We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
views from Lounge and front bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
views from Lounge and front bedroom
View from hilltop
Dining room
Patio with view to the GallowY hills
Pond with waterfall
Kitchen dining
Full bathroom with shower over bath
Double bedroom with ensuite shower room
Bedroom view 2 plenty of storage
Ensuite shower room
Bedroom 2 with views to the Galloway hills
Well equipped kitchen
Dining area in kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mackinlay...
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Hilltop for a week at the end of September 2016. We were 4 adults and a dog. The property is very comfortable with all the necessary equipment for a self-catering stay. The local amenities are very good with 2 good sized supermarkets less than 5 minutes from the property. The added convenience of 2 bathrooms (one en suite) is very handy. Overall I would highly recommend Hilltop and there's lots to see and do in the local area. Our hostess was very helpful and relaxed.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajroberts...
Didsbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cozy, and lovely views!”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

i would highly recommend this lovely cottage to anyone wishing to stay and travel in the region. Beautifully decorated, thoughtfully outfitted, and every comfort provided to make your stay highly enjoyable. We particularly loved the beautifully maintained gardens (front and back) and the lovely views by the fire with our morning coffee! I will definitely be revisiting this lovely cottage on my next trip! Excellent!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful interiors, gardens, and view
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay look forward to seeing you again
Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy H
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Creme de la creme”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at hill top at short notice where we found the owner(Lin) waiting for us it was just perfect spotlessly clean everything was there that we needed and views were breathtaking lin was so accommodating with the service that we have re booked for later on in the year!.....cottage is perfectly situated for country as well as sea walks absolutely beautiful well done Lin x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Hilltop look forward to seeing you again

Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing