We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Carndaisy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carndaisy House
Ranked #1 of 10 Muir of Ord B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed at Carndaisy House in September 2011 after reading a few very positive reviews on Tripadvisor. Even though reviewers advised that you need to make sure where you are going, we thought we'll find it. As we ignored the advice, it took us a while to fine find Carndaisy House. When we arrived we were very warmly welcomed by Linda and her husband and they really made us feel at home for the 2 nights we stayed. We had a large room with a four poster bed, overlooking a field, which was really what we were looking for on our trip to Scotland. Breakfast was great and we just had so much choice.
An absolute must stay when in the Inverness area!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nemrac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
52
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Colonsay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

A very enjoyable stay, lovely room, great breakfast and one of the warmest welcomes we have encountered for a very long time. It isn't often that we come across a little gem that we would recommend to friends and family but this is one.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Lovely four poster rooms, welcoming home baking and a wee dram, beautiful views and grounds, cosy conservatory,good breakfast, friendly and helpfull family, can't wait to go again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Carndaisy, the twin/triple room was perfectly clean and decorated beautifully. Linda our host was very friendly, offered us a glass of wine on arrival and made us a lovely cooked breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: We booked the twin/triple room online, which has a double bed and a single bed. It was modern and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoomer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Carndaisy House was the second B&B we stayed at on our little tour of Scotland. We stayed for two nights and drove up from Blair Drummond Safari Park near Stirling on the Friday of our trip.

The drive took us five hours, but we took the scenic route via Glen Coe and the Great Glen, as we wanted to re-visit the sights we had seen a few years back. I just loved seeing the Three Sisters and the numerous lochs on the way up to Muir of Ord where Carndaisy is situated, just 20/25 minutes from Inverness and 15/20 minutes from Dingwall.

The B&B was a little difficult to find as the postcode doesn’t take you to the correct destination, though on Google Maps it does. Luckily I had read some reviews on Trip Advisor before leaving and wrote down the directions other people had suggested. Thankfully with all this information, we managed to find Carndaisy. From the south: the B&B is situated further up the road past Muir of Ord and the distillery (on the left) on the A832. Keep driving and you will see a small church on the right hand side (The Church of Wester Urray) there is also a small white sign for Carndaisy. Turn right down a little side road and follow the road until you see a small wooden sign saying Carndaisy House. There is parking for about four cars.

Carndaisy House is a new build, only two years old. We arrived at the B&B about 7pm, and from the front, I wasn’t too sure we were at the correct place as there is no sign saying B&B in front of the house, nor any sign saying, ‘knock here for assistance’. We asked the proprietors’ son who was watering the flowers and he sent for his father, Dougie who apologised for not hearing us arrive and welcomed us in. At first I thought he didn’t have a clue we were arriving as I had corresponded with his wife Linda. I did email her a few days before our holiday forewarning her we would be late in arriving on the Friday. Luckily Dougie had confirmation of our booking and he showed us through to the dinning room where breakfast would be served and the conservatory overlooking fields with highland cattle.

Our room was one of the four posters, and I was so happy to see it was the one I saw on their website, the black four poster! I had coveted that room since seeing the picture and was so happy when we were offered it! Dougie suggested some places to have dinner in Muir of Ord and left us to settle in. We decided to head into Dingwall to have a quick pizza as we wanted to relax after a long days travelling. Before we headed back out, Linda knocked on our door and welcomed us but offering a drink of whisky or wine. The request would have been gladly taken if we were not heading out again, so we had to decline, but we thought it was a nice touch. Linda and Dougie seem very friendly, welcoming hosts.

The room itself was fresh and bright and very modern but comfortable in the lighting and furnishings. I loved the four poster the only down side was that the mattress was a bit flat on the sides and both David and I felt we were falling out of bed. The bathroom was warm and inviting with a lovely shower. The room was well heated and there was free wireless accessibility, the details were in the handbook provided.

For breakfast you filled in a little sheet with what you required the following morning. Breakfast was between 7.30am – 8.30am. In keeping with the new build theme, the breakfast room was very light and modern. You helped yourself to tea and coffee and cereals and if you requested a cooked breakfast Dougie would bring that in to you. Dougie was always very friendly, asked if you slept ok and what you had planned that day.

On Saturday we had booked a cruise of the Moray Firth with Ecoventures at Cromarty, in the hope of seeing wild Bottle-nosed Dolphins.

We drove the 45 minutes from Carndaisy to Cromarty, we found plenty of free on street parking. The trips with Ecoventures can be very popular so book early to avoid disappointment. It costs £22 each for two hours, and worth every penny! There is also a little shop where you can get cuddly dolphin toys. Robyn and Sarah are both very welcoming and they provide waterproof overalls and life jackets for your safety. After a little talk about what to expect on the cruise, where the day before they hadn’t seen any dolphins, we headed out to the boat, a RIB or ridged inflatable boat, looked more like a power boat dingy!

The two hours went too fast, but we were successful in seeing dolphins, one even jumped right next to the boat! After dolphin hunting, we stopped by the cliffs and Sarah pointed out some birdlife while offering us biscuits and orange juice, which was a nice touch. David however felt sea sick, but managed to survive the rest of the cruise.

Later on that day we headed down to Chanonry point on the Black Isle to hopefully see dolphins from the shore as they come inland after a low tide, though we waited over two hours we only saw one dolphin. We were disappointed but can’t complain as we saw them on the boat trip.

On returning late to the B&B we found in our room four little home made fudge cakes, a lovely touch from Linda!

The next day, Sunday was our check out day, after an early breakfast we said goodbye to Linda who said we had chosen a good Moray Firth cruise and asked us where we were travelling too next, even Dougie came over to the car to shake our hand goodbye.

David and I really felt relaxed and welcome at Carndaisy and would highly recommend to anyone staying in this part of Scotland.

Room Tip: Find directions to B&B before heading out as postcode doesn't take you to house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine_lucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muir of Ord
5.5 km away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
3.2 km away
The Dower House
The Dower House
#1 of 1 in Muir of Ord
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
6.9 km away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
7.2 km away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
20.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carndaisy House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carndaisy House

Property: Carndaisy House
Address: Carndaisy House Easter Urray, Muir of Ord IV6 7UL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Muir of Ord
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Muir of Ord
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,446 - ₹ 12,400
Hotel Class:4 star — Carndaisy House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carndaisy House is family run guest house accommodation set in spectacular countryside near Inverness. On arrival at our B&B in the Highlands, you are assured of a warm welcome. Our guesthouse offers excellent bed and breakfast lodgings close to ‘The City of Inverness’ Scotland. We are a 20 minute drive from ‘Loch Ness’ and ‘Urquhart Castle’ and only a 5 minute drive to ‘Glen Ord Whiskey Distillery.’ Our Bed and Breakfast accommodation offers 3 rooms, a family suite, triple and four poster. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carndaisy House Muir Of Ord, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing