We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment - great facilities with a lovely...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lochside Apartment

Balcony view across Lochside Park, Carlingwark Loch and the hills of Screel and Ben Gairn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony view across Lochside Park, Carlingwark Loch and the hills of Screel and Ben Gairn
Balconies from Lochide Park
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Balcony view across Lochside Park, Carlingwark Loch and the hills of Screel and Ben Gairn
Balconies from Lochide Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CyborgStu
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment - great facilities with a lovely balcony view.”
Reviewed 31 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Booking was simple via the website. Used PayPal to pay for the week.

The apartments ( there are two, can be combined if a larger party) are very modern. They were newly built onto existing house of the owner and included a large balcony with outdoor seating, electricity and lighting.

The bedrooms are located on ground floor so you can have the view over Carlingwark Loch all day long.

Bathrooms are modern and the downstairs one includes a bath, upstairs is a large walk in shower room.

Wifi is standard and I got download speeds of 10mbps plus and 1.5mps upload spped. Kitchen is great with dishwasher, coffee machine, fridge/freezer and microwave. Washer/ dryer is located under stairs and was very useful with a toddler!!! There is a dining room table for 4 in the open plan lounge/diner/kitchen.

Both bedrooms include flatscreens TVs with DVD player inside. There are iPod docks around the apartment including a grea one in the upstairs living room.

The upstairs wooden floor was slightly noisy, but only noticeable in the evening when trying to be quieter when little one asleep - this isn't a major issue and didn't put us off the property.

Location is great as a base for Dumfries and Galloway exploration or for trips further afield.

Andrew, the owner, purchased toddler stair gates to ensure our safety whilst at the property. We very much appreciated it and it made life so much simpler and safer. Request them if you need them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Modern, clean facilities with a great view of Carlingwark Loch.
Liked least: Slightly noisy upstairs wooden floor.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weekendtr...
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent and comfortable accomodation”
Reviewed 15 June 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is really well furnished; light and modern. Everything you need for a comfortable break is there. We were really lucky with the weather so we used the balcony, with folding doors off the living room, every day. The location is great for access to some of the 7stanes bike parks although the secure bike store could be a bit taller so that bikes can be stored upright. I would definatley recommend these apartments!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Balcony with folding doors from the living room
Liked least: Cycle store could have been taller
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KCodd
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation, superb location. Highly recommend a visit!”
Reviewed 12 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my two teenage sons (15 and 17) and we could not have been more pleased that we chose Lochside Apartments as our base.

The pictures on the website and on Trip Advisor accurately represent the accommodation which was immaculate.

We arrived late evening (10pm) and Sarah was on hand to show us around, welcoming us with treats of chocolates, fresh bread, ground coffee, local biscuits, fresh milk and even a Victoria sponge!

Everything we could possibly have needed was available and the furnishings were wonderfully comfortable. The boys were particularly impressed with the ipod docking stations in the living room and both bedrooms and the free wifi connection was a very welcome bonus.

We were staying in the area until Sunday afternoon and we were able to leave the apartment around 4pm with no hint that this was inconvenient and with no excess charges.

I have already recommended Lochside Apartments to family and would not waste any time considering staying elsewhere should I visit Dumfries and Galloway again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing