We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starry-eyed at Kirroughtree House Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kirroughtree House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Starry-eyed at Kirroughtree House Hotel”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My wife and I have come to know and like this hotel. We were attracted by their advert which offered a star gazing weekend to coincide with our wedding anniversary. Irresistible! The hotel was as comfortable as ever with the usual high quality cooking. The star gazing was provided by Steve Owens, a freelance science communicator and astronomer, who took us to Dark Sky Park, a dedicated area of Galloway Forest. He was inspirational. We learned so much about the stars and came away enthused. The next star gazing break at Kirroughtree is 17-19 February 2012. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobKirrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    31
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
15
99
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

No one could accuse the Kirroughtree of being cutting edge but that is its charm. We stayed recently for 2 nights in Room 11 and while I never noticed a stain on the carpet, I would echo the earlier reviewer's point about the slightly past-it dried flowers. This however was the only negative in an excellent couple of days.

When we first shown to our room I was disappointed but only for a matter of seconds until I realised that there was a separate sitting room which was comforatable and spacious with views across the grounds to the hills beyond. The welcoming sherry and fruit was the icing on the cake.

Dinner on both nights was excellent with good produce well-cooked and nicely presented. They put a copy of that night's menu in your room and we enjoyed making our choice and choosing wine before going downstairs. There were 3 or 4 choices for each course and the standard of cooking and combination of flavours and texture were all top-notch. You can see how they earned their AA rosettes.

Breakfast too was excellent, everyhing was plated - no buffet scrum here!

From start to finish the service was excellent. The secret of any business is great staff and this has been achieved. Friendly without being over-familiar, helpful without being pushy and always with time to assist. It sounds so simple but lots of hotels grander and more expensive than this one fail to make the mark. The hotel was quiet on the first night and much busier on the second but without any adverse impact on service.

It had been 22 years since we had visited Kirroughtree but I'm sure we'll return much quicker next time.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view to the front of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ask_a_local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed here while visiting the Wigtown Book Festival and it was an ideal choice. The bedroom was huge and very well furnished. The atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming and the staff couldn't have done more to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner. And the icing on the cake is that they are happy to accept dogs albeit only in a small number of rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwfr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

A Hotel we have stayed at on many occasions over the past 12 years. It is always an enjoyable and memorable experience

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Just spent two wonderful days here in Newton Stewart staying here at Kirroughtree. It was luxury in a lovely gentle atmosphere.
The breakfasts were good but evening dinner was even better, good food deliciously cooked.
Very comfortable twin beds, good room with a great view.
There was a small decanter of sherry and three pieces of fruit awaiting our arrival, unfortunately these were not replaced the second day!
I will certainly be back to stay next year, very relaxing and lovely to be pampered.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisepoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
20.9 km away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
422 reviews
1.5 km away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
277 reviews
20.1 km away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
188 reviews
11.1 km away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 7 in Wigtown
116 reviews
8.9 km away
The Ellangowan Hotel
The Ellangowan Hotel
#3 of 4 in Creetown
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirroughtree House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirroughtree House Hotel

Property: Kirroughtree House Hotel
Address: Kirroughtree Lodge House Heron Way, Newton Stewart DG8 6AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,921 - ₹ 15,213
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirroughtree House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country house hotel, a former private mansion house dating back to the 1700's, sitting within 8 acres of its own gardens, a golf course adjacent. It is located near to the picturesque town of Newton Stewart built on the banks of the River Cree, and is within walking distance of the Galloway forest and hills. There is not only a variety of walks around the town and through the forest, but great cycling tracks as well. Slightly further away are a number of historical sights and the Machar Peninsular. On the Machar peninsular you will find the Booktown of Wigtown famous for its annual book festival, picturesque ports, a cave that was occupied by an early Christian Missionary to the Area, a bird sanctuary and the furthest south whisky distillery in Scotland. The Mull of Galloway, the most southerly point in Scotland, is not far away with its bird life and views to Ireland and the Isle of Man. If the magical village of Brigadoon was to appear this is where it would be. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirroughtree House Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland
Kirroughtree Hotel Newton Stewart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing