We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$ 117
eDreamsUS$ 117
Agoda.comUS$ 117
TripadvisorUS$ 117
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
101
22
4
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
101
22
4
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry beautiful hotel itison deal sunday lunch difficult circumstances extensive grounds strength to strength family run hotel delicious meal lovely afternoon couldn t friendly welcoming staff eye for detail roll top bath warm welcome lovely grounds our honeymoon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2020

My colleagues attended an afternoon tea at Ernespie Country Hotel . We were warmly received by Shashank the proprietor and shown into the dining area where the log fire blazed and tables were arranged for social distancing and bright with Christmas decorations. Tea was laid out for the individual with a selection of savouries with sauces and sandwiches then scones, jam and cream , individual fresh sponge cream cakes and mince pies . A glass of bubbly was served and a ready supply of tea. This was a lovely chance for members of ourchoir who have been unable to meet to get together. I recommend the Ernespie for a welcome to your party and a tasty tea where there is every attention to detail.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rebeccahR6334CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2020

I organised a socially distanced Birthday meal with friends at the Ernespie hotel. Shashank couldn't have been more helpful from start to finish. He accommodated our every ask and despite having to make the party socially distanced we still easily were able to enjoy a wonderful evening. The room was beautifully decorated with a Christmas tree in the corner and wood burning stove on full blast. The views from the window were a perfect backdrop. We ate from the Christmas menu and couldn't fault the food - it was delicious. I look forward to dining there again!

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1980earl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2020

Met up with my parents for a cosy evening meal at Ernespie House in Castle Douglas. By far the best meal we have had in ages - beautiful, tasty, freshly cooked food in a cosy setting. Log burner roaring, lovely relaxed atmosphere and friendly welcome/service. Local beers, plenty of choice - we will absolutely be back!

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank nataliehO8543BP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2020

I would highly recommend Ernespie for both a meal and also for hosting your small/not so small gathering. The team were fabulous going above and beyond to deliver us a very special wedding reception in difficult circumstances and at short notice. Everything was fantastic: food &decor all with the personal touch.

Your support and the effort you made to make our day go perfectly means so much to us!
Many thanks!!

Rachel &Connor

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 488rachels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2020

We could only stay one night but wished it had been longer. The hotel was well furnished with an eye for detail. The greeting from Shashank was relaxed and welcoming and the hotel was toasty warm. We’d booked dinner, bed and breakfast and boy did we enjoy all three. The dinner was the now renowned mama’s curry, excellently cooked and so tasty. The room was very well presented and comfortable with a nicely decorated en-suite. The Scottish cooked breakfast was a delight and fuelled us up for the day ahead.
I would wholeheartedly recommended this lovely family run hotel. The care and enthusiasm of the owners is evident everywhere you look. Set in 14 acres of lovely countryside you can enjoy a walk before and after each delicious meal.
Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews