We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Superb luxury and service second to none” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kirroughtree House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kirroughtree House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb luxury and service second to none”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I should have written this just over a year ago, having stayed for a night early in May 2011. Kirroughtree House was like walking into a dream. Everything about the hotel, from the moment we were met at the door, was easily the best hotel stay I have experienced. The staff seemed determined that we would enjoy our stay. I could not recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    28
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
90
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We recently had a two day break at Kirroughtree. We were met at the door by the manager who welcomed us and carried the bags in. What a good first impression. The house and gardens are lovely, rooms are decorated to a high standard in a traditional style and even the dog got a warm welcome. Our room was enormous, on the ground floor and access straight out to the car park for the pooch. The bathroom was the biggest I've ever seen (and incidentally, fully kitted out for disabled access - everything you could need for wheelchair users).

We had good food in a lovely surroundings with a relaxed and genuinely friendly atmosphere and even the weather was gorgeous - although I don't think they guarantee that!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverness uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

we are fortunate to have been well travelled and yet this was the best all round hotel experience
we've had in years. Staff truly friendly and helpful and the room perfectly acceptable. Food
brilliant both in quality and well chosen quantities. A daily menu change and even the sweet course altered.A well used lounge area , the design of which makes strangers mingle.We will be
back at the first opportunity. An example of attention to detail was when I booked months ago
I asked about trout fishing availability. When I checked in I was given the information I had requested.--- pretty good !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueboyinvernessuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

This must have been our fifth or sixth visit to the Kirroughtree. We fell in love with its calm, relaxed way of delivering the very best in service and cuisine. Understated and always over-delivered. Friendly, attentive staff beutiful suuroundings and the superb forrestry of the Galloway Hills. Just wonderful!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

This is not for "trendy" people looking for the latest interior design (at a price!) but for those seeking the grandeur of a fine building, excellent service and comfort in a hotel with high recommendations from the guide books and we had an excellent offer when booking in February. The decor is in keeping with the style and all public areas particularly the dining rooms and lounge area are beautifully decorated and very fresh looking. The bedrooms are not as uplifting with the colour schemes but ours were not down at heel! We stayed in superior rooms during our visit (had to change rooms as we wanted to stay longer than originally booked) and both provided every comfort with good bathroom facilities. I feel that for some the peace may be a little off putting and some gently music in the lounge and dining rooms may encourage conversation when not fully booked. Wouldn't choose anywhere else to stay in Galloway area.

Room Tip: we stayed in superior rooms 2 and 19 both we would book again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKholidays737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
1.0 km away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
20.9 km away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.5 km away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
29.9 km away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
36.1 km away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stranraer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirroughtree House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirroughtree House Hotel

Property: Kirroughtree House Hotel
Address: Kirroughtree Lodge House Heron Way, Newton Stewart DG8 6AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,037 - ₹ 8,636
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirroughtree House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country house hotel, a former private manor dating back to the 1700's, sitting within 8 acres of its own gardens, a golf course adjacent. It is located near to the picturesque town of Newton Stewart built on the banks of the River Cree, and is within walking distance of the Galloway forest and hills. There is not only a variety of walks around the town and through the forest, but great cycling tracks as well. Slightly further away are a number of historical sights and the Machar Peninsular. On the Machar peninsular you will find the Booktown of Wigtown famous for its annual book festival, picturesque ports, a cave that was occupied by an early Christian Missionary to the Area, a bird sanctuary and the furthest south whisky distillery in Scotland. The Mull of Galloway, the most southerly point in Scotland, is not far away with its bird life and views to Ireland and the Isle of Man. If the magical village of Brigadoon was to appear this is where it would be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Kirroughtree House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirroughtree House Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland
Kirroughtree Hotel Newton Stewart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing