfully comfortable...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Fishermans Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Fishermans Cottage
View from cottage View from cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The Fishermans Cottage
View from cottage
View from cottage
View from loch seaforth towards The Fishermans Cottage
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
View from kitchen to lounge
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Bathroom
Twin room
Home baking
Fresh shellfish available on request
Feed me!
Callanish Stones
Gearrannan Black House village
Uig, Lewis
Island sunset
Yacht anchored in loch at the front of the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Catherine...
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, wonderfully comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

on the shore of Loch Seaforth, looking down the loch to Skye. wonderful location. we spent much time just looking out of our windows!
the hosts are extremely welcoming & available if you have any queries
the cottage is very spacious & would comfortably sleep four. we had it as a couple & it was really very lovely
modern & well equipped but with a log burner which was very cosy
just off the main road so fantastic location for all of Harris & Lewis but very quiet
no negatives - except we had to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: no view of the loch when sitting down on the sofa
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage.”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Wonderful cottage in a great location, very handy for both Lewis and Harris. Had a lovely week here. The cottage has everything you could possibly want and is so tastefully decorated. It was lovely just relaxing in the evenings. Irene and Alasdair made us most welcome with a bottle of wine and some home baking, also some delicious smoked salmon. The view from the kitchen window was great and we could even see Skye some evenings. We were fortunate with the weather and went from the Butt of Lewis to the very south of Harris. Would definitely recommend Fisherman's cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked everything.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stayfocus...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cottage in idyllic setting”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed for 4 nights in April in this tastefully presented and very comfortable cottagel. Irene and Alasdair could not have been more welcoming and thoughtful hosts. Home baking and wine welcomed us and Alasdair provided us with a large dish of the plumpest, freshest prawns we'd ever tasted - husband thought he'd died and gone to heaven. Only regret was the weather was too warm to try the log burner! Maybe next time!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calina
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This ideal retreat would be hard to beat”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a week, our aim was total relaxation and we got it! The cottage is absolutely perfect, it has everything you could possibly need, so clean and well stocked. The view from the living room over the loch is magnificient, being November the weather was changeable so we saw the loch in lots of different forms. Top tip: Don't light the fire too early or you will not be awake after 8 p.m.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delph17
nyc
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday cottage”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Beautiful home in a tranquil setting.After a days sightseeing it was a joy to return to the fishermans cottage.Great kitchen to prepare meals and then to relax by the fire on the recliners planning the next days adventures with wifi that worked great .
Location perfect for exploring and not too far from our fav beach at Luskentyre.
Thank you Irene and Alistair for a wonderful stay and would like to commend you on the little extras that are sometimes overlooked in holiday rental properties.
Highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location,cleanliness,lots of towels and quality bedding,comfy sofas
Liked least: Nothing other than we wanted to stay longer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing