We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Nutkin Cottage

Photo is all Nutkin Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Photo is all Nutkin Cottage
Lounge with patio doors to the patio and garden Squirrel on feeder in garden looking for nuts
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Photo is all Nutkin Cottage
Lounge with patio doors to the patio and garden
Squirrel on feeder in garden looking for nuts
Bruntis Loch, a short walk from the cottage through the forest alongside Bruntis Burn.
Red squirrel in cottage garden
Separate dining room with door leading to lounge
Spacious double bedroom next to bathroom
Nutkin Cottage garden in Autumn
Magnificent Loch Trool in the Galloway Forest Park
Spacious twin bedroom with en suite shower-room
Nutkin Cottage kitchen with views from 3 windows
Rear hall
Rear side of NUtkin Cottage facing East
Nutkin Cottage garden with topiary in June.
Woodpecker in the cottage garden
Back out to enjoy the nut
Nutkin Cottage Garden
Squirrel lifts lid and helps himself
This is just outside the patio doors at Nutkin Cottage
Red squirrel feeding on the garden patio 3 feet from the patio doors.
Kippford Beach
Red squirrel on Nutkin Cottage patio
Red squirrel on Nutkin grass
Zac taking a leap into Bruntis Loch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynda M
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in September 2018

Just had an amazing week at Nutkin Cottage what a fabulous location. Nutkin
Cottage was lovely clean warm everything provided. Jeannie and Vince were both welcoming we had fruit cake on our arrival and the homemade bread was delicious. Just a short walk away was Kirroughtree visitors centre where we used to finish our 8 to 10 mile walk every day with a coffee. Our labrador was in heaven swimming and walks everyday. We were also blessed with good weather. Thanks Jeannie and Vince.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2018
Thank you for your favourable review. It does help visitors to decide where to stay. You don't always need the car to take a dog somewhere to walk as the walks start from the doorstep. Look forward to seeing you both again in the future. Pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bandbh
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a delightful situation that could do with some updating”
Reviewed 8 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We enjoyed our stay in this delightful cottage on the edge of Galloway Forest Park. The owners live next door with Jennie proving a fruit cake on arrival and a freshly baked wholemeal loaf. There is a bird feeder outside the living room window with plentiful small birds and an occasional red squirrel. The visitor centre for the Park within easy walking distance giving access to well marked walking and cycling trails. There is plenty to do in the locality. The cottage itself is reached by ascendin some stairs or a slope. There is no dishwasher or a shower in the main bathroom which ee would have welcomed. With a little sympathetic updating this would have been a really outstanding cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Unfortunately, the electricity supply to the cottage only allows one shower in the property. That is why the bathroom has a bath in it and the shower-room has a shower in it. After going into the cottage on a Saturday after guests had left we often encountered 2 cups and 2 saucers in the dishwasher which was running a full cycle. This is a dreadful waste of energy and we took the decision to remove the dishwasher some years ago. We do not advertise that our cottages have a dishwasher in them therefore, most people do not expect there to be one. We strive very hard to please everyone and are delighted to say that we do achieve that with 99.9% of people and many guests return year after year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 7 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

First discovered Nutkin Cottage in 2004 - our week there in summer 2018 was our 10th such holiday! It's very comfortable and spacious, and is an ideal base for walking & cycling in the adjacent Galloway Forest Park. It's also well placed for visiting the nearby beautiful countryside such as the Machars and the Mull of Galloway.

Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Thank you for returning to Nutkin Cottage so many times. Look forward to seeing you all again in 2019.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill S
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 27 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My daughter & I spent the most wonderful week at Nutkin cottage everything we could have wanted. Peace and quiet but easy to reach shopping facilities. It was 4 star comfort and. Helped us both to unwind and distress. The cake and bread from Jennie were a welcome bonus We hope to return in future

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2018
Thank you for your review. So pleased that you enjoyed the peace and quiet and also the wildlife at Nutkin Cottage. Look forward to seeing you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnalba20
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“tranquil pet-friendly forest cottage”
Reviewed 22 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

beautiful cottage in a very quiet peaceful spot in the forest, We were made to feel so welcome, including our dog, and we were very well looked after with homebaked bread and cakes. Great spot for wildlife, birds galore, red squirrels, deer and a fox all in the garden and surrounding forest. Can't wait to return there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2018
Thank you very much for your review. Pleased that you would like to return to Nutkin Cottage. If it is booked, we have availability in Drey Cottage which is just as good and private too. Ideal for your dog! Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing