We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carndaisy House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Dower House(Muir of Ord)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ben Wyvis Hotel(Strathpeffer)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Priory Hotel(Beauly)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mackay's Hotel(Strathpeffer)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Highland Hotel(Strathpeffer)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strathpeffer Hotel(Strathpeffer)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
121
15
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
15
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome bakingcakesb bon arrivalstayed for two nightswarm welcomestayed longerthe breakfast areafresh fruit saladtour of scotlandincluding freshpersonal touchmemorable staylovely conservatory overlookingbrilliant hostsbiscuitslovely breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2011

A very enjoyable stay, lovely room, great breakfast and one of the warmest welcomes we have encountered for a very long time. It isn't often that we come across a little gem that we would recommend to friends and family but this is one.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Lovely four poster rooms, welcoming home baking and a wee dram, beautiful views and grounds, cosy conservatory,good breakfast, friendly and helpfull family, can't wait to go again

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Carndaisy, the twin/triple room was perfectly clean and decorated beautifully. Linda our host was very friendly, offered us a glass of wine on arrival and made us a lovely cooked breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: We booked the twin/triple room online, which has a double bed and a single bed. It was modern and had a new ensuite shower room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoomer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Carndaisy House was the second B&B we stayed at on our little tour of Scotland. We stayed for two nights and drove up from Blair Drummond Safari Park near Stirling on the Friday of our trip.

The drive took us five hours, but we took the scenic route via Glen Coe and the Great Glen, as we wanted to re-visit the sights we had seen a few years back. I just loved seeing the Three Sisters and the numerous lochs on the way up to Muir of Ord where Carndaisy is situated, just 20/25 minutes from Inverness and 15/20 minutes from Dingwall.

The B&B was a little difficult to find as the postcode doesn’t take you to the correct destination, though on Google Maps it does. Luckily I had read some reviews on Trip Advisor before leaving and wrote down the directions other people had suggested. Thankfully with all this information, we managed to find Carndaisy. From the south: the B&B is situated further up the road past Muir of Ord and the distillery (on the left) on the A832. Keep driving and you will see a small church on the right hand side (The Church of Wester Urray) there is also a small white sign for Carndaisy. Turn right down a little side road and follow the road until you see a small wooden sign saying Carndaisy House. There is parking for about four cars.

Carndaisy House is a new build, only two years old. We arrived at the B&B about 7pm, and from the front, I wasn’t too sure we were at the correct place as there is no sign saying B&B in front of the house, nor any sign saying, ‘knock here for assistance’. We asked the proprietors’ son who was watering the flowers and he sent for his father, Dougie who apologised for not hearing us arrive and welcomed us in. At first I thought he didn’t have a clue we were arriving as I had corresponded with his wife Linda. I did email her a few days before our holiday forewarning her we would be late in arriving on the Friday. Luckily Dougie had confirmation of our booking and he showed us through to the dinning room where breakfast would be served and the conservatory overlooking fields with highland cattle.

Our room was one of the four posters, and I was so happy to see it was the one I saw on their website, the black four poster! I had coveted that room since seeing the picture and was so happy when we were offered it! Dougie suggested some places to have dinner in Muir of Ord and left us to settle in. We decided to head into Dingwall to have a quick pizza as we wanted to relax after a long days travelling. Before we headed back out, Linda knocked on our door and welcomed us but offering a drink of whisky or wine. The request would have been gladly taken if we were not heading out again, so we had to decline, but we thought it was a nice touch. Linda and Dougie seem very friendly, welcoming hosts.

The room itself was fresh and bright and very modern but comfortable in the lighting and furnishings. I loved the four poster the only down side was that the mattress was a bit flat on the sides and both David and I felt we were falling out of bed. The bathroom was warm and inviting with a lovely shower. The room was well heated and there was free wireless accessibility, the details were in the handbook provided.

For breakfast you filled in a little sheet with what you required the following morning. Breakfast was between 7.30am – 8.30am. In keeping with the new build theme, the breakfast room was very light and modern. You helped yourself to tea and coffee and cereals and if you requested a cooked breakfast Dougie would bring that in to you. Dougie was always very friendly, asked if you slept ok and what you had planned that day.

On Saturday we had booked a cruise of the Moray Firth with Ecoventures at Cromarty, in the hope of seeing wild Bottle-nosed Dolphins.

We drove the 45 minutes from Carndaisy to Cromarty, we found plenty of free on street parking. The trips with Ecoventures can be very popular so book early to avoid disappointment. It costs £22 each for two hours, and worth every penny! There is also a little shop where you can get cuddly dolphin toys. Robyn and Sarah are both very welcoming and they provide waterproof overalls and life jackets for your safety. After a little talk about what to expect on the cruise, where the day before they hadn’t seen any dolphins, we headed out to the boat, a RIB or ridged inflatable boat, looked more like a power boat dingy!

The two hours went too fast, but we were successful in seeing dolphins, one even jumped right next to the boat! After dolphin hunting, we stopped by the cliffs and Sarah pointed out some birdlife while offering us biscuits and orange juice, which was a nice touch. David however felt sea sick, but managed to survive the rest of the cruise.

Later on that day we headed down to Chanonry point on the Black Isle to hopefully see dolphins from the shore as they come inland after a low tide, though we waited over two hours we only saw one dolphin. We were disappointed but can’t complain as we saw them on the boat trip.

On returning late to the B&B we found in our room four little home made fudge cakes, a lovely touch from Linda!

The next day, Sunday was our check out day, after an early breakfast we said goodbye to Linda who said we had chosen a good Moray Firth cruise and asked us where we were travelling too next, even Dougie came over to the car to shake our hand goodbye.

David and I really felt relaxed and welcome at Carndaisy and would highly recommend to anyone staying in this part of Scotland.

Room Tip: Find directions to B&B before heading out as postcode doesn't take you to house!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine_lucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Our family room was spacious and lovely with beautiful countryside views. Breakfast was
great and very generous. We were treated to Linda's delicious homemade cakes and scones fresh out of the oven at no cost. The owners were charming and really friendly. The location was good too, very near to Loch Ness. All in all we were very happy with our stay there and will make every effort to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathyRickmansworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews