We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Penkiln Cottage

Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm. Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Barbara and sister Doris.RIP
A sizable Rainbow Trout from our Loch.
Downstream of our river (the Penkiln)
View towards Knockman Wood from our Loch
View towards the Merrick and Cairnsmore Hills  at the Farm.
Fully fitted shower room.
Bunk room.
Our extensive lounge.
Kitchen.
Double Room.
Near bye Mossyard Beach.
Near bye Port Patrick.
A wild Goat at the Goatpark.
Big George saying hello to guests through  our cat flap at the Farmhouse.
A Deer Stag at the Deer range.
One of our many Barn Owl chicks!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JeremyT19...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
Reviewed 30 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had a lovely holiday at Penkiln Cottage, which was extemely comfortable and well equipped. We had a warm welcome from Mark, and a goodies basket which included Diane's delicious blackcurrant jam. There was so much to do in the area; lovely walks from the door, Wood of Cree just up the road, and longer days out to Glen Trool,Port Patrick, Wigtown, and Port William. We hope to come back to see the rest. We loved the sound of the burn running alongside the cottage. It was such a relaxing accompaniment to help us unwind in such a beautiful location. Thank you very much.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AED123
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful place”
Reviewed 30 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Wonderful location, easy to find using SatNav. Very peaceful yet all amenities close to hand. The cottage was, clean, warm and spacious. So quiet too. A great base for travelling around this lovely area. Mark and Diane were very welcoming and helpful in suggesting places to visit. Lots of info in the cottage too, maps, places to visit etc. DVD's to watch, a good selection. Nothing to fault, would highly recommend. The homemade jam is excellent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandralon...
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A little bit of heaven no matter what time of year.”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This was our second visit ti this wonderful home from home.
It was just as lovely in December/January as it was in July.
Mark and Diane do everything they can to make sure that your stay is a warm and comfortable experience. So many lovely places to visit.
We will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
1 review
“A Wee Gem”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I stayed at Penkiln Cottage for a long weekend in July with my wife and two young children. The owner, Mark, was there to meet us when we arrived and gave us a tour of the cottage and the farm on which it's located. Mark made numerous suggestions of things we could do in the local area, and places we could visit. We took up his suggestion of visiting Portpatrick, and are very glad we did - it's not somewhere we had thought to visit, and we thoroughly enjoyed a morning on the beach by the harbour and lunch outside at The Harbour House Hotel.

The cottage itself was comfortable, spacious and extremely clean. We really appreciated the welcome basket full of biscuits and jam. The enclosed garden to the rear of the building was a real advantage and it meant the children could play outside without any worry of them running off! There was a large selection of books, board games and DVDs to keep us all entertained. Newton Stewart is only a 15 minute walk away following the path by the river and we found a nice little pub to eat at on our first night.

I was aware of the nearby Kirroughtree 7stanes mountain bike trail centre, so came prepared with my bike, and was able to drive along for a quick ride on the Saturday evening. It was about 5pm when I got there and everyone else had obviously headed home by then - it was fantastically quiet and I literally had the forest and trails to myself.

Unfortunately we didn't see the resident barn owls during our visit - maybe next time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing