We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Life on the farm”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
max147
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Life on the farm”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at this wonderful accomodation for a week with my mother and two teenage boys.
When we opened the fridge there was a lovely surprise of fresh eggs and sausages which we had for breakfast the next day.

The cottage is over the road from Gillian the owners stunning farm, which they are more than happy for guests to ramble around. The boys explored every river and hill on e farm during our weeks stay.

As a city dwellers the boys loved collecting the fresh eggs from the hen houses in the morning for our breakfast.

The weather was not great when we visited but we were nice and warm with all the extra logs Gillian provide free of charge so the boys made a fire every night.

This is our second stay here and hope its not our last.

Thank you Gillian
Karen

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jittab
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best holiday home ever”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We visited craigrobin in August 2013 me my hubby and our 4 girls the house itself was fantastic a real Scottish Cosy retreat , the children had the upstairs and loved the fact they could see the sheep out of the windows and see Gillian working on the farm , we had loads to do in our week visited the chocolate factory and went to visit the deer ,we were very lucky and saw shooting stars whilst we were there which was fantastic .we spent quite a bit of time on the farm and my hubby fished in their pond ,the kids went and picked eggs with Gillian passing through her beautiful garden even though Gillian was busy working on the farm she couldn't do enough for us just a quick text and she got us extra eggs and sausages
from the farm .my kids who were 14,9,6 and 4 at the time said it was the best holiday home ever and wanted to live
there ! Enough said I think :)
I have recommended this to friends and family who have also been and they also loved it x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M
Glasgow, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Average”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I stayed at Craigrobin cottage for 3 nights during the October week with my mum and 5 year old son. Gill the owner responded quickly to my emails before the stay and the photographs of the property made it look lovely.
On arrival, we found the cottage to be cold - it is heated by electric storage heaters - and it took until the following day for the cottage to heat up to a reasonable standard. It remained fine for the rest of the stay. However, I am guessing that between lets, the property is not heated and therefore although clean, the ground floor of the property did have a damp smell. We all slept upstairs and found the accommodation there comfortable.
Gill did not visit us during our stay which I found odd as on previous stays at other properties, the owner has always attended at some point to confirm all was well.
Overall, I was slightly disappointed with the property however, it is reasonable value for money and was fine for the short period of time we were there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The upstairs bedrooms and jack and jill bathroom
Liked least: The heating system and damp smell
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2014
It is disappointing to get a review like this, this lady booked and payed for two people her and her child, she then asked if she brought her mum would it be extra ,it should have been because of the extra cost of bedding etc but I didn't charge any extra ,I emailed her the morning of her arrival with directions ,she had my mobile no in case she needed anything.The cottage had been occupied for several months and heated continuously ,no one else has had any issues with it being cold,a basket of logs was included for the wood burner if desired, it's a pity she couldn't have said something when she was here instead of waiting till she was gone .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moher73
Gassino Torinese, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing