We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Barley cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Tom A
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homely”
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Highly recommend this lovely cottage if you want to explore this beautiful part of Scotland you must stay here great views great hosts nice touch arriving to find a welcome pack.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2018
Thank you Tom and glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lillykell...
lillykelly
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean and homely ”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a lovely stay at the cottage. We meet the cleaning lady (Marg ? ) she was lovely,she chatted to us about the area and what was what in the cottage, she couldn't of been more helpful.
The beds were comfortable and clean, I always take cleaning stuff with me on holiday and feel that I need to clean the house before the holiday can start but I have to say the cottage didn't need anything doing which was amazing.
The welcome pack was a lovely touch.

The only thing I would say about the cottage, which I don't think the owners can do anything about, is the neighbours could do with sorting out there garden area and they can be very loud at time but please don't let it put you off staying as the cottage is one of the best I have stayed in.

The area around the cottage is very good for food shopping and you can get to most areas you would want to visit. The dark sky's are amazing.

I would like to thank Marg got all her help and for the lovely welcome to the cottage

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2018
Thank you Lilly we’re glad you enjoyed your stay and it would be Jacqueline or Maureen who welcomed you in. I’ll pass on your kind words. Hopefully see you back some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Mar 2018
Thank you for your great review scotlas11 it’s much appreciated and hope to see you back some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Explore69...
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a lovely setting what more could you want !!!!!”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Great cottage in a great location minutes from Newton Stewart. Brilliant view of the river Cree from the balcony. Everything you need in the cottage great starter pack, lovely welcome.
Thanks again for everything,

Alexander Dobbie.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2018
Thank you Alexander and we hope you come back again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cdpGallow...
Galloway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location by river.”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed from Christmas Eve until New Year's Day and everything was perfect. Really excellent accommodation, with spacious lounge from which a balcony is accessed. This looks over the river Cree which runs through the town. It was wonderful to spend time sat out there (coats on as winter!) drinking mulled wine watching the river run past. The cottage is located not far from the centre of town making it an ideal place for evenings out and visiting the local attractions which are too numerous to list. The beds are so comfortable and the heating amazing, we were very cosy. The owners went to the trouble of putting up a Christmas tree for us and a large festive hamper was over flowing with goodies when we arrived. Very generous and started our stay off in an excellent way. Kitchen and bathroom facilities are excellent and we cooked as well as going out. I particularly enjoyed the fact that there is an 'essentials cupboard' in the kitchen which we just replaced items from when we used them.
I would highly recommend Barley cottage and would definitely hope to stay there again. Thanking Rod and Susan for their hospitality.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Thank you Collette. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again some time. Happy new year to you all
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing